AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2004, 12:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Posts: 2

Angry urgent help 9800 pro bad 3d score 10500

I have amd 1700 asus kt400 board 256 DDR -400 ram 80 GB WD-Caviar 8 meg cache HDD ..
I bought 128 meg powercolor 9800 pro yesterday I ınstalled XP and service pack1 then catalyst 4.6 and got scored 3dmark 2001 se just 10050!!!! why?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2004, 03:51 PM
Cerium's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 180

you shure it was 2001? ALso yopu my have to ajust the catalist defaults. From what i have seen they have a lot to ajust and they may be limiting you.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2004, 04:20 PM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

I have to ask. Is that the 128 bit memory bandwidth version or the 256 bit version? Notice I said bit and not MB. If it is the 128 bit version then it really isn't a 9800Pro. It is closer to a 9800se. If it is the 128bit version you should take it back or contact Powercolor (I heard a rumor that if you contact them they will let you send the card to them along with another $30 and they will send you a real 9800Pro.) If it is the 256 bit version then read on.

Your CPU RAM and Chipset are your bottle neck.

That CPU only runs at 1.466GHz. I am not sure about the features of the KT400 chipset. Does it have an AGP/PCI lock or 5x or 6x divider? If so you are going to want to overclock your CPU to get much better results.

Also what OS are you running? If it is win98se the 256MB of RAM is suficiant, 512mb would be optimal. If you are running WinXP you seriously need to upgrade the amount of RAM you have to atleast 512mb.WinXP sucks up a lot of RAM and doesn't leave much left for the rest of the system.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2004, 11:27 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

Hes using Windows XP, and with 256MB RAM, Like Staz said i would serously concider upping the RAM to at least 512MB, also the graphics card needs to be the 256 "bit" memory bandwidth to give the sort of performace you were hoping for from your 9800pro. sorry if this is a total repeat of what anyone else has said.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2004, 10:26 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Make sure the defaults are set to performance, AA is off.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2004, 03:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Posts: 2

i am gonna make it again ...my 3d2003 is 5008..my specs:

CPU:
AMD Athlon XP 1800+ @ 1.5 Ghz [133x12.5]
OS:
Windows XP Pro SP1
Mobo:
Asus A7V8X-MXL
RAM:
256 Elixir PC3200
Video:
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro @ 380/340
Storage:
80 GB WD Caviar 7200 8M cache
Audio:
onboard AC97

I am gonnan oc to 400/350..and give result tomorrow..
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2004, 04:26 PM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

Quote:
Originally Posted by tuffguy

CPU:
AMD Athlon XP 1800+ @ 1.5 Ghz [133x12.5]
OS:
Windows XP Pro SP1
Mobo:
Asus A7V8X-MXL
RAM:
256 Elixir PC3200
Video:
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro @ 380/340
Well you don't have to worry about 128 bit or 256 bit. That is definately a 256 bit card.

If I remember correctly an Atholn XP 1800+ runs at 133x11.5. If you are running it at 133x12.5 you must have multiplier control. Try dropping you multiplier to 10 and set the FSB at 166. check page 1-14 of your manual.

Also you will need to upgrade the RAM at some point to get the most out of your system.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd March, 2005, 12:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Posts: 5

I have a 9800 Pro 256 with silent cool @ 432/344 and 2.8 Prescott
at 3.1 OC 1:1, 215FSB on Corsair 256X2 TwinX PC 3700 Cooled
my mark 3 is 6585 on XP SP1 (copy). GAT turbo on IC7 G.
MY AGP chip is a 350.

I wish I had your problem 10050, but cannot understand how you got there or what else can I do to achieve your "problem".
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Some Urgent Amd Help madcatmk3 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 10 22nd November, 2006 04:53 AM
MY score OGG_Dang Benchmarking 14 12th April, 2004 10:56 PM
New Score...:) nucl3arboNg Benchmarking 4 6th April, 2003 01:35 AM
Urgent Help slime101 EPoX MotherBoards 16 3rd March, 2002 10:35 PM
Wu no# and score? Daniel ~ ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 22 23rd October, 2001 03:20 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:45 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0