AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2002, 06:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
Posts: 500

Turbo Cool 300w power supply, is this any good??

Does anybody know about this power supply??? Epox Tech has always said that when choosing a power supply for the PC, its not the "Total Wattage" you should look at but its the "Quality" of the power being supplied that is actually important. Could this be one of those top end power supplies??? It is pretty expensive for a 300 watter.

http://www.directron.com/turbocool300.html

http://www.aapspower.com/higper.html
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2002, 04:08 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

And what I think he realy means is how much the rails are allowed to fluctuate to stay in spec and what's the total wattage being spllied to the combined 5v and 3.3v rails.

Example, bought an Antec SL400watt recently because the total between the 5v and 3.3v was 240watts which is plenty for any overclocking I'll ever be doing.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2002, 09:36 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Alas, the 300W Turbo-Cool PS from PC Power&Cooling's critical 3.3v + 5v Wattage rating(for K7's) isn't sufficient to run modern Athlon's. Buy in haste, repent at leasure. Ask the guy with the 300W Turbo-Cool!

Nonetheless, the 300W Turbo-Cool does run a 850 Duron on an Asus A7S-VM mainboard just fine. The reason why is that the A7S-VM is a all-in-one budget Micro-ATX mobo for mainly Biz use. Everything, the Video, Sound and a LAN card is built-in to the mobo. It handles a Voodoo 3/2K fine. That's the only PCI card on the mobo. They draw very little power by today's standards.

It uses the SiS 730S chipset, which has little demand for power.

The 350W Turbo-Cool is up to the task of running an Athlon or Athlon XP. Its only advantage over a Sparkle 350 is that its 3.3v rail is regulated to 1%, vs. 4%. Big price difference, too. $71.20, shipped from PC P&C. The SPI Sparkle 350 is $42, shipped from Newegg.

Nevertheless, PC Power&Cooling's PS's are generally acknowledged as the finest. However, many folks consider Sparkle's PS's to be the best 2nd best. Personally, I'd go PC P&C only. Realistically, I ordered a Sparkle 350 yesterday.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2002, 05:49 AM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

The PS that cloasters is talking aboyut is the same one I have in my Main rig and see what it is doing for me, see my sig, and I got it from newegg, you can't go wrong.
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2002, 05:25 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally posted by Lionfish
The PS that cloasters is talking aboyut is the same one I have in my Main rig and see what it is doing for me, see my sig, and I got it from newegg, you can't go wrong.
Lionfish, if you get a chance to, would you please clarify which PS you meant? SPI Sparkle or PC P&C? 300W or 350W? TIA!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2002, 08:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
Posts: 500

I believe he meant the SPARKLE 350w psu
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2002, 08:18 AM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

Quote:
Originally posted by JayJay
I believe he meant the SPARKLE 350w psu
The PS in my main rig in my sig.

Sparkle :-D
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2002, 10:40 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Thank you for the clarification! I'm developing a fondness for Mr Sparkle 350 Watters. So far, the tooth fairy refuses to stuff large stacks of bucks under my pillow. When this happens, cough, I'll be a PC Power & Cooling kinda guy, exclusively.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Supply deere2210 Random Nonsense! 2 14th February, 2007 08:09 PM
Power Supply BobRoss Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 17 17th July, 2006 09:25 PM
How to tell if your power supply isn't good enough... dt99 EPoX MotherBoards 13 17th April, 2004 05:50 PM
Poor man's solution - Adding power to your Power Supply! stigweed AOA FAQ 0 24th November, 2002 09:17 PM
power supply udg21 General Hardware Discussion 14 15th November, 2002 10:18 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0