AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 06:42 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Composite Vs S-Video (LARGE PICTURES!)

Right, for those wondering what the difference between Composite and S-Video really looks like, I've snapped a couple of video captures. They are both PNG and big! That means they're large, and modem users might hate me. On the other hand, there's no lossy compression used (Solely lossless here.)

Both pictures were captured using the same video capture card and poor wiring. (The cabling is typical of consumer grade console cables BTW) The image was originally interlaced, but you're unlikely to see the interlacing, as there's no movement. The image source was PAL, so the resolution is higher than NTSC.

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).

Last edited by Áedán; 3rd April, 2003 at 06:50 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 06:44 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

First up, the picture captured via composite. It's not too bad actually.
Attached Thumbnails
Composite Vs S-Video (LARGE PICTURES!)-gtcomposite.png  
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).

Last edited by Áedán; 3rd April, 2003 at 06:51 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 06:47 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Next, the second image. This was captured via S-Video. Now you can see why S-Video doesn't do so well!
Attached Thumbnails
Composite Vs S-Video (LARGE PICTURES!)-gtsvideo.png  
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).

Last edited by Áedán; 3rd April, 2003 at 06:51 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 06:53 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I'd do one in RGB if I had a capture card that could manage straight RGB.

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 07:38 PM
Darkest's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 179

This is terrible but I can't tell which is better :P
The S-video looks ever so slightly better, is this correct?
__________________
The constitution isn't perfect, but it's better than what we have now.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 08:52 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by Darkest
This is terrible but I can't tell which is better :P
The S-video looks ever so slightly better, is this correct?
Heh. The best place to look is at the edge of the text. It's much sharper on the S-Video version. Composite tends to smear where there's an "edge" in the picture. An "edge" is anywhere where there's a sudden colour change or brightness change.

There's also some dot crawl on the bonnet of the car under the "Quck Arcade" option. The stippling interacts with the composite to give a rather nasty "crawling" effect when it's shown on a screen.

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 09:07 PM
Darkest's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 179

Áedán,
Ah, I can see it now that you have pointed it out. Thank you


PS, I can't find the correct keystrokes for the A and e in your name under the character map, what are they? ALT something right?
__________________
The constitution isn't perfect, but it's better than what we have now.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 09:14 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by Darkest
PS, I can't find the correct keystrokes for the A and e in your name under the character map, what are they? ALT something right?
Depends on which keyboard you have. If you have a US keyboard, then you'll have to use character map. If you've got a European keyboard, the chances are you've got the characters. If you've got a European keyboard without those chars, you should be able to get them by hitting <ALT GR>+<SHIFT>+<A> for the "Á", and <ALT GR>+<A>" for the "á".

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 09:27 PM
Darkest's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 179

Áedán,
Got it, I didn't have to cut and paste that one, LOL. I found em, on my keyboard it's <Alt>+<0193> for the capital and <Alt>+<0225> for the lowercase. Wow, I actually learned something new today
__________________
The constitution isn't perfect, but it's better than what we have now.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to make composite images danrok Digital Image, Photo, Video and Audio Editing. 0 14th April, 2007 12:56 PM
My rig/desk (large pics) stigweed Case Modifications 4 31st October, 2003 09:50 AM
Advice? {warning} Large IMG RenegadesRemors Case Modifications 11 14th October, 2003 12:32 AM
I chopped up a Broken TV and an old apple composite monitor... (getting there) Azriel Hardware Hacking 12 8th July, 2002 07:58 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0