AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2002, 02:46 PM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

Question Mx better than Ti?

i got 2 computers.

1 has a gf4 Ti4200
the other NOW (only just) has a gf4 mx440.

when i tried adjusting the clock frequencies for my mx440 i noticed something. Its maximum Core clock frequency is greater than my Ti4200.. doesnt make much sense to me: here is the info:

------
Aeolus Gf4 Ti4200 128MB DDR by Aopen

Maximum Core Clock Frequency: 315Mhz
Maximum Memory : 560Mhz

------
3DBlaster Mx440 64MBDDR by Creative

Max. core clock frequency: 340Mhz
Max Mem frequency: 500Mhz

seems a bit strange to me, although im guessing Aopen isnt exactly the best manufacturer around
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2002, 06:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to ByteWipe

no, under no circumstances is the MX better than the Ti, they have completely different architectures!
__________________
Michael Lewis
Disappointed

Main Rig: AMD XP 2000+ @ 1790Mhz (142Mhz FSB), Leadtek Winfast K7N415DA Mobo, Leadtek WinFast A250LE TD GF4 Ti4200 64MB @ 305/589, Crucial 256MB DDR PC2100 RAM, 92GB hard drive space, Chieftec Scorpio TX-10BD Case, 2 Papst 80mm Case Fans (40cfm each), Akasa AK-821 2Q Silent CPU Cooler (20cfm). Win XP Pro. 45C idle, 54C full load. 3DMark2001SE: 11020

Server: AMD K6-2 500Mhz @ 550Mhz (110Mhz FSB), Gigabyte GA-5AX Mobo, S3 Trio 4MB, 224MB P100 RAM, stock CPU cooler. Win 2000 Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2002, 07:22 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Quote:
Originally posted by ByteWipe
no, under no circumstances is the MX better than the Ti, they have completely different architectures!
beat me to it!

the mx/s SUX HORRIBLE............
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2002, 08:03 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Kinda like clocking a Duron faster than an XP and expecting it to be better.

Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 05:44 AM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

slap my wrists. i have to win the lottery to appease you lot

i thought a ti was a bit touch much for my 2nd hand computer its only got an al440lx mobo, the only gf3's i could find needed agp4 and i think its safe to assume that my agp port isnt compatible on that computer.

anyway it runs nicley @ 340/500 without any significant rise in temperature
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0