AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2002, 12:56 PM
Grentarc's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 19
Send a message via ICQ to Grentarc

How does this sound??

This is a new system I am building.. (parts already ordered)
I would like any input as to what you think I might have incompatabilities or other probs:

Vapochill Case
Abit KX7-333-RAID (will Vmod and Vmem)
Athlon XP 2400+
512mb CAS2 Corsair XMS 3200
LG 16x DVD
Leadtek Ti4600 128mb ViVO (will Vmod and Vmem.. if i can find guide)
Creative Vibra 128 (I know, but i had a budget!)
2x 80GB IBM 120GXPs In RAID 0
Arctic Silver 3
Sunon 108CFM 120mm (2 for radiator)
Water Cooling & Pelt. for GPU
Leadman 500watt PSU

Any suggestions??
__________________
U dont wanna see my specs (might embarrass ya!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2002, 01:35 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Ooh... I know the answer to your Ti4600 question

from here:

Quote:
Code:
For Vmem mod: 

Connect Pin3 to Pin20 (with a 1.2k resistor) and Pin18 to Pin20 (1.2k resistor). Pin 20 is a ground pin. Numbering the pins goes like this: 

Pin20------------Pin11 
________________ 
|......SC1175CSW 
| 
| 
------------------- 
Pin1-------------Pin10 


You start at the bottom left corner (Pin1) and count to the right (Pin10) then go up (Pin11) and to the left (Pin20). 


For the Vcore: 

Use a 4.7k resistor from pin11 to pin14 on the GPU's voltage control chip.
__________________

Last edited by Pinky; 24th September, 2002 at 01:37 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2002, 02:06 PM
Grentarc's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 19
Send a message via ICQ to Grentarc

Thanks for that Pinky!
__________________
U dont wanna see my specs (might embarrass ya!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2002, 08:06 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Watch the IBM drives, be sure to keep them at least somewhat cool..

It looks like a killer rig dude!! I hope you have fun with it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2002, 04:32 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

dont do ibm if you want the drives to last...... and try PC& powercooling PS 550w
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2002, 08:42 AM
Grentarc's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 19
Send a message via ICQ to Grentarc

I already have a 40GB IBM 120GXP, and it is around 1°C higher than room temps at the moment... btw, the XP2400+ is delayed, so I had to get a 2200+... well, i'll get over it! (though nowhere near as overclockable!)
I have found that the 120GXP series is the best drive so far, and i dont trust WD, as every dive I have installed has gone back under warranty within a month or so. I have only had one IBM drive, and it was a 60GXP, that had to go back. and seagates arnt fast enough for me.
__________________
U dont wanna see my specs (might embarrass ya!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Built in sound or Sound Card geekbyte EPoX MotherBoards 6 31st December, 2003 02:48 AM
8RDA+ onboard sound vs. sound cards turbo510 EPoX MotherBoards 15 26th March, 2003 10:01 AM
No front left or right sound with 5.1 sound Mr Bond EPoX MotherBoards 1 23rd January, 2003 10:36 AM
Win XP, and no sound Quint Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 6 19th November, 2002 01:51 AM
Problem with latest sound driver on 8KHA+. Possibly on all VIA's onboard sound. edmoncu EPoX MotherBoards 8 14th October, 2002 02:53 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0