AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2002, 12:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 48

Direct x9 lock Return to castle wolf up

anyone had the same experience? it totally locks up for 2 secs, unlocks for 2, intermitantly. definatly direct x9.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2002, 03:21 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I read that DX9 isn't free of bugs yet. Sometimes it's better not be the first on your block to have the latest software release, or new item of hardware for that matter.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2002, 12:08 AM
marcofra2000's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: In the Desert of CA
Posts: 539
Send a message via MSN to marcofra2000

What 3d card do you have because I heard that with the CATALYST DRIVERS 3.00 Quake III doesn't run well and so RTCW uses the same engine, but if you have an nvidia card well It might be directx 9.
__________________
Athlon 64 3500+@3800+
ASUS A8V
Gainward 6800 GT@ULTRA
2x512 Ballistix DDR PC-3200
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
Maxtor 80 gig
Antec 430 Watts
Onkyo HT-S760, 750 Watts.

Opinions are like butts, we all have them and they all stink at one time or another. But when people's butts stink we don't go around cleaning them, so please don't tell people that their opinions stink.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2002, 01:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 48

looks like a patch coming, as usual



my spec

Epox 8DRA+/AMD XP2700+/Gigabyte Radeon 9700/XMS3200 DDR x2 512MB
Swiftech 462+ HS/Antec True 550w/Pioneer DVD A03 & 106
80GB IBM 133/2 x 60GB Maxstor 133/ OB sound/4xAntec Sensor Fans
80-120mm FrozenCPU Fan Kit/Crystal Orb NB
1x Big Debt on Visa. last best 3DBenchmark 12699 no OC
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2002, 11:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to ByteWipe

sounds familiar to a problem i had when i first upgraded to directx 8.1

think i just reinstalled windblows, upgraded directx again, and it was fine.

very odd.
__________________
Michael Lewis
Disappointed

Main Rig: AMD XP 2000+ @ 1790Mhz (142Mhz FSB), Leadtek Winfast K7N415DA Mobo, Leadtek WinFast A250LE TD GF4 Ti4200 64MB @ 305/589, Crucial 256MB DDR PC2100 RAM, 92GB hard drive space, Chieftec Scorpio TX-10BD Case, 2 Papst 80mm Case Fans (40cfm each), Akasa AK-821 2Q Silent CPU Cooler (20cfm). Win XP Pro. 45C idle, 54C full load. 3DMark2001SE: 11020

Server: AMD K6-2 500Mhz @ 550Mhz (110Mhz FSB), Gigabyte GA-5AX Mobo, S3 Trio 4MB, 224MB P100 RAM, stock CPU cooler. Win 2000 Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 29th December, 2002, 08:58 AM
funnyperson1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Blacksburg, VA aka Vtech
Posts: 592
Send a message via AIM to funnyperson1

this is a known issue with Cat 3.0s try the omegacorner.com 3.0s and it should be fixed if you have an Ati card
__________________
Biostar TForce550
A64 X2 3600+ (65nm)@2.9 (1.4V)
TR Ultra 90
2GB Crucial Ballistix 6400@ DDR2 1000 C5
Geforce 7900GS
2x160gig hdd with WinXP, Vista, and Ubuntu
member of FOLDING@HOME team 32
Latitude D620 with XP, Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Welcome to any New Members from Wolf Gaming dod ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 14 2nd October, 2007 10:58 AM
3500+ new castle Max oc? arin AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 12th November, 2005 05:58 PM
Return to Castle Wolfenstein is out. Da Whip GAMES! OH YEAH! 10 14th December, 2001 04:26 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:25 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0