AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2003, 06:45 PM
Liquid3D's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Newport, RI SURF
Posts: 374

Tyan Tachyon modding.

I'm was going to mod Tyan tachyon. My goal was to actually do a step by step process with this thread, in the hopes of helping other, and and of course myself. Any suggestions would be gratly appreciated. The pic below is the first of the series, the outcome of which, will be better performance, with more effective thermal dissipation. It almost looks as though the dang shim , is epoxied (hence the metallic sheen or reflection) to the edges, which is going to complicate it's safe removal (sorry about the blurring). Upon futher reflection it's too risky. Since the card has a propensity for overheating, I'm just going to RMA it. Why void the warranty? If it were a one year old card fine. But I can't afford to make mistakes.
Attached Thumbnails
Tyan Tachyon modding.-cap_011.jpg  
__________________
(1.) 2.4C@3.6GHz 300FSB, SLK900U/Vantec Tornado 92mm/119CFM, Abit IS7-E, 1GB OCZ GolD Dual Channel 3700, Tyan G9700 Pro, PCPower&Cooling 400W
(2.) JIUHB1700, Prometeia, Soltek 75FRN2-L, 1GB OCZ EL-PC3700, Leadtek Winfast A250, ANTEC 480W


Last edited by Liquid3D; 1st April, 2003 at 06:13 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 11:28 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

the shim isnt epoxied its just glued on, you can remove it with a sharp knife.

id just file/mill a step into my heatsink/waterblock to miss the shim.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2003, 04:24 PM
Liquid3D's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Newport, RI SURF
Posts: 374

Well what I decided to do was RMA the card regardless, because it's been acting very strange since I bought it. The first week I had it, it was always in the "red" by the monitoring software, and it didn't perform nearly as well as three other Tachyon owners cards did. They all RMA'd their cards, and like the ones they got back better (at least two of them do, the third guy is still fighting with Tyan trying to get an RMA).

I have a feeling when you send them back the card, they remove the "pads" over the memory, and/or some other modifications? I don't know, but I don't want to void the warranty, until I'm at least confident the card is working at default speeds. I hadn't done any game playing with the card until recently, and demo's only last about 7 minutes; well after playing UT3, and a few other games the card just black screen's after 20-30min. And if it posts again, the temps are all in the red! I think it's a cooling problem, and I'd rather let them do what ever their doing to fix it prior to my modding it. But thankyou for the advice!  
__________________
(1.) 2.4C@3.6GHz 300FSB, SLK900U/Vantec Tornado 92mm/119CFM, Abit IS7-E, 1GB OCZ GolD Dual Channel 3700, Tyan G9700 Pro, PCPower&Cooling 400W
(2.) JIUHB1700, Prometeia, Soltek 75FRN2-L, 1GB OCZ EL-PC3700, Leadtek Winfast A250, ANTEC 480W

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2003, 05:29 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

I agree, if it wont run at stock then you should keep your warranty.

I hope you get it sorted one way or the other
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2003, 05:17 AM
Liquid3D's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Newport, RI SURF
Posts: 374

Thank you Holst I appreciate that. I just got Tyan to acknowledge it's the card which is at fault, and I forwarded that email to Monarch Computer with my RMA request. Now we'll see if all the recommendations I sent their way will come back in RMA karma.
__________________
(1.) 2.4C@3.6GHz 300FSB, SLK900U/Vantec Tornado 92mm/119CFM, Abit IS7-E, 1GB OCZ GolD Dual Channel 3700, Tyan G9700 Pro, PCPower&Cooling 400W
(2.) JIUHB1700, Prometeia, Soltek 75FRN2-L, 1GB OCZ EL-PC3700, Leadtek Winfast A250, ANTEC 480W

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tachyon G9600pro MercutioUK General Hardware Discussion 1 29th November, 2003 01:39 PM
tyan 9700 Pro is the Vmod different? Jasonx5213 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 2nd February, 2003 02:26 PM
Vmod the Tyan 9700Pro different??? Jasonx5213 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 2nd February, 2003 02:18 PM
Tyan S2460 Temfate AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 27th January, 2002 07:44 PM
tyan boards and geforce3 abyssling AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 11th January, 2002 11:22 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0