AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2002, 04:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to ByteWipe

another new pc... (with different specs!)

Righty, atm I currently will use in my new PC:

Digital 15" Monitor - relic, but serves purpose
Hitachi GD-7500 DVD Drive - nice n noisy
2 HDDs, 25GB capacity
Floppy Drive

For £400, I'm gonna go out and purchase:
AMD XP 2000+ Processor - £77.26 (Ebuyer.com)
Leadtek Winfast TwinForce 2 Bundle (Mobo & Geforce 4 Ti4200 64MB) - £148.99 (Ebuyer.com)
Black Chieftec Scorpio TX-10BD Case w/Antec 340W PSU - £88.13 (overclockers.co.uk)
Alcasa AK-8212Q Silent CPU Cooler - £19.98 (overclockers.co.uk)
Crucial 256MB DDR PC2100 RAM - £58.15 (Crucial site....)

Does anyone have any comments on this? Have a missed anything obvious out? What kinda performance am I likely to pump out of this (probably will end up overclocking GPU and maybe CPU if I'm brave enough) setup? Am I paying quite a lot for the system?

Ta,
__________________
Michael Lewis
Disappointed

Main Rig: AMD XP 2000+ @ 1790Mhz (142Mhz FSB), Leadtek Winfast K7N415DA Mobo, Leadtek WinFast A250LE TD GF4 Ti4200 64MB @ 305/589, Crucial 256MB DDR PC2100 RAM, 92GB hard drive space, Chieftec Scorpio TX-10BD Case, 2 Papst 80mm Case Fans (40cfm each), Akasa AK-821 2Q Silent CPU Cooler (20cfm). Win XP Pro. 45C idle, 54C full load. 3DMark2001SE: 11020

Server: AMD K6-2 500Mhz @ 550Mhz (110Mhz FSB), Gigabyte GA-5AX Mobo, S3 Trio 4MB, 224MB P100 RAM, stock CPU cooler. Win 2000 Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2002, 08:16 PM
Caffinehog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Naked beneath my clothes
Posts: 84

Well, that procesor isn't likely to overclock far... 2ghz if you're lucky. Of course that board probably won't reach the necessary 160mhz fsb. Even the memory probably won't, although it might. All in all, though, I don't see much problem as long as you don't plan on overclocking the motherboard too much.
__________________
Join the revolution! Eliminate floppy drives forever! Buy a $20 compact flash reader and a couple CF cards. These come in internal designs that you can put in a 3 1/2" or 5 1/4" bay, as well as external! Encourage motherboard manufacturers to include this with their boards. It's a cheap PCB, folks. It shouldn't add more than $5 to the cost.
Please feel free to copy this and put it in your own sig.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2002, 08:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to ByteWipe

yea, unlikely to overclock the mobo, dont really have the dosh to replace the bits when i, most likely, fry it all.
__________________
Michael Lewis
Disappointed

Main Rig: AMD XP 2000+ @ 1790Mhz (142Mhz FSB), Leadtek Winfast K7N415DA Mobo, Leadtek WinFast A250LE TD GF4 Ti4200 64MB @ 305/589, Crucial 256MB DDR PC2100 RAM, 92GB hard drive space, Chieftec Scorpio TX-10BD Case, 2 Papst 80mm Case Fans (40cfm each), Akasa AK-821 2Q Silent CPU Cooler (20cfm). Win XP Pro. 45C idle, 54C full load. 3DMark2001SE: 11020

Server: AMD K6-2 500Mhz @ 550Mhz (110Mhz FSB), Gigabyte GA-5AX Mobo, S3 Trio 4MB, 224MB P100 RAM, stock CPU cooler. Win 2000 Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2002, 09:44 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

I can certainly appreciate caution (I won't do certain things for lack of expendable money). The motherboard will likely NOT have voltage and multiplier settings, though most allow for some type of bus speed overclock. The crucial is good memory, I got 166mhz from mine at 2.9v full stable.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2002, 10:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to ByteWipe

http://www.bjorn3d.com/_preview.php?articleID=15

review of a similar mobo. its pretty much the same, just without the onboad GF2MX (obviously dont need one with the bundled GF4 Ti2000 )

Got a section on overclocking, I dont really know too much about it at the moment, so you can see for yourself what kinda features it has.
__________________
Michael Lewis
Disappointed

Main Rig: AMD XP 2000+ @ 1790Mhz (142Mhz FSB), Leadtek Winfast K7N415DA Mobo, Leadtek WinFast A250LE TD GF4 Ti4200 64MB @ 305/589, Crucial 256MB DDR PC2100 RAM, 92GB hard drive space, Chieftec Scorpio TX-10BD Case, 2 Papst 80mm Case Fans (40cfm each), Akasa AK-821 2Q Silent CPU Cooler (20cfm). Win XP Pro. 45C idle, 54C full load. 3DMark2001SE: 11020

