AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2004, 02:35 PM
gsi31099's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Location: South Africa
Posts: 37

Gainward 6800GT - Low Auquamark Scores

Lo there...

My friend bought himself a 6800GT ...

He is running a Gigabyte KT600 mobo,
1024mb ddr400
2400+ Sempron CPU

After trying various drivers, he is still only managing to get low 50,000 scores on Aquamark3!!!

Any ideas why?
__________________
Koolance PC2-650-BU for CPU
Antec True550 P/Supply
DFI NF4 SLI-DR
AMD64 3200+ @ 2280mHz(228x10)
1.0G Ram(Kingston DDR400)
36GB WD Raptor 10,000rpm
ASUS 6600GT's SLi'ed (588/1098)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2004, 04:48 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I've heard some stories about a few peoples supposedly 6800GT with only 128mb of ram only having 8-12 pixelpipes open, checkout rivatuner in the file section it will tell you how many are unlocked
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2004, 11:15 AM
gsi31099's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Location: South Africa
Posts: 37

He has a Gainward 6800GT 256mb (400/1100-stock), 16 pipelines!!!

He get's just over 10,000 3DMark03 marks... Which looks about right... but Aquamark3 scores are just over 50,000! My FX5900XT gets just under 49,000!!! He should be doing much better that me?!?!
__________________
Koolance PC2-650-BU for CPU
Antec True550 P/Supply
DFI NF4 SLI-DR
AMD64 3200+ @ 2280mHz(228x10)
1.0G Ram(Kingston DDR400)
36GB WD Raptor 10,000rpm
ASUS 6600GT's SLi'ed (588/1098)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2004, 05:21 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

even with a sempron i would expect better than that, does he have vsync turned on perhaps?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2004, 11:16 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Sounds familiar. A mate of mine with a spanking new Gigabyte 6800GT gets 54K Aquamarks, about 10.5K in 3D 03 and 17.5K in 3D 01. All this is with a A64 3000 and 1Gb RAM!

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2004, 08:46 AM
gsi31099's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Location: South Africa
Posts: 37

Nope... VSYNC is definately off...

Same thing happens as with Lazgoat's friend!!! Only Aquamark3 scores low points! The rest is fine?!?

I've tried everything!!! Drivers, Settings, blah blah blah!!!
__________________
Koolance PC2-650-BU for CPU
Antec True550 P/Supply
DFI NF4 SLI-DR
AMD64 3200+ @ 2280mHz(228x10)
1.0G Ram(Kingston DDR400)
36GB WD Raptor 10,000rpm
ASUS 6600GT's SLi'ed (588/1098)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2004, 04:24 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

In Aquamark the Sempron 2400 is draging the score down I think.
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2004, 09:31 PM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

sempron is prolly it...check for fastwrites on in bios...shadow the bios if possible(maybe caching? I've had 2 boards that worked opposite caching on/off were both better). Make sure its set on 8x and the aperature size was right. You said settings were checked, but I'd double check AA/AF and optimizations...vsynch...etc. That sounds like a score I'd get with Vsync on...
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2004, 09:39 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

If it scores well in 3D Mark, then the card must be set-up fine.

Look at CPU and RAM settings.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2004, 11:03 PM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

Oh, check power, I got low marks without low power warnings when mine was unplugged. :-/ its a long shot but its possible.
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2004, 02:22 PM
sasrob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: BRISTOL UK
Posts: 445

I HAVE GOT A 3200XP WITH THE GEFORCE 6800 GT MY OVERALL SCORE IS 49.509

3200xp(400fsb) SCORE IS 7.135

geforce 6800GT SCORE IS 7.581

I LOVE THIS CARD I ONLY JUST GOT IT. PLAYS ALL MY GAMES VERY FAST!!!!!!!!!
__________________


sabertooth 990FX
amd FX8350 @4.2ghz
16GB 1600mhz hyperX ram
AMD HD7970 3GB asus DCPC graphics
hyperX 120GB SSD
WD 320GB hard drive
1TB,500GB working over usb3
corsair HX850 psu
aerocool cyclone black case
window 8.1
asus monitor 24" 1920x1200 res.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2004, 07:11 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

7581 with a 6800gt?

Something seems horridly wrong there.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2004, 07:20 PM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

You ARE running up to date video card drivers aren't you? You have 8x AGP enabled? Fastwrites? Sideband addressing? AGP arpreture is set right? Caching/shadowing the bios help any?
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2004, 07:27 PM
sasrob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: BRISTOL UK
Posts: 445

whats wrong with it then!!!!

