AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th September, 2002, 10:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Corsham
Posts: 54

time for a new PC..

Just about to order this, i was wondering if you guys had any input as to any improvements I should make.

I already own,

Pioneer 16X Slot DVD Drive
Philips 12x8x32
Sonic Fury Soundcard

This i will buy for £490

>AMD *Retail Box* Athlon XP 2000+ (1.67 GHz) with AMD Heat Sink Fan
> 128Mb Chaintech GT20 Ti4200 Ge-Force 4 DVi TV Out
> Epox 8K3A KT333 DDR ATA133
> 80Gb Western Digital (WD800JB) ATA-100 (7200rpm, 8MB Cache, 8.5ms)
> Coolermaster AAC 001 Heat Sink & Fan (5400 RPM)
> Enermax Case Fan 80mm (FANVC9FAB)
> Scan 6043 Midi Tower Case 300W PFC
> 256Mb PC2700 (PC333) DDR Memory (Major)


NO idea what monitor I should get, im off to Uni soon, so i was thinking about an LCD to save valuable space, any recommendations?


Rich
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11th September, 2002, 01:04 AM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

You can get the CPU for less if you don't get a retail version. This'll give you more money to play with for getting a better cooler, and possibly some monitor money, too

Which resellers were you looking at?
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th September, 2002, 08:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Corsham
Posts: 54

resellers

Scan and Aria.

Strangely, the retail version can be brought for cheaper than the OEM version on the scan site, about £15 cheaper, if u include VAT, whihc i find puzzling to say the least!

RIch
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11th September, 2002, 01:07 PM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

Scan are odd like that :/
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11th September, 2002, 02:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Corsham
Posts: 54

Yeh, well i asked Scan, and they said "We buy in bulk".

fair enough i guess - im not complaining!



Rich
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11th September, 2002, 03:04 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Spec looks fine.

Get crucial ram not scan generic crap. (www.crucial.com)

Check prices on ebuyer.co.uk and dabs.com (ebuyer is free postage over £100)

If your planning on overclocking then you can save some cash (not sure how much) by getting a Xp-1600 and overclocking it (they all run 1700mhz min on air)

LCD is VERY expensive you are better off with a good 17"
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11th September, 2002, 03:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Corsham
Posts: 54

TAke your point about RAM, crucial would be better, and not much more expensive.

Monitor is still a talking point ... i RLLY do need to save room in my Uni room.. im having to share it for the first term as well :P

i was looking to spend about £300.. surely i cud pick up an LCD for that.. or is it worth waiting.. til they come down in price more.. and just get a 17" flat screen for now?

RIch
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12th September, 2002, 01:50 PM
Orbit's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 466
Send a message via ICQ to Orbit Send a message via Yahoo to Orbit

On the monitor:
If you're going to be doing any graphics work, I believe a CRT has a much better display (finer). In the US, they sell 15" LCD's for around $300, and the viewing area is 'larger' than a 15" CRT.
LCD's are nice, but they have drawbacks... I guess my biggest complaint is that you pretty much have to look right straight at to see it clearly.
__________________

A Chieftec with a bunch of PCB's, Drives, Cables, and Water

-----------------------------------------------------------
Laws are for the lawless, who disregard them anyway... Crow
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12th September, 2002, 02:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Corsham
Posts: 54

they sell for about £300 here in the UK - which is a tad on the expensive side, and nice one has to be nearer £400.

I heard that they were not so good for games due to the refresh rate.. is that true?



oooh, and also..

is there a big difference between CL 2, and CL 2.5?
and does the arrangement of RAM in differenent slots make any difference to the subsequent performance of it?


sooo many questions i kno.. but im trying to learn!

RIch
__________________

Last edited by magicrichard; 12th September, 2002 at 03:11 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12th September, 2002, 05:04 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

I play games with my NEC 15" LCD and never have any issues. there is a 45ms delay, but that's not much in the grand scheme of things...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12th September, 2002, 10:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Corsham
Posts: 54

wot du mean 45ms isnt MUCH!!!!! yeh ok, i agree, its not that much, where does the delay come from?

RIch
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2002, 04:35 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by magicrichard
wot du mean 45ms isnt MUCH!!!!! yeh ok, i agree, its not that much, where does the delay come from?
Something to do with the image rendering process on LCD screens, from my understanding... no refresh rate, instead a delay...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2002, 05:28 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

Quote:
Originally posted by Pinky


Something to do with the image rendering process on LCD screens, from my understanding... no refresh rate, instead a delay...
The delay is the maximum time that it takes a pixel to change from black to white (or any color inbetween). In an LCD with a digital input the screen is not redrawn 60/sec, instead once every 1/60 of a sec pixels that need to be changed are and pixels that do not need to be changed aren't given any signal and they remain the same.

