AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2002, 10:49 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Equivalent of ACS-33's?

Altec-Lansing AC-33's are now hard to find. Is there another 3 pc speaker setup that's about the same? In price and quality? Thanks!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2002, 05:44 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Bump.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2002, 09:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 137

Not that I can think of off hand. I'd like to sell my ADA880. Got an offer for $20 once.....wasn't quite worth it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2002, 12:25 AM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

The line manfactured by Creative Labs (Cambridge SoundWorks) are as good or better. I have the Cambridge Soundworks on my system, the wife has the Altec Lansing on hers, I think my system sounds better.. But I am using the Santa Cruz sound card and she is using the SB Live. (might be some difference)
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2002, 03:32 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Labtec 3 piece kicks some ass, found mine at best buy for $50 not too long ago...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2002, 04:28 AM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Yea, I think any of the good brands will be great, as long as it has a powered bass to set on the floor. I like the Cambridge Soundworks because it has a volume control that sits on the top of the desk. The wire is about 4' long and can control volume as to play games with good sound and not bother anyone.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2002, 10:55 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Thank you all for your suggestions! The decision was taken out of my hands yesterday, and I'm glad it was. The VA just bumped the amount of co-pay for prescriptions up by 350%. Far be it from me to whine about this. Narf! This really messes up my component acquisition roadmap. My neighbor handed me a brand new box of Labtec speakers yesterday. What a sweetheart! Yes, they're not the $300, umm $40 speakers I'd like, but they're 350% better than no speakers at all!

Pinky, I think your term "Tualeron" is better than the "Tualacelly" that I've been trying to get to "catch." Well, done!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2002, 12:28 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by cloasters
Pinky, I think your term "Tualeron" is better than the "Tualacelly" that I've been trying to get to "catch." Well, done!
Well, I think I borrowed it from someone myself
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The desktop equivalent of Barcelona, codenamed Agena, LEAKED! Daniel ~ AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 26th January, 2007 04:52 PM
Chinese-made CPU chip equivalent to Pentium III cadaveca General Hardware Discussion 5 1st May, 2005 08:18 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:00 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0