AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2003, 04:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: L.A. - Lower Alabama
Posts: 15

FX5200 or Ti4200 for 8RDA+?

Need to upgrade from GF2 MX400 on 8RDA+ with XP2100 easily OCed to XP2400 speed; 512 Samsung DDR333, Lite-on CD writer and DVD, Maxtor 40G, Enlight 420w PSU.
Money's a little tight, so I'm wondering which would be a better choice -- an FX5200 or Ti4200, both with 128M?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2003, 05:01 AM
K6-III's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 661

How about Radeon 8500 or Radeon 9000???

While you're at it, if you don't game too much take a good look at the Matrox P650.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2003, 05:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: L.A. - Lower Alabama
Posts: 15

Just trying to come up with the card that won't be outdated in the near future in the $100-$120 range.
My gaming would be considered mild. Watch DVDs, though. Haven't read much about the Matrox card.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2003, 05:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 125

The 4200 is the better geForce, IMO. It also shmokes the Radeon 9000pro.

But, out of all in the price range I'd say the Radeon 9500 Pro is the way to go. They got some great deals on em at newegg right now.
__________________
MINE AMD ROCK THE WORLD
2100@12x194
8RDA no mods
Radeon 9000 Pro 128
Maxtor 80G
2 Elcheapo CD RW's
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2003, 03:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 54

5200 is slow like hell - even slower than your MX sometimes.

Go for a Ti4200.

The next performance step would be an ATI 9500PRO, 9600PRO or nVidia 9600PRO.

Greetings
mibo
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2003, 04:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: L.A. - Lower Alabama
Posts: 15

With my current economic status, I'm going with the Ti4200. When DirectX9 becomes prevalent, I'll do something else.
Thanks to all.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2003, 04:55 PM
Rainbow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 99

Quote:
Originally posted by rainman14624
With my current economic status, I'm going with the Ti4200. When DirectX9 becomes prevalent, I'll do something else.
Thanks to all.
Good choice
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2003, 08:05 PM
MiGGinZ's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 513

Quote:
Originally posted by mibo
5200 is slow like hell - even slower than your MX sometimes.

Go for a Ti4200.

The next performance step would be an ATI 9500PRO, 9600PRO or nVidia 9600PRO.

Greetings
mibo
nvidia 9600pro ?

anyways, the 9600 pro is actually alot slower than the 9500pro as it has 4 of its pixel pipes disabled and is more akin to the 9500 NON pro and about as fast as a Ti4200
__________________
One revived 8K3A+ thx holst.

ABIT AN7 2500xp-m @ 2.8ghz (H20-220 WC) , 1GB Twinmos PC3200, Radeon 9800pro(XT flashed)


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2003, 08:21 PM
Ilmater's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 32

Why is this in the Epox section? Just adding the words, "for 8RDA+" doesn't make it belong here, nor does owning an 8RDA+. Not to be cruel, but seriously...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2003, 10:52 PM
badDiVeRSioN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 24

I score around 8000 points in 3DMark2001SE, with FX5200. System in sig. The FX5200 has been a big dissapointment to me...
__________________
XP T-Bred 2100+ AIUHB 0302 @ 2131MHz, 203MHz FSB 1,6V / 2233MHz, 203MHz FSB 1,8V / 2436MHz, 203MHz FSB 2.0V,
Epox 8RDA+ rev. 1.1 C1 NB/A3 SB (max. 220MHz FSB stable), Thermaltake 11 Xaser cooler,
450w 16A Dualfan PSU,
2x256MB V-Data DDR3200 CAS 2,5(2), 3-3-2-2,
Seagate Baracuda IV 40GB 8,5ms 2MB cache,
Geforce FX 5200 128DDR AGP x8
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2003, 01:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 54

Quote:
Originally posted by MiGGinZ


nvidia 9600pro ?

anyways, the 9600 pro is actually alot slower than the 9500pro as it has 4 of its pixel pipes disabled and is more akin to the 9500 NON pro and about as fast as a Ti4200
You are right - I meant the nVidia FX5600PRO.

All I said was that all the 3 cards are faster (in most cases) than the Ti4200.
9500PRO vs. 9600PRO
9600PRO ALOT slower than 9500PRO ??? Not sure about that. But the 9600PRO uses less power and generates less heat.

mibo
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2003, 05:24 AM
Ibn Ibn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 58

Do not grab a 5200, it is a POS.

