AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2003, 05:14 PM
Maelstrom2160's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 230

"best bang for buck" r9800pro/xt vs 5900U

So it's finally time for me to upgrade my gpu ;D, my trusty ti4200 has given me aclass performance for 2 years solid but now I’m after a new gpu one that can run decent fps with plenty of aa/af at 1600/1200, and I’m wondering if anyone’s in the know with which brands are tending to have faster/more overclockable mem modules and if there’s any other critical info to consider when buying a gpu at this present time.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2003, 07:06 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

It's difficult to compare the two cards because the GPU on an ATI is of different design to the nVidia GPU. The coding for AA and AF on each is also very different. Both cards can handle AA/AF at 1600/1200. Most people hold the opinion that AA on ATI cards is better for both quality and speed. Although, the need for AA is less at higher resolutions.

Some games run better on ATI cards and some are better on nVidia. So, it might be an idea to work out which is best for your favorite games.

Have you considered the 5950? This has very fast memory with speeds up to 950mhz DDR.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2003, 10:20 PM
SpleeNMaN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Hilversum, Holland
Posts: 72

if you're going to buy a card that expensive, you might want to read some reviews; there are plenty available.
also, if you are thinking about purchasing a 9800 pro, look here: http://www.radeon-shop.de/shop/
__________________
Silentmaxx Fanless Pro 503W PSU. EPoX 9NPA+ Ultra. AMD Athlon64 3200+ Venice E6. Twinmos 512 DDR x 2 (dual channel) PC3200. Hitachi Deskstar 7200rpm, 8MB Sata II x 2 @ raid0, Cpu, Gpu, Chipset watercooled by Innovatek (and a Ford Taunus engine radiator)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2004, 09:25 AM
tjf_diesel's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 36

What a month or two, the new ones should be out. Then you can either buy one of the new ones or get the card of your choice at a much better price. If ya don't want to wait I would get the ATI 9800XT. Just my personnally choice after owning both ATI and Nvidia gpu's.
__________________


Primary- P4c 2.8- Epox 4PCA3+ ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
Corsair HydroCool 200 Corsair and Koolance PC2-601 Case
1024MB DDR400 XMS3200LL WD 36.7gb 10,000rpm RAPTOR HD -
WD 200gb 7,200rpm HD- Win XP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th January, 2004, 04:18 AM
marcofra2000's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: In the Desert of CA
Posts: 539
Send a message via MSN to marcofra2000

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maelstrom2160
So it's finally time for me to upgrade my gpu ;D, my trusty ti4200 has given me aclass performance for 2 years solid but now I’m after a new gpu one that can run decent fps with plenty of aa/af at 1600/1200, and I’m wondering if anyone’s in the know with which brands are tending to have faster/more overclockable mem modules and if there’s any other critical info to consider when buying a gpu at this present time.
If you are going to spend big bucks, then I would do some research first, but imo get the Ati Radeon 9800 pro/xt, I have the All in Wonder Radeon 9800 pro and it plays my games with aa 2x and af 8 with res of 1024*768 and it's also more future proof. Both 3d cards can play games with high fps in high quality at the moment.
__________________
Athlon 64 3500+@3800+
ASUS A8V
Gainward 6800 GT@ULTRA
2x512 Ballistix DDR PC-3200
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
Maxtor 80 gig
Antec 430 Watts
Onkyo HT-S760, 750 Watts.

Opinions are like butts, we all have them and they all stink at one time or another. But when people's butts stink we don't go around cleaning them, so please don't tell people that their opinions stink.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th January, 2004, 08:26 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

From what I've seen, the 5950 cards sit right at the same level as the 9800XT, with perhaps a slight edge when it comes to maximising eyecandy, falling slightly behind when it comes to raw speed at the expense of eyecandy.

If you're looking for a card that will score more highly in 3DMark200x, then the 9800XT is it. If you're looking for a card that plays games well, either the 9800XT or the 5950 will do - depending on which mix of games you have, the 5950 may outrun the 9800XT with eyecandy turned up.

Mind you, it'd be nice if somone would catch up with TV. Neither the AIW, nor the Personal Cinema series can handle digital TV, be it satellite or terestrial. Analog's hardly high end for a supposedly high end card. (Yeah, I'm complaining that a high end card can't do what a $50 set top box can.)
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 8th January, 2004, 07:44 PM
tjf_diesel's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 36

Here's an article that compares the two top end Video Card:

http://www.tomshardware.com/graphic/20031023/index.html
__________________


Primary- P4c 2.8- Epox 4PCA3+ ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
Corsair HydroCool 200 Corsair and Koolance PC2-601 Case
1024MB DDR400 XMS3200LL WD 36.7gb 10,000rpm RAPTOR HD -
WD 200gb 7,200rpm HD- Win XP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2004, 04:18 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Here's a 9800SE with TV on offer for £136.50

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...k_Only_25.html
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2004, 05:14 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

That rather depends if you can soft mod the card up to a 9800Pro or not. Currently it seems rather a gamble if you're considering higher end cards than a 9800SE!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2004, 02:22 AM
Maelstrom2160's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 230

