AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 5th November, 2003, 02:45 PM

Send a message via MSN to Reilly

Temps to high?

Hi Guys, Im a bit off a newbie here.
I have just pushed my Core, and memory clock frequency's up a bit and checked my temps, i am running at GPU Core 70 C, and Ambient 40C, is this too high?
I have no cooling other than stock stuff, Vid card is Nvidea GeForce 5600 Pro running at 325/602.
Any help would be greatly appreciated
Old 5th November, 2003, 05:06 PM
Member/Contributer

Welcome to AOA Forums, Reilly!

Ouch - 70C - too hot to touch, huh? It does sound too high. What are the temps when it is not overclocked? An Ambient of 40C sounds quite high too - try removing the side of the case and see if that helps on the temps.
Old 6th November, 2003, 01:05 PM

ok, not sure about not overclocked temps yet, but at the moment, i have backed it off a bit, and at start up it is sitting at a steady GPU Core temp 55-57 C, and Ambient temp is at 34C... i will reset card to default and get another temp reading. Should the card heat up more when running games? What is a safe temp to run at?
I set the card at auto detect to get the 325/602 setting, and it said it was safe, i guess it assumes that I am using some cooling!
Thanks for your help so far, Much appreciated
Old 6th November, 2003, 02:13 PM
Member/Contributer

I don't really know what a "safe temp" is for your card - honestly I have no idea! I'm watercooling my video card, and it doesn't have its own temperature reading device.

Did you try to remove the side of the case?ยด

And yes, the temperature will rise with heavy use - like gaming, 3Dmark, etc.
Old 7th November, 2003, 09:28 AM