AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2004, 03:37 AM
nki69c's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Where all the vegietables grow in California
Posts: 136

Video Capture

I want to record HDTV onto my computer and then possibly burn it to DVD. I don't really know how to go about doing this as the only options that I have seen are buying one of the HDTV cards like ATI's but that only allows you to capture HD that is broadcast over the air. I want to capture HDTV off of the satelite feed that i am getting. Is this possible by simply getting an ATI AIW and hooking things together or do I need to do more? Thx
__________________
2600+Mobile@12x200, NF7-S v.2, 2x256MB PC3200, Sapphire 9800XT
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2004, 09:45 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I'm not well up on HDTV in the US, but my understanding is...

The ATI HDTV card can only handle terrestrial broadcast of digital signals. If you want to use it to capture signals from another source, then you're back down to standard TV resolution.

To receive HDTV from satellite, you'll need a satellite card. Most digital satellite broadcasts are done in MPEG2, which could be directly captured retaining the quality. However, things like access control may make things more complex. I don't know how this is handled in the US I'm afraid.

Also, be aware that the bitrates for HDTV are pretty darn high, and you'll be limited to how much you can fit on a DVD, especially if it's a single layer DVD. For European HDTV, you need approximately 10GByte of storage per hour of HDTV.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2004, 07:35 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

5380 kbs looks ok...
try window media encoder for the capture.
i do not have HDTV myself, but recording from any live source has not been difficult.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2004, 08:13 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

That's good, but you have to be able to get HDTV into the system first. I'm not aware of any capture cards that can handle anything but standard resolution TV!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2004, 08:19 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

get a proper video editing board, and it'll go to the pc via ethernet, with software, of course.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2004, 09:33 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Can you recommend any that can handle HDTV?
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2004, 09:37 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

i know that the stuff i have will do it, but i have to go check. It's either a sony or panasonic that records to HD cassettes. Got the HD cameras as well. Just went through a big move of the studio, so it's still boxed, but i'll snap some pics and post 'em in the next few days.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Capture Card CooledByWater Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 13th August, 2003 09:00 AM
Help ID'ing and driver-ing video capture card! megabyte405 General Hardware Discussion 4 7th April, 2003 09:48 AM
Video Capture Programs CaesaR General Hardware Discussion 13 3rd April, 2003 06:52 PM
New video capture problem mrpcman Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 28th March, 2002 10:42 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0