AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2002, 12:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 65

Question Best Ram

Need suggestions for best SDRAM for ABIT ST6 mobo with Celeron 1.3. I can go to 512mb (168 pin DIMM) with this board. Manual says memory array is 64 or 72 bit (with or without parity-whatever that means!). I have two sticks of Crucial 128mb 16x64 PC133, is this OK. I would like to go to 512. Would one stick of 512 or two 256's be better? Also what type and brand would be best?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2002, 02:26 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

For SDRAM, Crucial is about as good as it gets. If you can stand the hit to your wallet, one stick of 512MB is better than 2 sticks of 256MB. Get CAS 2 instead of CAS 3 for better memory performance. Get non-parity (it's an error checking mechanism) because not every board can use it and unless you're running mission critical servers, you don't need it because it's not worth the price premium.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2002, 03:36 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

I have been advised that 1x256 is better for benchmarking :-d
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2002, 03:39 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I agree with the Mook on Crucials.
However, I would not buy 512 if possible. SDRAM is getting long in the tooth. DDR is the current standard, it's faster and used by newer boards. How many mem slots does your mobo have? If 3, I'd say get a 256megger and you'll be done.. If the board max capacity is 512megs, I'd be surprised if it could take it in 1 stick... but you never know.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2002, 05:34 AM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

Quote:
Originally posted by mookydooky
For SDRAM, Crucial is about as good as it gets. If you can stand the hit to your wallet, one stick of 512MB is better than 2 sticks of 256MB. Get CAS 2 instead of CAS 3 for better memory performance. Get non-parity (it's an error checking mechanism) because not every board can use it and unless you're running mission critical servers, you don't need it because it's not worth the price premium.
And what is also nice @ Crucial when you get to the ram site for your Mobo you can check on the spec's to see what it will or will-not take.

Check it out right HERE
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2002, 03:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 65

Thumbs up Thanks

Thanks for your responses and all the support I receive from this forum. Maybe before too long I will know enough to help others.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2002, 03:29 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

I would get one stick of 512 because one stick will usually allow you to OC higher than 2 sticks. Of course one stick of 256 will usually OC higher than 1 stick of 512, it's also cheaper, but I believe Quint mentioned that he would like to have 512.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0