AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2003, 08:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 1

OC'ing ATi 9000 Pro - Help?

Hey, I have the ATi 9000 Pro 128DDR card, and needless today.. it isnt as great a card as I hoped it would be. Given the fact that the card is meant for the mainstream market, priced at the mainstream level, and preforms at the mainstream level, I'm not blaming the card at all.

Just, was hoping that maybe tweaking its settings might give it a better performance in games or what not.

I downloaded the tweaker drivers from the site, but Im unsure whats a safe setting to use for the card, as I dont want the card to burn out on me.. hehe

Does anyone have any advice?

Thanks

-JouninX
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2003, 01:47 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

The best way to do it is just take it up a few notches at a time... Is it default at 275/275??

If yes, odds are the core won't go to high, maybe 285-297. The memory will depend on the stuff on there. If it is 4ns stuff, you're not going to get anywhere at all.

If you take it a step at a time, and test it for artifacts with 3dmark2k1, you should be fine. As long as you are not adding voltage, you don't have to worry about burning out the card.

I've noticed on my 8500 that if I push the core too much, it just locks up... memory too far, and I get artifacts. good luck with it.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2003, 06:55 AM
funnyperson1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Blacksburg, VA aka Vtech
Posts: 592
Send a message via AIM to funnyperson1

move it up 5-10 mhz on core and then test with 3dmark or something and look for graphical anomalies (aka artifacts). If you see none and it is stable then go higher. Rinse and repeat. Once you reach the max on the core find out what is the max oc you get while remaining stable and artifact free.

Then put the core back to defualt. then, do the same thing to the memory.

Then find a compromise between highest core and highest mem that is stable and offers best performance.
__________________
Biostar TForce550
A64 X2 3600+ (65nm)@2.9 (1.4V)
TR Ultra 90
2GB Crucial Ballistix 6400@ DDR2 1000 C5
Geforce 7900GS
2x160gig hdd with WinXP, Vista, and Ubuntu
member of FOLDING@HOME team 32
Latitude D620 with XP, Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2003, 05:16 PM
Jethro's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 51

i did a vgpu mod on this 9000pro and got it up to 330/300 not a bad cardhttp://www.knology.net/~dmpickard/Picture%20010.jpg
__________________
Epox8k3a TB 1700+ @ 2.45 1.85vcore 1/2 MAze3 cooled ~2x256 Samsung DDR @ 204
Chieftec ALuminum 601 //Sparkle 350
Netgear cable router RP614/3com905cTX~lan//SB AUdigy mp3+
WD special 80's x2 and 1x 20 // Sony 48x24x48
Hitachi7515~19inch .22dp ~ BB ATI 9600pro 540/351
Thrustmaster Fox 2 pro usb// Nostromo n50// IBM opti mouse
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2003, 06:17 PM
funnyperson1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Blacksburg, VA aka Vtech
Posts: 592
Send a message via AIM to funnyperson1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jethro
i did a vgpu mod on this 9000pro and got it up to 330/300 not a bad card

very, very nice. Me like .
__________________
Biostar TForce550
A64 X2 3600+ (65nm)@2.9 (1.4V)
TR Ultra 90
2GB Crucial Ballistix 6400@ DDR2 1000 C5
Geforce 7900GS
2x160gig hdd with WinXP, Vista, and Ubuntu
member of FOLDING@HOME team 32
Latitude D620 with XP, Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2003, 06:23 PM
Jethro's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 51

that card really kicked some butt even at high res with anisotropy cranked up. seemed to scale well with cpu speed.

Got a 9600pro now tho =) very cool card to mess with as well
__________________
Epox8k3a TB 1700+ @ 2.45 1.85vcore 1/2 MAze3 cooled ~2x256 Samsung DDR @ 204
Chieftec ALuminum 601 //Sparkle 350
Netgear cable router RP614/3com905cTX~lan//SB AUdigy mp3+
WD special 80's x2 and 1x 20 // Sony 48x24x48
Hitachi7515~19inch .22dp ~ BB ATI 9600pro 540/351
Thrustmaster Fox 2 pro usb// Nostromo n50// IBM opti mouse
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8900 9000???? z3speed4me Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 2nd July, 2007 11:55 PM
Radeon 9000 cooling nki69c Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 1st June, 2004 11:26 PM
radeon 9000 and directx nki69c Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 14th March, 2004 01:23 AM
8RDA+ and Ati Radeon 9000 ho to use it together Kuba EPoX MotherBoards 4 18th August, 2003 11:51 PM
Radeon 9000 PRO SteveI Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 5th September, 2002 07:14 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:12 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0