The Geforce 4 Ti4200 with 128megs is just fine for every game out, and much faster then the 5200. The Albatron and Asus ti4200 cards are under $130 right now, stay away from the gainwards, and anyone else that might be using bad caps... Though If you can, Id hold off getting a card until fall, much better cards for a lot less then....

Oh, with your current setup you would get around 14000 3dmarks in 3dmark2001 with a gf4 ti4200...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2003, 07:55 PM
MiGGinZ's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 513

yeah in most cases the 9600pro isnt even as fast as a stock ti4200 cos of its disabled pipes.

http://www.tomshardware.com/graphic/...n_9600-23.html
__________________
One revived 8K3A+ thx holst.

ABIT AN7 2500xp-m @ 2.8ghz (H20-220 WC) , 1GB Twinmos PC3200, Radeon 9800pro(XT flashed)


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2003, 08:04 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Good point Ilmater!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2003, 04:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: L.A. - Lower Alabama
Posts: 15

I've decided to take Ibn's advice and hold off on buying a new card.
As far as starting the thread in the EPox section, there are thousands of examples of motherboard-specific issues with certain pieces of hardware.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2003, 10:14 AM
Ibn Ibn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 58

Wise move, this fall Doom3 and Half-life 2 will come out about the same time as Nvidias new NV40 chips, and ATI's 360 series, amazing coincidence that
So, we should be able to get versions of the gffx5900 or ati9800 then for the same price as a gf4ti4200 now.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2003, 04:45 AM
megabyte405's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: in front of a desk with 3 CRT's
Posts: 24

I'd go for the 4200 128, if you can find one, get the BFG Tech AGP 8x one (Best Buy sells'em.). I've got one now, and it ROCKS! It's got a (apparently copper) heat sink/spread on the core and ram on both the front and back (even back of the pcb behind the core it touches). The coolest part (no pun intended) is this. The memory speed came overclocked from the factory from 444 MHz to 513 MHz, which had an awesome impact on the performance. Rock solid stable, and amazing scores in the [H]ard-OCP Unreal tourney 2k3 benchmarker (never less than 15 fps, usually around 100). Possibly cooler than that is the performance i'm getting without having to void their lifetime warranty (which they make good on). This is the second BFG card i've had that was factory overclocked.
__________________
Megabyte
--
Main Box-Quenya OUT OF ORDER
Athlon T-Bird 1.33, 133MHz bus, 512MB Crucial CL2 SDRAM (Ultra 2 Timings), ECS K7AMA Motherboard (ALi Chipset) BLOWN CAPACITORS , BFG GeForce 4 Ti-4200 128MB 8x (350/513), 40 GB WD Caviar, 80 GB WD Caviar, 48x16x48 CD-RW, 6x DVD ROM


I need a new mobo! Anyone have a spare Asus A7N8X or similarily plushy athlon mobo?

Currently on IBM ThinkPad i Series 1400 (Pentium 266-MMX, 4 gb hd, NeoMagic MagicGraph 128ZX+ video)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2003, 06:13 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

GF 2 MX 400.

I hade one of those. I too am waiting for Doom 3 or HalfLife 2 to come out befor I buy a new card also. But I picked up a Radeon 8500 OEM clocked at 250/275. It OCs to 280/320. I picked this card up second hand in a forum for $50 shipped.

You should keep an eye open. The performance boost is amazing for the price. And it will hold you over until the lat fall.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2003, 12:01 PM
bigjohnson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 396

I just got a FX5200 without regards to benchmarks. It seems that it is doing very well.
It was a good upgrade from my former card which is a Radeon VE.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2003, 04:24 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by K6-III
How about Radeon 8500 or Radeon 9000???

While you're at it, if you don't game too much take a good look at the Matrox P650.
The old Radeon 8500 LE is significantly better than the newer Radeon 9000. The only catch is that you must be very careful when selecting an 8500 LE. Many of the one's presently available are poorly made.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chaintech Fx5200 Kharmax Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 4th March, 2005 12:17 AM
LeadTek Winfast GF 4 Ti4200 128MB DDR 8X on EPoX 8RDA+ and crashes in games judgeDealer EPoX MotherBoards 5 28th July, 2003 07:17 PM
8k7a+ & Fx5200 Essbee EPoX MotherBoards 15 26th May, 2003 06:30 PM
8rda+ ti4200 = 16040 3d2001se doctoromeo EPoX MotherBoards 6 17th February, 2003 12:54 AM
Anyone with 8rda+/8rda & GeForce Ti4200, help please :) ~crucibelle~ EPoX MotherBoards 14 6th January, 2003 01:21 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0