AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2003, 10:32 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Burning issues...

I'm having lots of problems trying to back up my data with my Plextor CD writer. See my sig for full spec list.
Previously I had an Epox 8K3a+ and the burner worked great, except that it didn't like certain media and would only burn cheap "40x" media at 16x, anything higher and I got coasters even with Burn Proof.
I've upgraded the firmware and now in the new motherboard its even worse. Using the supplied Nero and even CDRWin 5 I cant burn at full speed reliably. CDRWin will not let me backup any CD images, but it will mount them and I can "Test" them ok, all burns fail. It does burn normal data files ok, but at not at the full rated speed of the media.
With Nero it starts off ok then the CD Rom goes mad and spins at full speed with the HDD light showing constantly with nothing happening, the PC freezes and I have to reset. I can't backup anything with Nero, not even normal data files.
Whats amazing is that the Liteon 52x24x52 burner in my second rig that cost a third of the Pelxy will burn to any media I throw at it at the full speed of the media! No coasters yet.
Does anyone have any ideas or similar probs?

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah

Last edited by Lazgoat; 30th June, 2003 at 10:51 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2003, 11:06 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Presume the Plextor is IDE, not SCSI?
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2003, 11:29 PM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

Maybe it's because of the nVIDIA IDE drivers(in fact, I am almost certain it's because of that), try installing the normal IDE drivers and not the SW nVIDIA drivers, and also try Nero instead of CDRWin.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2003, 12:00 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Aedan, yes its IDE.

Alexandrus, can you briefly tell me how to install the normal IDE drivers? I take that this is a common fault/occurrence then with all nForceII boards?
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2003, 12:18 AM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

It's not necesarily common because most people do not install the SW IDE drivers that come from nVIDIA
You just run the software package again, and when asked if you wish to install the SW IDE drivers, just choose NO
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2003, 02:53 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Just a quick update, re-installed the Chipset drivers that came with the board, didn't install the nvidia SW IDE drivers this time and guess what? Successful burning has resumed!
Thanks Alexandrus.

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2003, 10:35 AM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

You're wellcome, glad to have helped.
We all should "thank" nVIDIA for their awesome drivers
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Burning in RAM Cproflow General Hardware Discussion 2 25th August, 2005 03:10 AM
Burning VCD on to DVD-R Rondog OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 3 6th July, 2005 01:53 PM
Burning in? slack AMD Motherboards & CPUs 12 24th October, 2002 09:44 AM
Burning in RAM dod General Hardware Discussion 5 29th August, 2002 08:17 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0