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
That rather depends if you can soft mod the card up to a 9800Pro or not. Currently it seems rather a gamble if you're considering higher end cards than a 9800SE!
yeah far too much hastle tring to find a SE that'll softmod. That radeon-shop.de seemed like a safe bet to pick up a SE that definetly would mod but for a few pound more i can pick up a 9800pro and cut up a couple of cpu heatsinks if theres room stick half a heatsink across 2 of the mem modules at a time and mount 4*40mm fans on top or on the side closest to the core of each of the mem sinks, while im at it i have to stick a chunky heatsink on the core aswell, heh hope the pcb doesnt snap :P hum more like hope i dont snap from the white noise of the fans
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2004, 10:42 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

I agree with Aedan about the lack Digital TV on these high end cards. Why oh why did ATI stop doing/at the 8500 DV?!! I've been looking to get my hands on one but they are like gold dust!

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2004, 12:16 PM
Maelstrom2160's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 230

picked up a brand spanking new sapphire 9800pro with all the software cables ect for £182 shipped/insured
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2004, 12:43 PM
Maelstrom2160's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 230

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maelstrom2160
picked up a brand spanking new sapphire 9800pro with all the software cables ect for £182 shipped/insured
Lucky i havent payed for it yet, seems like it's only got a 128bit mem interface dunno why there being sold off as pro's. Looks like i'll have to pay the extra £40 for a real one

I mean you can't state that it's a 9800pro if its a softmoded 9800se right? the only indication that its a SE and not a pro is the 128bit mem interface in the specs

im clearing this up atm with the dealer
__________________

Last edited by Maelstrom2160; 24th January, 2004 at 01:19 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2004, 01:00 PM
Maelstrom2160's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 230

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maelstrom2160
Lucky i havent payed for it yet, seems like it's only got a 128bit mem interface dunno why there being sold off as pro's. Looks like i'll have to pay the extra £40 for a real one
what speed mem modules do the 9800pro's tend to have?

and what speed modules do the 9800se's have? (i noticed some at that radeon shop have 2.8ns modules same as the pro?)

if the core on the SE is the same as the pro/xt is it just a underclocked/downgraded(cause of demand) r350 core or is the SE core like a core that failed higher tier performance evaluation
__________________

Last edited by Maelstrom2160; 24th January, 2004 at 01:20 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2004, 08:26 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Some of the 9800 SE's are 128Bit and some are 256 Bit. All the Pro versions are 256Bit.
The only 9800SE's that mod are the 256Bit ones. These ones are rumoured to have "damaged" cores with only 4 of the 8 pipelines guaranteed working, but the softmod gets round that. Not all are damaged but are locked (for some reason)to only 4 pipes. These will softmod successfully to 9800 Pros.
The memory varies in speed from 3.3ns to 2.8ns.
Overclockers are doing the 9800 Pro for £200!

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2004, 08:38 PM
Maelstrom2160's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 230

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazgoat
Some of the 9800 SE's are 128Bit and some are 256 Bit. All the Pro versions are 256Bit.
The only 9800SE's that mod are the 256Bit ones. These ones are rumoured to have "damaged" cores with only 4 of the 8 pipelines guaranteed working, but the softmod gets round that. Not all are damaged but are locked (for some reason)to only 4 pipes. These will softmod successfully to 9800 Pros.
The memory varies in speed from 3.3ns to 2.8ns.
Overclockers are doing the 9800 Pro for £200!

Laz.
yeah i spotted overclockers were doing them for 200 but thats last weeks offer there doing barton 3200+'s now for £150 so the sapphires are back up to £210+delivery

:P
__________________

Last edited by Maelstrom2160; 24th January, 2004 at 10:48 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2004, 12:24 AM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazgoat
Some of the 9800 SE's are 128Bit and some are 256 Bit. All the Pro versions are 256Bit.
The only 9800SE's that mod are the 256Bit ones. These ones are rumoured to have "damaged" cores with only 4 of the 8 pipelines guaranteed working, but the softmod gets round that. Not all are damaged but are locked (for some reason)to only 4 pipes. These will softmod successfully to 9800 Pros.
The memory varies in speed from 3.3ns to 2.8ns.
Overclockers are doing the 9800 Pro for £200!

Laz.
Actually the 128bit ones can be modded to enable the extra 4 pipes but with only 128bit, sort of like a 9500pro was over the std 9500 but with a r350 core sucessfully modded ones are rumered that with a good oc to not be that far off a std 9700, or so ive read?
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2004, 12:31 AM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maelstrom2160
yeah i spotted overclockers were doing them for 200 but thats last weeks offer there doing barton 3200+'s now for £150 so the sapphires are back up to £210+delivery

:P
Still on offer till c/b thursday
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"AMD: Bringing "Torrenza" and "Fusion" Together" Daniel ~ AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 20th March, 2007 02:59 AM
Latest ATI "R600," "R610" and "R630" details danrok Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 9th January, 2007 10:44 AM
Worst bang for the buck...... Mau Benchmarking 9 10th June, 2004 06:36 PM
What chip is the best bang for the buck? Alphawolf829 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 5th February, 2003 10:59 AM
I Want The Best Bang For My Buck hamerlee Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 7 21st January, 2003 05:48 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:15 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0