AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2003, 02:04 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Radeon8500 experts needed

I'm very confused. I just got my replacement 8500LE, and I'm very dissappointed... When I openned readeonator, it told me the GPU was running at 250, and the memory at 365!!! On my previous card it was 250/250.

Well, I benched it, and only got 8400 in 3dm2k1. This is on my system slowed down for stability... NF7s 11x200.

I've even cranked up the card to 294/400!!! and it still only gets 9350.

The last time I remember running 3dm all the way through was when I was using my AT7 running the CPU @2ghz, and I was topping 10k easily. I'm not sure but I think there is something holding me back.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Last edited by SteveI; 19th June, 2003 at 03:24 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2003, 02:07 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

It is able to run 3dm at these settings...
And I know for a fact that the mem score was not showing "ddr mem speed" before but true mhz.
Attached Thumbnails
Radeonator Experts-radeonator.jpg  
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2003, 03:11 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I'm starting to believe I have a miracle card... I presently have 2 8500LEs.. The other registers as running at 250/230. It is only getting 6890 3dmarks....

THis Tells me 2 things:
1) something is screwy with my system... that second card should definitely be breaking 9000 at least.
2) the first card scoring that much higher, means I need to research the memory... I may have lucked out with 2.8ns memory... which means if I figure out what the heck is going on in my rig, I should be able to break 11K.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2003, 06:03 AM
funnyperson1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Blacksburg, VA aka Vtech
Posts: 592
Send a message via AIM to funnyperson1

Now, here is where you are getting confused. Radeonator is showing you the DDR speed. It is showing 250/185 as 250/365. I would be willing to bet that instead of 400 you are running at 200x2. Try using powerstrip, rivatuner, or rage3d tweak to verify this.

there are a lot of crap 8500LEs running at 250/166 or 250/185 and it seems that you got one of them. I suggest you call whoever swapped the cards for you and **** at them. I doubt you have 2.8ns ram because the card barely breaks 200 mhz.

Sorry to bring bad news .
__________________
Biostar TForce550
A64 X2 3600+ (65nm)@2.9 (1.4V)
TR Ultra 90
2GB Crucial Ballistix 6400@ DDR2 1000 C5
Geforce 7900GS
2x160gig hdd with WinXP, Vista, and Ubuntu
member of FOLDING@HOME team 32
Latitude D620 with XP, Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2003, 09:23 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Steve!!! you got the crappy R8500LELELE LOL!!

just like what happened to me.. a long way back... do you remember?? I reported the issue with my gpu mem clocks and turned out to be one of those LELE or LELELE versions. These cards stinkx! Sorry it happened to you... i know it sux..

I'm afraid they replaced you card with a wrong one, completely ripped you off. This is why I stopped dealing with stores where they carry any of LE versions. I don't trust em.... So I had to go back to my trusty Gainward Ti200 cauze I know exactly what I will be getting... Steve, I'm sorry to hear your problem. Yes, what funnyperson has said about the proggie reading the clocks at DDR is correct... Your GPU core should be pretty good.. but the memory chips suck big time... and no, the rest of your system is working fine, where it should be. It's the card's memory clock being so low.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 19th June, 2003 at 09:26 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2003, 12:38 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I'm still confused... I swapped cards.... the other one shows up as 250/230.... I swapped back again, and this one is up much higher... Unless 230 means 115 DDR(????)...

Using both cards to run 3dmarks... the 230 card is getting 6890. And the (now) 460 card is getting 10133:
Attached Thumbnails
Radeonator Experts-rage.jpg  
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2003, 12:39 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I took a pic of the ram. Can someone ID it for me?
Attached Thumbnails
Radeonator Experts-radeonram.jpg  
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2003, 05:44 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Steve, i used to use Rage3d Tweak before. My LELELE card reads just like yours on the core and memory. The regular/retail 8500 and some other "LE" cards have much higher memory clockspeeds. That's why you're getting much better 3dmark score with that. yes...... that memory chip pic you posted looks exactly like my low performance 5.5 ns Hyundai chip... which is severely crippled for the card..
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 19th June, 2003 at 06:16 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2003, 06:11 PM
funnyperson1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Blacksburg, VA aka Vtech
Posts: 592
Send a message via AIM to funnyperson1

That is 5.5ns ram . What I said was correct. As for why the score is so much better than the other one I have no idea.
__________________
Biostar TForce550
A64 X2 3600+ (65nm)@2.9 (1.4V)
TR Ultra 90
2GB Crucial Ballistix 6400@ DDR2 1000 C5
Geforce 7900GS
2x160gig hdd with WinXP, Vista, and Ubuntu
member of FOLDING@HOME team 32
Latitude D620 with XP, Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2003, 06:20 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by whatever
Steve, i used to use Rage3d Tweak before. My LELELE card reads just like yours on the core and memory. The regular/retail 8500 and some other "LE" cards have much higher memory clockspeeds. That's why you're getting much better 3dmark score with that. yes...... that memory chip pic you posted looks exactly like my low performance 5.5 ns Hyundai chip... which is severely crippled for the card..
Thanks guys, but I still don't understand why my other card (on my desk) is reading 250/230 and scoring under 7000 in the same system.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2003, 06:20 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

I had some discussion about the Radeon 8500 series cards over at futuremark a long time ago.. All the rad8500 users entered and shared their input.. there are as many as 10 different models in the 8500 series(if i remember correctly) lol..
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2003, 06:28 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Yowch! I had no idea that buying a good 8500 LE was this difficult. I wouldn't have done the proper research, I'm sure. Sheesh, 7000 is how my 64 Mb Ti200 scores. My neighbor's 8500 LE whomps on my Ti200. Of course, he paid a lot for his.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2003, 09:03 PM
funnyperson1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Blacksburg, VA aka Vtech
Posts: 592
Send a message via AIM to funnyperson1

Yeah, but for a LONG time newegg was selling 250/275 8500LEs built by ati oem. After newegg stopped selling those, the 8500LE market has been messed up.
__________________
Biostar TForce550
A64 X2 3600+ (65nm)@2.9 (1.4V)
TR Ultra 90
2GB Crucial Ballistix 6400@ DDR2 1000 C5
Geforce 7900GS
2x160gig hdd with WinXP, Vista, and Ubuntu
member of FOLDING@HOME team 32
Latitude D620 with XP, Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 21st June, 2003, 08:38 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Quote:
Originally posted by funnyperson1
After newegg stopped selling those, the 8500LE market has been messed up.
dazzt's what we mean......


it's not totally reliable in termz of buying trusty R8500LE cards coz there are 2 many LELE/ LELELE cardz out there.... over populated and ready to go B O O M M M......


some praying required.

some luck required.

some money required.


usually, you pay a lot of money.. i.e. 300 buckx, you get a nice original pure ATI Rad8500 NO LE's... but then... it's too much money... well, not now, but not too long ago hehehehehe
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any car experts... question on motor oil Sideburns Random Nonsense! 13 4th January, 2006 04:08 PM
Memory Experts for 8RGA+ Wanted Jay T EPoX MotherBoards 14 27th March, 2003 07:27 PM
All you OC experts MichaelMuck EPoX MotherBoards 5 18th December, 2002 07:58 AM
need overclocking advice from the experts RamaLamaDingDong AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 7th February, 2002 07:21 PM
A strange thing.Experts Opinion. Nitza666 EPoX MotherBoards 1 27th January, 2002 02:04 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0