AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2001, 07:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: STL MO
Posts: 137
Send a message via ICQ to thehandler

Need help with Mark 3D Bench & tweeks.

Hey guys this is the first time I am posting to this board. I am usually stuck over on the Epox site working with my new 8KHA+.
Anyway, here is my deal and I am hoping someone can help.
I am running a Radeon LE 32DDR. I have PowerStrip installed and I am not really sure exactly how to set it. I am running WIn98SE.
I only play one game for now and that is HAlf-Life. I wouldn't mind optimising the board for this game but I plan to play other games in the futrue such as Max Payne and such. So what I am really looking for is a good general overall setting that will work well with all and not degrade my benches.
Now here are the particulars. When I first installed PS, I noticed it reported the default performance settings as 148.75 engine and memory speed, normal memory timings.
Is this the actual board or has PS already oc'ed these settings?
I put the settings at 160mhz for mem and eng. and timings to fast. I re-ran my Mark 3D 2001 benches and the scores went up way over 100 points. Question is this, how far can I safely push this mem and engine speed up without hurting the card or causing instability? Also, are there any other tweaks I should do as I really don't understand half of the options such as anti-aliasing and all that jazz. See my sig beleow for my full set up but my best benches to date are 2755. Thanks Mike
__________________
ABIT NF7-S r.2.0
XP-2600 Mobil Barton AXMG2600FQQ4C
Thermalright AX-7/ TT Smartfan 2.
PC-3200 2 gig. G.SKILL cas 2 with Heatspreaders.
HIS Radeon XP1650GT/512 GDDAN-R ICEQ RTL.
WD SATA Raptor 150GIG
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz sound card.
PSU 700W GameXStream RT OCZ700GXSSLI.
Thermaltake Xaser III V1000A Case.
21” Samsung LCD monitor.
LOGITECH THX Z-5300 5.1 surround.
XP-PRO OS.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2001, 12:15 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

well, I can tell you this: every card overclocks differently, and you won't know how far it can go until you start to see artifacts on the screen(pixels that shouldn't be there pretty much). As for FSAA, your card really isn't fast enough to do that, so I wouldn't even bother with it. I personally use this program for overclocking instead of powerstrip: http://www.aoafiles.com/dafiles/Vide...ker-1.1.96.zip it's better for ATI cards IMO. Happy overclocking.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2001, 06:27 AM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Yes, RadeonTweaker is the de facto solution for Radeon overclocking. When you get it installed, you'll want to set it to enable HyperZ at startup and then go Options-Enable HyperZ. In the overclocking tab, I recommend you don't mess with timings. Too unstable for not much gain. The Radeon LE is essentially the same as a Radeon 32DDR just made by 3rd party companies. It should be all right into the 180-190Mhz range, mine topped at 198Mhz with stock cooling. Any more questions I'll try to help.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2001, 07:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: STL MO
Posts: 137
Send a message via ICQ to thehandler

Radeon

Thank you guys very much. Wow, I had no idea the board would run that high. The default seems to be 149ish and I am shocked that it can run up in the neighborhood of 180-198.
Are you saying that if I install Radeon Tweak, that I should NOT overclock it? You seem to be saying it isn't all that important and those other changes such as Hyper Z which is a registry change I aassume, is more important.
One last question, If I install this Radeon Tweak, is there any value in my leaving Power strip installed? Does it have any value at all? Thanks MIke
__________________
ABIT NF7-S r.2.0
XP-2600 Mobil Barton AXMG2600FQQ4C
Thermalright AX-7/ TT Smartfan 2.
PC-3200 2 gig. G.SKILL cas 2 with Heatspreaders.
HIS Radeon XP1650GT/512 GDDAN-R ICEQ RTL.
WD SATA Raptor 150GIG
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz sound card.
PSU 700W GameXStream RT OCZ700GXSSLI.
Thermaltake Xaser III V1000A Case.
21” Samsung LCD monitor.
LOGITECH THX Z-5300 5.1 surround.
XP-PRO OS.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2001, 07:20 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

No, uninstall powerstrip... radeon tweaker will change all you need...

I'd say give overclocking a try, it boosts my performance 15%.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nf2 xp2500+ bench scores???? Matt McFaul AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 21st August, 2003 02:48 AM
Anyone bench with 2 sticks then with 1? eliteone EPoX MotherBoards 2 5th December, 2002 06:10 PM
New Duron OC & Bench Update whatever AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 5th June, 2002 01:20 PM
Bench Testing PSU Southern Man General Hardware Discussion 4 16th May, 2002 01:48 PM
check out this mem bench... samsonx AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 1st March, 2002 08:49 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0