AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2002, 06:44 AM
Cyberey66's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to Cyberey66

is my geforce dead

I posted this in 2 other forums, no luck, if there is any. Well I had a geforce 256, and it died when switching from full screen mode back to regular. Well, well it would boot windows, but it showed green lines and other stuff on the screen. I uped the cooling to a Gorb, it accually seemed to help. Well heres a screen shot of the card, notice the dots, well thats after the gorb, it seemed to do better. Maybe there is a voltage mod or somthing I can do to the card. It seems like it could possibly survive, I just need to know how it died. Anyone ever see anything similar? I'll try anything basically. If cooling helped, maybe something can fix it.
Attached Thumbnails
is my geforce dead-video.jpg  
__________________
Rutgers University School Of Engineering 2007

"skin and tragedy are the ways to attract a crowd"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2002, 09:00 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Think God's saying "New card buddy."
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2002, 09:03 AM
Cyberey66's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to Cyberey66

I have a new card, it's just it would be cool to do somthing with this one.
__________________
Rutgers University School Of Engineering 2007

"skin and tragedy are the ways to attract a crowd"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2002, 02:49 PM
ItHuNkPuNk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: CA, Bay Area
Posts: 332
Send a message via AIM to ItHuNkPuNk

little too much overclocking maybe? lower it a bit and see if it helps.. I think this could be a case of pixel noise if its an overclock..
__________________
I thunk Punk I did.. yesssireee..
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2002, 05:18 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

My GeForce 256 DDR does the same when I overclock it too much. When I lower the speed the lines disappear...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2002, 08:00 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

My matrox G400 went a bit like that after long term memory overclocking.
The effect stayed even after I dropped the memory speed.

Although it looks like the card is damaged check your monitor cable and reseat everything just to be safe.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2002, 09:06 PM
Cyberey66's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to Cyberey66

Yea, it looks like the distortions you get when you clock your memory to high. I could try getting a bios editor, and changing the clock speeds for the ram to run lower. Then flash the new bios. Maybe if I stick on some ram sinks.
__________________
Rutgers University School Of Engineering 2007

"skin and tragedy are the ways to attract a crowd"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2002, 09:28 PM
ItHuNkPuNk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: CA, Bay Area
Posts: 332
Send a message via AIM to ItHuNkPuNk

Quote:
Originally posted by satan
Yea, it looks like the distortions you get when you clock your memory to high. I could try getting a bios editor, and changing the clock speeds for the ram to run lower. Then flash the new bios. Maybe if I stick on some ram sinks.
Water-cool it!!
__________________
I thunk Punk I did.. yesssireee..
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2002, 09:40 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Quote:
Originally posted by satan
Yea, it looks like the distortions you get when you clock your memory to high. I could try getting a bios editor, and changing the clock speeds for the ram to run lower. Then flash the new bios. Maybe if I stick on some ram sinks.
us a sw video overclocking utility from aoafiles.com and try to decrease the speed that way before going through the trouble of a bios editor.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2002, 10:33 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

My take on this is that either you have a problem with the AGP interface between the card and the computer, or a memory problem between the Geforce controller and the memory on the graphics card.

If it's a problem with the AGP on the card, try removing it, and then reseating it, as a poor connection or oxidisation can cause difficulties.

As many other people have posted, overclocking beyond the abilities of the card will often cause problems like this. Generally it's overclocking the memory that causes them though. If you're not overclocking, and you've still got these problems, then seriously consider getting a new card.

Doing things like upping the voltage *might* help for the short term, but you're likely to find that the card dies sooner rather than later.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2002, 02:13 AM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

low tech answer...

remove all cards and ram blow the dust out and reinstall

had the same problem once
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2002, 02:38 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally posted by kat
low tech answer...

remove all cards and ram blow the dust out and reinstall

had the same problem once
Good house keeping can sometimes do more than a remodel!":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2002, 09:01 AM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Looks like simple artifacts to me. I suggest you de-overclock the memory on the card (maybe not completely, but at least a bit). If the card is running stock like that....


.... newegg.com?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2002, 01:24 AM
Cyberey66's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to Cyberey66

The card was accually never overclocked. Not even once. I think it could be do to the small ass stock hs/f. It was 45mm X 5mm heatsink with a 45mm X 6mm fan, and my fanless gorb gets really hot with that chip. That's the only thing I can think of. I saw someone with a new geforce 3 that suffers from the same exact thing as me, but that was because a cap. fell of his. You think I could have killed one somehow?
__________________
Rutgers University School Of Engineering 2007

"skin and tragedy are the ways to attract a crowd"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2002, 03:25 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Quote:
Originally posted by satan
The card was accually never overclocked. Not even once. I think it could be do to the small ass stock hs/f. It was 45mm X 5mm heatsink with a 45mm X 6mm fan, and my fanless gorb gets really hot with that chip. That's the only thing I can think of. I saw someone with a new geforce 3 that suffers from the same exact thing as me, but that was because a cap. fell of his. You think I could have killed one somehow?
It could be something like that.

This dificulty will be in finding out whats broken, if anything.

If none of the other tips work (reseat, clean or overvolt) then your probably looking at a dead card.

You can get a equally performing geforce2 for not too much cash there days, unless your tempted by the high framerates of a redeon 8500
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2002, 03:32 AM
Cyberey66's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to Cyberey66

I have a radeon VE now (didn't know it was horribly neutered). I'll try to find a place that says how to add volts. Hey, it's worth a shot.
__________________
Rutgers University School Of Engineering 2007

"skin and tragedy are the ways to attract a crowd"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Get your GeForce FX..... Staz Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 9 19th January, 2003 08:12 AM
GeForce 5 Biohazard Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 15 23rd November, 2002 06:26 PM
GeForce 2 GTS just that little further wild_andy_c Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 19th January, 2002 11:10 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0