AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 19th February, 2003, 08:17 PM
Member/Contributer

Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

Question slocket, graphics, and games :(

as some are aware, i have been using a slocket for nearly a couple of months now. i had to switch to a pci graphics card in order for it to work properly.

recently i tried to install Command & Conquer Renegade. on the box it says for minimum requirements: 16mb video memory PCI/AGP.

I try to install it.. it plays the first poening sequence, but is then supposed to go into the installation process, it just hangs. So i revert back to my old celeron 433 (slot-1), vòil* installs. I even play a couple of mins works okay, i also download the update and try it again.. works fine... except for a bit of jumpiness as its supposed to have a p2 400Mhz, since my celeron only has 1/2 the lvl2 cache i guess i was lucky to get away with it .

I go back to my celeron 700 (slocket), plays the opening sequence fairly smoothly. When it's supposed to goto the main menu it locks up again. I think its my slocket causing a problem. I cant use agp cards, as im limited to 16 colours @ 640 * 480, and minimal setting is for 16-bit colours (255)

has anyone else had any experience dealing with this?

i currently have a 3dblaster 4 mx420 pci 64MB. i was reading in another thread about some1 having problems with their card not playing UT2002, another FPS.

JohnTaylor, if it worked for you, can you let me know plz. thanks

Last edited by piccoLEW; 19th February, 2003 at 08:19 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 19th February, 2003, 10:27 PM
Chief Systems Administrator