i have all so got a intel set up as follows

qtec 450w
intel p4 3.2
ga-81848p(-g) intel 848p chipset
1024 ddr400
fx 5950 (old card)
160gig sata
dvd rw + cd rom

the score for this is 44.127 over all

intel 3.2gig score 8.747

fx5950 score is 5.901

all this was done with just the standed auquamark3 i did not buy it i could only do the 1 test!! i am thinking of saleing this system so if any 1 wants a pc call me!!!!!
__________________


sabertooth 990FX
amd FX8350 @4.2ghz
16GB 1600mhz hyperX ram
AMD HD7970 3GB asus DCPC graphics
hyperX 120GB SSD
WD 320GB hard drive
1TB,500GB working over usb3
corsair HX850 psu
aerocool cyclone black case
window 8.1
asus monitor 24" 1920x1200 res.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2004, 07:31 PM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

lol dont be so hasty there has to be something not proper goin on, its not reason to sell it! unless you're going to upgrade hrmmm
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2004, 07:41 PM
sasrob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: BRISTOL UK
Posts: 445

yes the drivers come from nvidia web site directX 9.0c all the bios is set the 8 times agp what should be the score for a 6800gt then?
__________________


sabertooth 990FX
amd FX8350 @4.2ghz
16GB 1600mhz hyperX ram
AMD HD7970 3GB asus DCPC graphics
hyperX 120GB SSD
WD 320GB hard drive
1TB,500GB working over usb3
corsair HX850 psu
aerocool cyclone black case
window 8.1
asus monitor 24" 1920x1200 res.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2004, 09:26 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

My x800 nearly gets over 12000 in Aquamark, I don't see why it's so low.

You should be in the 10-11k region.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2004, 06:27 AM
Chernobyl's Avatar
Projector Wizard
 
Join Date: November 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 594

Hi gsi31099
My Aquamark score is 55,000. Your score seems correct.
This may be useful anyway:

Should you want to see if your card is being throttled back while running, use Rivatuner. Under the lower level settings (press the first little square box for customise, u need to run it to see), there is a Hardware Monitoring button.
This shows a realtime graph of clock speeds for ram, memory and maybe a few more.
Using this you can tell if the GPU clock speed drops at any time (amongst other things).

Have fun!

Please note: The Core VID Non Dimensional graph is just that, non dimensional. It does not show the actual voltage. It shows which value of a lookup table is used to give the GPU volts. ie a VID of 3.0 might be set to 1.3V.
You cannot tell what voltage is applied to your GPU from this graph unless you know what values each level represents.
The lookup table is part of the cards BIOS.
__________________
2.9m DIY home made LCD PC projector !
Venice 3000+ (1.8GHz) @ 2.7GHz, 1.4V
Stock air cooler
X1800XT clocked to PE
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2004, 12:05 PM
gsi31099's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Location: South Africa
Posts: 37

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitch
My x800 nearly gets over 12000 in Aquamark, I don't see why it's so low.

You should be in the 10-11k region.
Aquamark3? or
3DMark03?

Aquamark3 12000 = Ouch!
3DMark03 12000 = Schweet!
__________________
Koolance PC2-650-BU for CPU
Antec True550 P/Supply
DFI NF4 SLI-DR
AMD64 3200+ @ 2280mHz(228x10)
1.0G Ram(Kingston DDR400)
36GB WD Raptor 10,000rpm
ASUS 6600GT's SLi'ed (588/1098)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2004, 06:16 PM
woodeirl's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 316

sounds like the processor buddy or your AGP ide drivers for the motherboard, there a couple of months ago i bought a Gainward Golden Sample ultra 2400 Agp, and i was having the same probs as your friend with the scores but that really didnt matter the major thing that was happing me is the card was dropping FPS in 3d mark 03 on the mother nature scene and the others too. I was told to upgrade my IDE and AGP Brigde drivers and then after that it worked like a dream

another thing that i found out by these cards is that they require alot of processing power from the CPU and if its not fast enough you`ll suffer....

so i changed my CPU to a slower one which was a P4 2.8 HT instead of the 3.2 for a couple of tests i ran the usual bechmark progs and my god did i see a big big difference between the two CPU`s on FPS etc , i also read a article about these new DDR3 420/1200 cards that they do require good Ram and a damn good cpu.


i hope my exp help you a little bit buddy
__________________
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Thermaltake VA8003BWS Armour Super Tower
Belinea 22" Widescreen LCD Monitor
Abit IN9 32X-MAX WiFi nForce 680i
Intel Core 2 DUO E6600 2.4ghz
CellShock 2GB DDR2 PC2-6400C4 800MHz
2 x BFG GeForce 8800 GTX OC 768MB GDDR3 SLi
Western Digital Raptor X 150GB
Western Digital Caviar SE16 320GB 3200KS
Tagan 1.1kw Turbojet Quad SLi
Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Saitek X-52 Pro edition
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Last edited by woodeirl; 17th December, 2004 at 06:24 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gainward 7600GS PCI-e Voltage Mod Gizmo Hardware Hacking 14 19th September, 2006 12:23 PM
Gainward (Any good??) Daston Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 10 10th June, 2005 02:11 PM
Gainward or Gigabyte?? Abdul Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 1st June, 2005 09:50 PM
Gainward GF4 TI4200 Samuknow Online Deals, and Steals 35 5th September, 2002 05:29 PM
Gainward ti 4400 settings Jake6 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 8 19th May, 2002 03:48 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0