AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 12th September, 2004, 11:55 AM

Artic Vga Silencer Rev. 3

I have just removed my vga silencer from my 9800 pro card in my sig system, so I could remove the shim beneath the cooler. On refitting the card I noticed that the fan appears to spinning in the opposite direction to what I would have expected when looking at the fan blades. I'm an aircraft engineer so I know a little about which way a blade is supposed to spin to create the maximum airflow. So the blades on my silencer are curved to the right, so I would expect the fan to rotate clockwise. I've tried switching the wires but it doesn't work at all if I try that. I had to mod the attachment in the first place as it only had 2 pins and my card had 3.
Has anyone had this prob? Or has anyone got any ideas as how to sort it?
8GB G-Skill Ripjaw X 1600
60GB OCZ Agility 3
1TB Seagate barracuda 7200
MSI 670 GTX OC
Corsair HX620
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 12th September, 2004, 04:30 PM
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion

Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

So you're saying the fan is spinning backwards? Wow. I've not seen that happen with these type of fan motors. (See it all the time on AC motors with a capacitor start winding).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 12th September, 2004, 05:16 PM