AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2002, 02:00 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Need power supply recommendation

I didn't ask before buying the sparkle recently (stolen after delivery as you may/may not know )... but I figure if I'm going to dish out another $50 on a good overclocking PSU (which will actually make the cost of the pSU $100 ) I mind as well ask me peers what they would recommend ... feel free to include links...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2002, 04:33 PM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

Hey bro look what my 350w Sparkle is doing for me.

So I say go for another Even a 400 wattrrrr
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2002, 05:59 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

I can get one of these locally (compusa). I have heard some good things about Antec PSUs, but will it be any better than my current one?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2002, 08:38 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

The DC Regulation is tighter than that of the Sparkle 350, always a good thing. I can't find that all important(in AMD proc. land) 3.3v+5v Wattage rating. It stands to reason that it's 210-220W. But why ain't it printed in virtual ink? Pardon me if I missed it. If the thing is $45 or less, I'd consider it.

Unfortunately, I have nagging doubts about Antec PS's. Only because I read a handful of gripes about ~~"the PS needs a certain value returned from the mainboard. And my mobo doesn't supply it"~~. Dunno how widespread this complant was, but I'd hate to find out that my mobo wouldn't allow the Antec to fire up, or maybe it's vice versa.

Sorry to read that your Sparkle was stolen, Mr P. It's possible that a local retailer offers SPI Sparkle PS's, maybe Fortron Source's, too. They sure as spit have Enermax's!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2002, 09:11 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Compusa is the best show in town for PSUs and they have this True330 (which, if my math is correct, has 240W on the 5v and 3v rails combined ). I'm considering it because it screams coolness and I can have it tonight (I'm feeling a little burned now with mail order, hopefull that won't last long, my wallet is going to hurt as a result ).

It's $70 plus tax too, but a good psu I can return locally is worth it IMO...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2002, 09:19 PM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

It's nice that it is over 200w, nice 240w

You can always return it if it does not work out for you
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2002, 09:19 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Here's a pic I found. $70 seems a bit pricey. The older 400w Antec should sell for about that or less at Compusa, I think.
Attached Thumbnails
Need power supply recommendation-11-129-116-07.jpg  
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2002, 09:21 PM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

Quote:
Originally posted by SteveI
Here's a pic I found. $70 seems a bit pricey. The older 400w Antec should sell for about that or less at Compusa, I think.
Steve, you could of @ least turned the pic 90* around
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2002, 09:25 PM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

Geee
Attached Thumbnails
Need power supply recommendation-antec-ps.gif  
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2002, 09:42 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Yup, got the spec sheet from the site, it's kicks arse and has a good warranty. yes, it's a tad pricey, but I'm willing to spend it now....

**edit -- I will also check the other ones out, but this was about as much $$ as I was willing to spend and they are out of the standard Antec 400W**
__________________

Last edited by Pinky; 29th August, 2002 at 09:51 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2002, 11:06 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by Lionfish


Steve, you could of @ least turned the pic 90* around
Everyone's a critic ...
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 30th August, 2002, 03:12 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

I ended up getting an Antec 400W at compusa
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 30th August, 2002, 03:40 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

May it serve you long and well!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 30th August, 2002, 04:29 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by Pinky
I ended up getting an Antec 400W at compusa
Was it the PP412 ATX (?) ?
quality unit.. I haven't heard any complaints.. at least, I have none.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 30th August, 2002, 05:23 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

SL400

240W 5v+3.3v
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 30th August, 2002, 06:01 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

can i have ur old one for folding :-) jokin (well mabey not......)
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 30th August, 2002, 03:41 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by The Spyder
can i have ur old one for folding :-) jokin (well mabey not......)
I'm keeping it as a backup for now, but you have first dibs (it has a 35A 5v line!! ).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
power supply bad? gardman General Hardware Discussion 6 17th September, 2005 01:01 PM
Poor man's solution - Adding power to your Power Supply! stigweed AOA FAQ 0 24th November, 2002 09:17 PM
Power Supply out of the box Samuknow Hardware Hacking 6 28th May, 2002 01:08 PM
Power supply Jazz CRASHED! 4 16th February, 2002 07:52 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0