AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th December, 2004, 05:41 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

Drivers?

What is the best driver to use with a fx5900se for OCing and playing DC(desert combat)? i have tryed 53.03, 61.77, and 66.93. all of these w/wo ocing in DC i either get mem dumps or the game just shutsdown all these drivers except for 53.03 work fine in Call of Duty, y wouldnt they work in DC?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19th December, 2004, 06:22 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

May wanna try rolling back your OC just a tad and see if it works better then. I think DC is a little bit harder on the video card then MOH. but I could be wrong.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19th December, 2004, 06:33 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

i have tryed 53.03, 61.77, and 66.93, and all of these w/wo ocing in DC and i still get the same prob. plus my card never gets above 50c no matter how hard i push it thx to the nv silencer 3 and ive reinstalled BF1942 and DC 3 times whiping the registry each time
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th December, 2004, 02:18 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

how does the game crash? does it go to a blank blue screen?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th December, 2004, 05:07 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

sometimes it will go to a blue screen but the screen has a whole bunch of writing on it and other times it just exits to the desktop.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th December, 2004, 06:44 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Have you tried updating your sound drivers?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th December, 2004, 10:27 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

ya. k now i can get to the menu just fine but the white letters are, a faded grayish white and can barely b read and the bottom right corner is extened past what the monitor can show.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 20th December, 2004, 02:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Posts: 22

Try the beta 71.20. Those are the only ones that will allow me to OC and complete 3dm03/05.
__________________
A64 3200+@2.7ghz
MSI K8N Neo2 Plat
2x512 OCZ Plat Rev2 PC3200
eVga 6800 Ultra Extreme(BIOSflashed)
3dmark03-13,955 3dmark05-5880
2x160gb Seagate SATA II
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 20th December, 2004, 03:18 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

k, i will try them. also, is 7953 low for my system specs in 3dm01 SE??
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 20th December, 2004, 06:31 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

it seems like all the EA Games i have dont like either my Vid Card or something else on my comp. B/c in nfsu2 also the bottom right corner is extened past what the monitor can show along with the bottom and right edges of the screen what the heck is going on?!?!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 20th December, 2004, 10:58 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I doubt it is to do with them being EA games as they have completely differant developers.
I used to get problems with bf1942 with blue screens usually after finishing a game when it displays the results it would go to a blank blue screen.
I tried everything to fix it, new vid drivers, underclocking and all the patches for the game, then by chance i updated my sound drivers and the problem went.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 20th December, 2004, 11:19 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

mmmm........... what mobo r u using?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2004, 12:20 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

it's an msi k8t800 s754, the onbaord sound is a realtek 655 chip
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2004, 06:14 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

u have a 64bit, thats prob why, im still in the 32-bit age
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2004, 02:07 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

wonderbread do you have a 3dmark2001SE compare link for that 7000ish score.

you should be in the 14000+ with that setup so you have a very serious problem somewhere

*edit*

the drivers that will give an FX series card the best performance are 5x.xx or 61.77 drivers as the 61.77s are the last drivers to be optimised for that series of card. go to the futuremark ORB and select 5900XT (close enough to an SE) if you search under 2001, you will see that 44.03s give the best performance possible for DX8 on your card while the 61.77s seam to give the highest scores for 3dmark 2003 (DX9)
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles

Last edited by dsio; 21st December, 2004 at 02:24 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2004, 07:17 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

do you think it could b my RAM? its pc2700 valueRAM form kingston another thing it could b is my psu b/c the 12v rail is never at 12.0 its always under at like 11.7-11.166

and yes i do have 3dmark01se and 03
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2004, 09:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: uranus
Posts: 54
Send a message via ICQ to ELRocco Send a message via AIM to ELRocco Send a message via MSN to ELRocco Send a message via Yahoo to ELRocco

im a little late but if you havent fixe the game extending past the monitor then you should adjust the monitor h-size and v-size
__________________
intel p4 2ghz@2.00ghz
intel d845ebg2 mobo
ati radion 7500 aiw
tobitsi dvd-rom, cyberhome dvd-rw dl 16x16x4
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2004, 09:13 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

idk what the heck is going on. tried adjusting the monitor. ill just ignore it as for the 3dmark scores whats going on there? my max for it is 7953
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2004, 11:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: uranus
Posts: 54
Send a message via ICQ to ELRocco Send a message via AIM to ELRocco Send a message via MSN to ELRocco Send a message via Yahoo to ELRocco

in the game settings adjust resolution
__________________
intel p4 2ghz@2.00ghz
intel d845ebg2 mobo
ati radion 7500 aiw
tobitsi dvd-rom, cyberhome dvd-rw dl 16x16x4

Last edited by ELRocco; 21st December, 2004 at 11:42 PM. Reason: typo
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 22nd December, 2004, 01:07 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

did, still the same thing
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
81.87 v2 drivers out now NarkotikBuzz Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 6 2nd November, 2005 07:12 AM
81.84 v2 drivers out now. NarkotikBuzz Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 27 20th October, 2005 05:40 PM
Conflict between Via AGP drivers, and Cat 3.1 drivers? Liquid3D Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 17th March, 2003 03:18 PM
For those new ATI drivers nullCRC Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 3rd February, 2002 05:30 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0