AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 16th July, 2003, 03:43 AM
db3 db3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: nyc
Posts: 19

how to oc video card?

hi,

i've never overclocked a video card before and in trying to find info out there, i can't seem to find out what happens when you go too far. or signs that i might be going too far.

i just build a new system:

8rda+ rev1.1 w/ athlonxp 2500+ @ stock (for now)
geil 2x256MB pc3500 ram (in sync with cpu ... for now)
asus v8420s gf4ti4200 (3.3ns memory)

this card comes with a little utility to change the engine and memory clock speeds. from what i've read, it should easily do 300/600 and probably better...

how do i know when its too much? will it just not boot? will i be able to get into safe mode to drop the speeds a little?

also, i was wondering whether there are any rules of thumb when it comes to oc'ing video cards.

thanks!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 16th July, 2003, 05:16 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

With the utility you overclock in windows. Just bump it up a couple MHz at a time and run 3DMark2001se. When you start getting too high on your memory you will start to notice artifacts (looks like stry white dots on the screen kind of like snow). Back it off a few MHz. When you start getting too high on your core you will get tearing or a garbled screen. Back it off a few MHz.

if you lock up just reboot or do a cold start. It is possible to fry a card but very unlikely without mods. And you can always boot into safe mode and then change your settings.

Just take baby steps to start with. And welcome to the forums.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16th July, 2003, 05:26 PM
db3 db3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: nyc
Posts: 19

Thanks! I'll play around with it tonight.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th July, 2003, 06:09 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

There are a few different ways to oc without hard mods... One involves using a hacked bios. The more common SW methods are much safer and easier to reverse if necessary.

Basically, your card will boot and run normally, and as you get into windows, the "OC" settings will kick in. If you have gone too far, you will not be able to boot properly, and a windows reinstall may be necessary. The best way around that is to test by bumping a little at a time. As soon as you get artifacts either in games or in windows, take it down... Also, most sw have a setting to enable oc at boot... DO NOT check this box..... at least until you are absolutely certain that the card can handle the oc. This way, while testing, a reboot will reverse any accidents.

EDIT: I've also noticed (at least with radeons) that overclocking the memory too far causes artifacts, while overclocking the gpu too far causes lock ups...
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2003, 02:18 PM
db3 db3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: nyc
Posts: 19

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveI
Also, most sw have a setting to enable oc at boot... DO NOT check this box..... at least until you are absolutely certain that the card can handle the oc. This way, while testing, a reboot will reverse any accidents.
i thought that the changes wouldn't be recognized until reboot... so does that mean that once you change the speed in the sw, the speed changes right away?

thanks for the tips! i just found that my memory is bad (darn GeIL) so i won't be able to try this out for a little while... ah, well...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheap video card with Video Out raphael2040 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 14 17th December, 2006 10:42 PM
New video card? Mark Alex Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 17 11th July, 2005 04:42 AM
ATI/Nvidia multi-video processing!!!!1 AGP card-1 PCI-e card (ATI ONLY) cadaveca Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 20th May, 2005 03:15 PM
Need a new video card. Which one? Gizmo Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 16 6th September, 2004 02:47 PM
Can't see with new video card SteveI CRASHED! 13 26th March, 2002 01:09 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:05 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0