The viewible size of an LCD screen is the actual size of the screen, but a CRT screen is measured from the outside dimentions of the tube. Therefor an LCD is approx equal to a CRT 2 inches bigger.

A CRT will have better performance than a LCD and be cheaper but the gap is closing everyday. One major advantage of a CRT is the ability to change resolutions. An LCD can also change resolutions but it does it by "pixel doulbing". That means the pixels don't change size (as in a CRT) but some pixels are doubled and some are not (unless useing direct multiple ie:1600x1200 running @ 800x600), this is called uneven pixel doubling. It can cause a very distorted and poor picture. This will be absolutly no problem as long as you run your LCD at its native resolution.

So if you plan on getting an LCD you need to make sure your vid card can run at the native resolution of the LCD with all the eye candy you want turned on. And not only for todays games but also for game of the next 2 years.

To make a long story short I would get a high quality 19" Flat Square Tube CRT and shoehorn it into where ever it needed to fit.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2002, 10:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Corsham
Posts: 54

hmm - ok i never realised that this was gonna be such a hard decision.

Well i have to say that a 19" monitor is out of the question in a Uni room, as nice as it would be, but i guess running 1024x768 for the next few years might drive me insane.

SO i guess it will have to be a 17" flatscreen then altho..
IF i had my heart set on a 15" LCD, what would you advise me to look out for?

I have a GF4 Ti4200 128MB if that helps.

RIch
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2002, 10:38 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Definatley get CAS-2 memory.

As for the screen a £300 TFT will be ok for desktop work but not much use for gaming, you need to spend big £££ to get a good gaming screen.

A high quality 17" CRT is going to be the best bet, I found that easy to take to uni especially if you add a TV card to your PC.
A friend of mine got a 19" and it was a bit of a pain moving it about, but he managed ok.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2002, 10:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Corsham
Posts: 54

what about the Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 750SB??

"17in Diamondtron M2 tube, 16in viewable diagonal, 0.25mm aperture grille pitch, maximum resolution of 1,600 x 1,200 at 76Hz, non-interlaced vertical refresh, captive D-SUB input, TCO 99 certified. Cabinet depth: 423mm. Weight: 17.2kg"

Does the Epox 8k3a support CAS 2?

Rich
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2002, 12:29 PM
Spode's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain
Posts: 1,439
Send a message via MSN to Spode

Monitor looks fine. Thats not a bad depth. And it's the depth thats the worry.

And yes it does.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2002, 03:10 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Quote:
Originally posted by magicrichard
what about the Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 750SB??

"17in Diamondtron M2 tube, 16in viewable diagonal, 0.25mm aperture grille pitch, maximum resolution of 1,600 x 1,200 at 76Hz, non-interlaced vertical refresh, captive D-SUB input, TCO 99 certified. Cabinet depth: 423mm. Weight: 17.2kg"

Does the Epox 8k3a support CAS 2?

Rich
I think that mitsubishi has the same (or very similar
) tube to my IIyama, very nice monitor.

8k3a does support cas-2 (and other agressive memory timing)
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2002, 04:36 AM
Caffinehog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Naked beneath my clothes
Posts: 84

Magicrichard, you are going to need a better power supply. Find something 400W or better.
__________________
Join the revolution! Eliminate floppy drives forever! Buy a $20 compact flash reader and a couple CF cards. These come in internal designs that you can put in a 3 1/2" or 5 1/4" bay, as well as external! Encourage motherboard manufacturers to include this with their boards. It's a cheap PCB, folks. It shouldn't add more than $5 to the cost.
Please feel free to copy this and put it in your own sig.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2002, 03:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Corsham
Posts: 54

Quote:
Magicrichard, you are going to need a better power supply. Find something 400W or better.
OK, well ive now actually built that system, and bar a very annoying NV4_disp.dll problem, its very very smooth.

What would you suggest and why?

Rich
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Isn't it about time? LP Random Nonsense! 2 8th January, 2006 11:21 PM
doesnt boot first time, boots second time. sweety CRASHED! 5 22nd July, 2004 12:48 AM
A better time? dod Random Nonsense! 5 2nd October, 2003 05:47 PM
"Your machine's time isn't synched to MSN's time. 25. cloasters OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 8 10th October, 2002 03:39 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0