AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2002, 04:03 AM
WyrmMaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA
Posts: 253

Question Best way to block magnetic field

My water pump is putting of a magnetic field that is causing my monitor to shake (I also worry about what it could be doing to the rest of my system). What would be the best way to shield the pump from everything else. I currently have the pump covered in aluminum foil and it seemed to make SOME difference, but not much. Any better ideas. I i were to make a cover out of sheet metal would that help?
__________________

Watercooled Barton 2500+ AGOIA-Y @ 2300 (11.5x200) 1.85v
Epox 8RDA
1gb OCZ PC3200, 2-2-2-6
eVGA Geforce 4 TI4400
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2002, 06:07 AM
Jazz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 1,105
Send a message via ICQ to Jazz Send a message via AIM to Jazz

Re: Best way to block magnetic field

Quote:
Originally posted by WyrmMaster
I currently have the pump covered in aluminum foil and it seemed to make SOME difference, but not much. Any better ideas. I i were to make a cover out of sheet metal would that help?
In theory it would help try grounding the foil or adding another layer. If you build a sheet metal box for it, it would lessen the amount of field effecting your monitor. Crazy question but how is your pump powered. Ive seen dc motors send spikes back through their feed and that ripple may be affecting your videocard.
__________________
AOA Team fah
"Remember there is a time to pray and there is a time to fight, anything can be a weapon if you are holding it right "
Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the ark. Professionals built the Titanic.
"Folding protiens and taking names"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2002, 07:34 AM
WyrmMaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA
Posts: 253

Pump is pluged into the same power strip as the rest of my system. You think i should try it in another outlet?
__________________

Watercooled Barton 2500+ AGOIA-Y @ 2300 (11.5x200) 1.85v
Epox 8RDA
1gb OCZ PC3200, 2-2-2-6
eVGA Geforce 4 TI4400
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2002, 08:01 AM
WyrmMaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA
Posts: 253

I tried pluggin the pump into a different outlet and it didnt make any difference. However, plugging the MONITOR into that outlet seems to have clear up MOST of the issue. I used to have to run @100hz to keep it from shaking, which my monitor isnt supposed to do, and even though it workes fine, it causes it to have a very high pitched whine @ 60 hz if it has been run over 85 for very long. Its still there at 85, but not as noticable. I may get an extension cord and try running the pump from accross the room tomorrow.
__________________

Watercooled Barton 2500+ AGOIA-Y @ 2300 (11.5x200) 1.85v
Epox 8RDA
1gb OCZ PC3200, 2-2-2-6
eVGA Geforce 4 TI4400
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2002, 10:42 AM
Spode's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain
Posts: 1,439
Send a message via MSN to Spode

is it a cheap monitor? They should have sheileding of their own if from I think MPRII up.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2002, 04:00 PM
WyrmMaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA
Posts: 253

Its a KDS trinitron. Not a cheap one, but not an expensive one either i think. And it does seem to have a metal screen inside, i know my 17in dell trini does, but i havent taken this one apart yet.
__________________

Watercooled Barton 2500+ AGOIA-Y @ 2300 (11.5x200) 1.85v
Epox 8RDA
1gb OCZ PC3200, 2-2-2-6
eVGA Geforce 4 TI4400
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Magnetic Switching Method Could Dramatically Speed Up Data Storage Gizmo General Hardware Discussion 5 25th March, 2007 04:33 PM
Freescale claims magnetic memory breakthrough Gizmo General Hardware Discussion 17 11th July, 2006 11:55 AM
Battle Field 2 for £17.97 danrok Online Deals, and Steals 9 2nd February, 2006 06:29 PM
=NGC= Field trip 2k3 Postaldave Random Nonsense! 3 20th September, 2003 11:29 PM
Magnetic fields eobard General Hardware Discussion 5 28th August, 2002 05:22 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0