Server: AMD K6-2 500Mhz @ 550Mhz (110Mhz FSB), Gigabyte GA-5AX Mobo, S3 Trio 4MB, 224MB P100 RAM, stock CPU cooler. Win 2000 Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2002, 11:01 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Well, I'll gladly eat a few of my words for your sake -- it does have some overclocking ability, how much will be determined when it's all connected and you throw the switch, but at least it has some of the key ingredients.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th September, 2002, 09:24 AM
Caffinehog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Naked beneath my clothes
Posts: 84

Good luck... once you go beyond the top three or four manufacturers, it's a gamble as to how far above stock a motherboard will work. This one could go to 175fsb, or it could get stuck at 135. You won't know until you try.
__________________
Join the revolution! Eliminate floppy drives forever! Buy a $20 compact flash reader and a couple CF cards. These come in internal designs that you can put in a 3 1/2" or 5 1/4" bay, as well as external! Encourage motherboard manufacturers to include this with their boards. It's a cheap PCB, folks. It shouldn't add more than $5 to the cost.
Please feel free to copy this and put it in your own sig.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 17th September, 2002, 06:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to ByteWipe

Thanks, just ordering the stuff now, it shoudl come within a week, so I'll let you know what kinda performance I get out of the standard setup.

Ill make sure Ill keep ya posted
__________________
Michael Lewis
Disappointed

Main Rig: AMD XP 2000+ @ 1790Mhz (142Mhz FSB), Leadtek Winfast K7N415DA Mobo, Leadtek WinFast A250LE TD GF4 Ti4200 64MB @ 305/589, Crucial 256MB DDR PC2100 RAM, 92GB hard drive space, Chieftec Scorpio TX-10BD Case, 2 Papst 80mm Case Fans (40cfm each), Akasa AK-821 2Q Silent CPU Cooler (20cfm). Win XP Pro. 45C idle, 54C full load. 3DMark2001SE: 11020

Server: AMD K6-2 500Mhz @ 550Mhz (110Mhz FSB), Gigabyte GA-5AX Mobo, S3 Trio 4MB, 224MB P100 RAM, stock CPU cooler. Win 2000 Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 17th September, 2002, 06:51 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Does that Chieftec case come with a Chieftec branded PSU?
If yes, I do not think it is AMD approved. We have had a batch of users lately having stability problems with this PSU... when it was swapped, the problems went away.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 17th September, 2002, 07:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to ByteWipe

Antec 340W PSU......
__________________
Michael Lewis
Disappointed

Main Rig: AMD XP 2000+ @ 1790Mhz (142Mhz FSB), Leadtek Winfast K7N415DA Mobo, Leadtek WinFast A250LE TD GF4 Ti4200 64MB @ 305/589, Crucial 256MB DDR PC2100 RAM, 92GB hard drive space, Chieftec Scorpio TX-10BD Case, 2 Papst 80mm Case Fans (40cfm each), Akasa AK-821 2Q Silent CPU Cooler (20cfm). Win XP Pro. 45C idle, 54C full load. 3DMark2001SE: 11020

Server: AMD K6-2 500Mhz @ 550Mhz (110Mhz FSB), Gigabyte GA-5AX Mobo, S3 Trio 4MB, 224MB P100 RAM, stock CPU cooler. Win 2000 Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 17th September, 2002, 07:12 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Excellent.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 19th September, 2002, 04:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to ByteWipe

Right, they sent all me bits, received it this morning. One quibble: overclockers.co.uk sent me a chieftec psu instead of an antec one. Methinks I'll be off to complain.

Apart from that all is fine. Backing up my hard drive over the network and then ill build the beasty tomorrow
__________________
Michael Lewis
Disappointed

Main Rig: AMD XP 2000+ @ 1790Mhz (142Mhz FSB), Leadtek Winfast K7N415DA Mobo, Leadtek WinFast A250LE TD GF4 Ti4200 64MB @ 305/589, Crucial 256MB DDR PC2100 RAM, 92GB hard drive space, Chieftec Scorpio TX-10BD Case, 2 Papst 80mm Case Fans (40cfm each), Akasa AK-821 2Q Silent CPU Cooler (20cfm). Win XP Pro. 45C idle, 54C full load. 3DMark2001SE: 11020

Server: AMD K6-2 500Mhz @ 550Mhz (110Mhz FSB), Gigabyte GA-5AX Mobo, S3 Trio 4MB, 224MB P100 RAM, stock CPU cooler. Win 2000 Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xbox 2 specs fantomfreq GAMES! OH YEAH! 7 10th March, 2005 12:34 AM
Sys Specs Viper66 Intel Motherboards & CPUs 2 8th January, 2004 08:25 AM
AMD XP and Thoroughbred Specs Pinky AMD Motherboards & CPUs 16 6th November, 2002 08:55 PM
HEC 425W PSu specs Ned Flanders General Hardware Discussion 6 6th September, 2002 01:43 AM
R300 specs BobyJo Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 3rd April, 2002 03:28 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:45 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0