AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2004, 05:25 PM
purplemohawkman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Dallas area
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to purplemohawkman Send a message via Yahoo to purplemohawkman

X800pro vivo or not vivo

can any one tell me the difference between the vivo and non vivo x800pro's??? i was reading around and read that there is no way of telling on the box or in the manual. But if the card has the ATI rage theater and the samsung ram thats stamped GC16 that its a vivo card?
__________________
-barton xp3000 @ 2.62ghz (12x218.35) 2.0vcore
-abit NF7-S v2 W/ matched Corsair XMS twinx 2x256mb pc3200LLPT ram
-cooling (Innova X-flow block, Innova dual 120 rad + Thermochill triple 120 rad, Eheim 1048 w/ tankomatic Reservoir)
-160gig WD sata, 80gig WD SE, 60g maxtor,
-x800pro w/ Graph-O-Matic Rev2 H20 block
-logitec z5300 5.1
-Chieftec Matrix full tower w/ Antec True430
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2004, 05:28 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

if it is correct that there is no marking on the box then you would have to go from what the retailer advertises it as, most specify vivo or not.
the card it's self would have the rage theatre chip on the back of it.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias F√ľnke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2004, 05:50 PM
purplemohawkman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Dallas area
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to purplemohawkman Send a message via Yahoo to purplemohawkman

here's a site on how to mod a regular non vivo to xt
http://madshrimps.com/gotofaqlink.php?linkid=2577
__________________
-barton xp3000 @ 2.62ghz (12x218.35) 2.0vcore
-abit NF7-S v2 W/ matched Corsair XMS twinx 2x256mb pc3200LLPT ram
-cooling (Innova X-flow block, Innova dual 120 rad + Thermochill triple 120 rad, Eheim 1048 w/ tankomatic Reservoir)
-160gig WD sata, 80gig WD SE, 60g maxtor,
-x800pro w/ Graph-O-Matic Rev2 H20 block
-logitec z5300 5.1
-Chieftec Matrix full tower w/ Antec True430
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2004, 06:02 PM
purplemohawkman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Dallas area
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to purplemohawkman Send a message via Yahoo to purplemohawkman

looking at that article one of the pics of the used x800pro it doesnt have the rage theater chip or the GC16 ram
__________________
-barton xp3000 @ 2.62ghz (12x218.35) 2.0vcore
-abit NF7-S v2 W/ matched Corsair XMS twinx 2x256mb pc3200LLPT ram
-cooling (Innova X-flow block, Innova dual 120 rad + Thermochill triple 120 rad, Eheim 1048 w/ tankomatic Reservoir)
-160gig WD sata, 80gig WD SE, 60g maxtor,
-x800pro w/ Graph-O-Matic Rev2 H20 block
-logitec z5300 5.1
-Chieftec Matrix full tower w/ Antec True430
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2004, 07:24 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

the non vivo cards will work..some of them. But you have better chances of getting the performance you are looking for in a vivo card, as all XT's are vivo. With that last bit in mind, it seems as though alot of the vivo x800pro's were intended to be XT's or XT pe's, and for some reason or another, they did not make the grade.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2004, 08:10 PM
purplemohawkman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Dallas area
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to purplemohawkman Send a message via Yahoo to purplemohawkman

well it worked, im now officially a x800xt now the question is how do you unlock the 4 extra pipelines? having a different bios doesnt help much sence i've OC'd this card over 580/580 with just the x800pro bios
__________________
-barton xp3000 @ 2.62ghz (12x218.35) 2.0vcore
-abit NF7-S v2 W/ matched Corsair XMS twinx 2x256mb pc3200LLPT ram
-cooling (Innova X-flow block, Innova dual 120 rad + Thermochill triple 120 rad, Eheim 1048 w/ tankomatic Reservoir)
-160gig WD sata, 80gig WD SE, 60g maxtor,
-x800pro w/ Graph-O-Matic Rev2 H20 block
-logitec z5300 5.1
-Chieftec Matrix full tower w/ Antec True430
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2004, 08:20 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

you have to join a trace on the gpu pcb...top right of the cpu you will see a round circle with 4 smaller dots around it...one of the connections between the dots will be laser-cut. join the trace, cross your fingers, and hope the pipes are not damaged. You can expect a bit more heat from the xtra 4 pipes, should they work alright. If they don't remove the connection on the laser-cut trace to restore original functionality.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2004, 12:00 AM
purplemohawkman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Dallas area
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to purplemohawkman Send a message via Yahoo to purplemohawkman

my card was a vivo this whole time but on some are not lazer cut so i didnt have to try the old athlon style unlocking trick, but to unlock your pipes i used a moded verson of FLASHROM and the latest x800xtpe and it did the trick all of which can be found here http://www.techpowerup.com/bios/
__________________
-barton xp3000 @ 2.62ghz (12x218.35) 2.0vcore
-abit NF7-S v2 W/ matched Corsair XMS twinx 2x256mb pc3200LLPT ram
-cooling (Innova X-flow block, Innova dual 120 rad + Thermochill triple 120 rad, Eheim 1048 w/ tankomatic Reservoir)
-160gig WD sata, 80gig WD SE, 60g maxtor,
-x800pro w/ Graph-O-Matic Rev2 H20 block
-logitec z5300 5.1
-Chieftec Matrix full tower w/ Antec True430
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2004, 12:23 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Job done. Good work.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
X800 Vivo Question bradmax57 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 7 6th January, 2005 05:29 PM
Fullscreen PC2TV problem for X800Pro VIVO Hursty Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 10th December, 2004 02:39 PM
MSI ti4800se vivo help! saguru CRASHED! 0 6th November, 2004 11:09 PM
How to use VIVO?! scooby420 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 32 23rd April, 2004 06:50 AM
Query About VIVO Lardmaster Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 8 22nd October, 2002 09:59 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0