AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2005, 04:24 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Power DVD5 issue

I thought it was my DVD burner... but it turns out whenever I play DVDs on my PC, I get occassional little horizontal lines appearing on my screen for a second or two. It stays in place, and varies in number an location. I thought I was getting bad burns but it turns out it is my video card.

In Power DVD, I noticed when I enable HW decoding, the CPU usage drops to 1-2%. When I turn it off, the CPU usage goes up to 9-11%. WHen the CPU is doing the work, no artifacts... When the GPU is doing the work, the artifacts appear.

I'm running a 9600np non overclocked. Any advice?
Is there a particular setting in the video driver that needs to be enabled for DVD decoding to take place properly?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2005, 04:38 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

there aren't any settings in the ati control panel for this
perhaps updating to the lates dvd decoder from the ati website, but i think you will need the cd that came with the card as it doesn't just let you download it
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2005, 05:38 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

what you are seeing is the pauses between buffer loads. I get the same thing playing a dvd on my x800xtpe...and it's damn annoying. Not too much to do about it, except to not use hardware encoding, but i don't even know how to do that. My experience in trying to get a decent htpc going has been kinda frustrating...i ended up going and buying another dvd player.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2005, 05:47 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I don't get that on either my all in wonder 9800 or my igp 9100 systems, are you using the ati decoder and how recent a version do you have?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2005, 05:56 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Power DVD 5. I sometimes get decent performance using the included asusdvdxp, but anime dvd's cause issues. It could be a codec issue...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2005, 06:31 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

the ati one is quite good, something i noticed when i downloaded the newest one was what looked like a lossy compression artifact remover filter being used, it could have been the dvd but I'm pretty sure it was the codec (If you've ever used the jpeg artifact remover in psp you'll know what i mean)
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cooler Master Real Power Pro 850 issue fixed? aztec61 General Hardware Discussion 6 9th June, 2007 03:30 AM
Power Supply Issue..what do you think? Medic6666 General Hardware Discussion 11 21st December, 2003 01:11 PM
8RDA+ power off issue Yitch EPoX MotherBoards 6 7th April, 2003 03:00 PM
Poor man's solution - Adding power to your Power Supply! stigweed AOA FAQ 0 24th November, 2002 09:17 PM
Help Thundr7 with his power supply issue Pinky General Hardware Discussion 19 20th June, 2002 09:07 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:48 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0