AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2003, 06:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Buffalo
Posts: 183

9000 vs 9000pro vs 9500pro for TV out

I'm looking to up[garde from a GeForce2 MX400. I know any of these will improve preformance, but I am looking at $$ and the TV out function.

I want 1024x768 with vertical and hortizontal size adjustments, not just a over/under scan control.
Also dual view (NTSC and VGA at the same time) capability with a DVI output.

I would get the 9500pro, but for $200 (or close to if you can find one) that is a little steep for me. The 9000pro can be had for about half of that, but I'm concerned about preformance along with the above.

Whats the difference between the TV out of the 9000, 9000pro and the 9500pro?

How about this 9100 I have heard about that I can find on ATI's site?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2003, 07:10 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I suspect that the 9700/9700Pro/9500/9500Pro/9000/9000Pro probably all use the same encoder. Alas, it's rather hard much information, as the encoders are all ATI propriatory, and are onboard their silicon.

Anyone else?
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2003, 07:59 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

AFAIK, theres an old chip called the RAGE theatre chip that is now incorporated onto the die of newer GPUs.. It's primary use is for DVD decoding (MPEG1) and direct encoding for the 'TV in' function. I'm not sure if it is used for TV out tho.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 4th March, 2003, 03:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Buffalo
Posts: 183

I narrowed it down to the 9500pro, the 9000pro and the 9100. I see ATI doesn't sell the 9100.

ATI doesn't use chips similar to nVidia's cards? They aren't built into the main ptocessor chip are they?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2003, 08:24 AM
Betty's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Port Alberni, B.C., Canada
Posts: 3,668
Send a message via ICQ to Betty Send a message via MSN to Betty

I have the 9000 Evil Commando (that name just kills me), has tv out, haven't tried it yet....so far, I am very happy with this card....cost me $180 Canadian....about $120 USD.
*edit* The price is probably a bit high as I bought it from a local mom & pop type shop.

specs on box are as follows:

-supports ati truform, smartshader, smoothvision and hyper z II
-4 pipeline architecture and 6 texture/pass
-supports directx 8.1 pixel shader 1.4 vertex shader 1.4 for visual realism.
-full spupport and compliance with opengl 1.3 apps
64m/128m ddr up to 6.4 gb/sec. bandwidth
-supports dual monitor and video output
-supports dvi
-supports 3d res (32 bit) up to 2048x1536

(funny, I had that in a pm I sent to someone today....handy tool, cut & paste is) :-D
__________________
Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, wine in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming... Boy, What a ride!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2003, 10:50 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by videobruce
ATI doesn't use chips similar to nVidia's cards? They aren't built into the main ptocessor chip are they?
No, ATI doesn't use third party encoders, like nVidia based designs. The TV out on the ATI based cards is all on the main graphics processor.

I don't know about third party ATI based cards, although I'd assume they used the same encoder for price reasons. It's one of ATI's selling points!

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI 9500pro to 9700? hellshear Hardware Hacking 5 9th October, 2003 07:42 PM
ATI 9500PRO Volt Mod [xeno]exodus General Hardware Discussion 2 18th February, 2003 05:22 AM
psu for 8rda+ and 9500pro blue_calx EPoX MotherBoards 1 16th December, 2002 01:51 AM
will get connect3d 9500pro this week [FuK]poudaman Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 4th December, 2002 01:13 AM
ATI - 8500LE v 9000PRO SteveI Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 8 12th November, 2002 04:08 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:05 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0