AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd September, 2002, 12:45 PM
r0l0e's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: South East Asia
Posts: 556

to page or not to page...

using winxp with 1gb of memory. should i turn off virtual memory or not. some of you might say, it depends on the program i use.

i'm not working for the next couple of months and as of now, all i do is burn cd, browse, and play music. oh ya, i watch a little divx and dvd every now and again.
__________________

Shuttle SB61G2 | PIV 2.8C @ 3.5GHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd September, 2002, 01:49 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Turn off the swap, and see if you get odd things happening. You'll know when you run out of memory, as wierd things will happen.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd September, 2002, 06:50 PM
r0l0e's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: South East Asia
Posts: 556

10-4 AidanII... virtual memory has been off the past several hours now. no "wierd things" yet
__________________

Shuttle SB61G2 | PIV 2.8C @ 3.5GHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd September, 2002, 11:28 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Start it so it will start at 0 and give it a max. Then when it needs more memory, it will automatically increase the size of the swapfile. As long as your memory needs doesn't increase over 1GB, it won't use the swapfile.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Page 2 QSDT ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 8 20th February, 2007 06:26 PM
New AOA F@H Page Samuknow ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 15 25th November, 2006 03:05 PM
New top of page Jazz Random Nonsense! 11 8th September, 2004 10:21 AM
Team Private Page @ Community Page Southern Man ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 4 30th April, 2002 04:02 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:04 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0