AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2005, 01:14 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by dolanenwindrift
Ok clearly I am missing something here... you are getting SLI boards either from a distributor or directly from the board manufacturer, right? If that's the case, nVidia can't make you pay any additional 'tax' to them for using a consumer available product, at least not here in the US. You may pay a higher price up front for the motherboard, but that should be passed directly to the consumer.
You cannot legally sell something if you are not a liscensed ditributor. If you sell something using the SLi branding, you gotta pay. It's about the advertising on the product, not the product itself. Sure, I can stock it on my shelves...and sell it, but if anything in my marketing, flyers, or website says SLi, i gotta pay. If i don't they'll take me to court.

it's this bit that has all the weight:

Quote:
In return, the licensees get to use the Nvidia SLI logo, provided they obey the guidelines. Further, [b]integrators have to give Nvidia a system configuration list and a sample PC so that other parts of the PCs are certified partners[b].
Alienware sells SLi systems. We all know that, and they have paid through the tooth to do so. I'm just waiting for all the ebay auctions with SLi in them to get pulled.
I, on the otherhand, cannot, until i send them a system, have it okay'ed, and then have to pay within 30 days of the sale. Think of it like the "Centrino" branding...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2005, 01:15 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

i really dont know... the technology isnt really that bad, its the transperancey that is the problem.

with the voodoo 2: you two, sit there, shut up, make my computer twice as fast, and leave me alone.

with GF6 SLI: you two sit there and do nothing until i get driver support, then use whichever method suits you at the time to improve my framerates a bit if tis not too much trouble, only do this if nvidia knows that i play game "XXXXX" and know how it should be properly rendered, else i could make a profile myself that may or may not work.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2005, 04:28 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

Ok I get it Cad. I thought I was just missing the boat there hehe.
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2005, 08:41 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

It's a sore point for me. The technology only works with a few titles out there, and that in itself is prohibitive, but i cater to the high-end user, and SLi is what the high-end user wants, if they have the cash for it. So what do i do? I give Nvidia thier money, so i can make mine. It's 21st century blackmail...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2005, 08:42 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

The 3D1 card has started shipping in the UK - just trying to track down someone who may have one on the net. Keen to see what the story is.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2005, 08:44 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
It's a sore point for me. The technology only works with a few titles out there, and that in itself is prohibitive, but i cater to the high-end user, and SLi is what the high-end user wants, if they have the cash for it. So what do i do? I give Nvidia thier money, so i can make mine. It's 21st century blackmail...
For some, if it supports the game they play 90% of the time, they will be happy.

Is further support likely to improve as drivers and games are patched?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2005, 08:48 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Of course, and we are looking at about 4-5 titles added every month, but there are alot of my favorite games out there that cannot possibly support it...at least not with the real performance benefits that you should get using 2 GPU's.


If my memory had not come available (for $565 CAD, and yes i already ordered and paid that foolish amt), I'd be ordering a kit myself.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My future mobo - Gigabyte P35-DQ6 trodas Intel Motherboards & CPUs 12 25th June, 2007 12:46 AM
Single core to dual core upgrade problem. Daston AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 19th September, 2006 12:18 AM
dual core or dual xeon? acgraham Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 16th September, 2005 12:37 PM
Need info on a Gigabyte mobo... glObalist Intel Motherboards & CPUs 1 8th November, 2004 10:38 PM
Anyone mess with a Gigabyte GA-7VRXP mobo yet.. Nate-X AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 17th May, 2002 06:49 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0