AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 04:10 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

new catalyst drivers

there is a new flava of driver @ ati now.....temporal anti-aliasing...
release 2 days ago... personally i think it's crap.... details have been changed drastically... and if you have 3dmark03, check out the girls arms in test 3.... the cpu test looks better! (this may also just be due to the caqrd that i have...ASUS always releases thier own drivers for their card as their design as far away from the reference..no other XT has vivo).

let me know what ya all think!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 04:17 PM
karbon86's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 195

i don't use the ATI.com drivers anymore i'll just wait till the Omega drivers come out and are all cleaned up with his goodies
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 04:19 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

last version of omega drivers did not perform as well as the stock ati's fo me... not reference card though.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 04:22 PM
karbon86's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 195

i'm on a 9800pro 128mb 256 bit and i tested and got about a 150 pt increase with the omega and then i overclocked it to 452/385 and i'm at like 6900+ in 3dmark03 but haven't broken 7k without artifacts.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 04:42 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

i found that my 128's mem won't go higher than yours.,...even though the mem is rated 4 400 mhz..i think i has to be cas 2.5 to make 400 and all the current biuoses thati have been able to find are set to a CAS of 2.
don't have a vpu that will top 420...so you got a golden one if that is stock. do you know what the vpu voltage is?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 04:46 PM
karbon86's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 195

yeah i'm running at 1.8v on my MSI K8TNEO. i can run my mem at 400 but then i can only get my gpu at 420 before it artifacts so i turn the mem down a bit and ramp up the gpu artifact free at 450
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 04:47 PM
karbon86's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 195

i also put artic silver 5 on the HSF and OCZ ramsinks on the ram and have a side pannel fan blowing right on the card
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 05:10 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

i have the side panel fan too.. but the heatsink on these asus cards is HUGE...big copper plate, alum sinkd, and a heatpipe on the vpu side between the 2 alum heatsinks. i've got 1.72v....so i gotta v-mod before i can get higher.(stock xt!)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 05:13 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

that';s another thing that baffles me...with the extra power connector, why is it that we still ahve issues when clocking ram and vpu to the max? the only reason for having to lower one to get the other higher is because the card can't get more voltage.. i'm pretty sure that should you cool that puppy better and give it 1.9v you'd get to 525 or so....but you'd only notice a performance difference of about 1-5 fps...until you up resolution and AF/AA
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 05:45 PM
karbon86's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 195

yeah i'm thinking about getting a new card but i'm gonna wait till after hl2 comes out to see if the x800 pro will be enough and then overclock that with maybee some watercooling? who knows
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 06:21 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

i've seen both a x800pro and XT in action.... wait for the XT with 16 pipes. gets over 10000 in 3dmark03
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 06:28 PM
karbon86's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 195

yeah i guess i'll just wait cuz my card holds it down in far cry and it should be ok for hl2 until the x800XT is out
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 08:05 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Which of the ATI drivers do you guys use for image quality rather than performance?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 09:19 PM
karbon86's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 195

personally i don't really sit in fron of my monitor looking for differences in the picture. i'm looking for that flash of light from the sniper scope so i can come from behind and knife them (Far Cry). But anyways idk i can't tell a difference. I use the omega drivewrs because with my card they perform best and have all the tools i need like radlinker/atitool etc. so it makes it easy.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 09:33 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

temporal aa has been in the previous few drivers if you knew where to look for it ;-) as for the 3dmark bug that was in the release notes for it.
I've got the asus 9800xt too, vivo on it is rather good, shame ati's prog doesnt work as asus's is as buggy as 'eck. I'm using dscaler atm though which is neat

K
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 14th July, 2004, 06:40 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

i prefer the 801 asus driver for my card...but i always install the enhanced and don't delete it first. this get my asus 9800 pro 5735 in 3dmark03...and i don't change the settings from the driver install. Far Cry is buggy @ best....even though all the updates and patches deal with one or another, i always have issues lately.
the omega drivers don't all work well with the asus card when you enable anti-aliasing or antistropic filtering..it seems as though he forgets every second driver to remember the asus cards.
the biggest problem that i have found with the newest and my card is OGL performance took a dip..about 9-12 fps in counterstrike and quake.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD releases ATI Catalyst 7.1 drivers danrok Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 30th January, 2007 07:51 PM
New Catalyst Drivers. NarkotikBuzz Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 5 10th December, 2005 05:45 PM
New Catalyst drivers available (4.4) Pitch Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 10th April, 2004 01:17 AM
ati 3.8 catalyst drivers out!!!!!!!!! daktari Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 9th October, 2003 10:05 PM
new catalyst drivers Dr_Romulus Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 5th April, 2003 06:50 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:18 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0