AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2005, 12:09 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

MSI MX-4000 w 128 Mb of RAM?

Is this an absolutely miserable Vidcard? Was trading a GF3 Ti200 w 64 Mb of RAM for it stoopid?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2005, 03:46 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I think it may well have been
I couldn't find any info on it but it sounds like a GF4mx which is basically a Geforce2 chip, so no pixel/vertex shaders
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2005, 07:24 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Oh. Goody. Argh, too smart for my own good, again.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th March, 2005, 07:51 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I got the GF3 Ti200 Vidcard back, nyuk nyuk. The 128 Mb of RAM on the MX-4000 doesn't mean what I thought it did.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th March, 2005, 01:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Location: U.A.E
Posts: 268

There wa a Ti4000 I think which would have been what you wanted. I remember reading about it being released but have no idea if it was released or if Ti4000 was just the old prototype name for the FX series.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ApeTheDog
I'd like a hardware card than can transform random amounts of ****ty plot and dialogue into brilliant stories of planescape: torment proportions. That would truly make games better.
PC Specs:
It's Black. What more do you need to know?
3DMARK05 SCORE: 6038
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th March, 2005, 04:25 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

Glad you got your GF3 back - tho slow by today's standards, I already miss my TI200 that finally died.
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2005, 02:46 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by dolanenwindrift
Glad you got your GF3 back - tho slow by today's standards, I already miss my TI200 that finally died.

Thanks, dolanenwindrift! It replaced the 32 Mb GF2 GTS in my B box. The LCD looks better, text isn't as bad as it was.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2005, 03:22 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

and to think the lowest card i have is a 9800pro. Guess you can tell what my priorities are!

on a side note, CS:S and HL2 play not too bad on a 64mb mx4000
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2005, 12:06 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Yeah I suppose valve deserve some credit for doing their research into the level of card most people own and making a scalable engine thats incredible on high end gear but playable on low.
But steam!?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2005, 04:04 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

I will have to agree that Valve did a nice job in supporting older video cards. Tho I suspect in reality since they worked on the game for nearly 5 years, the truth is that they simply added support for NEWER video cards before the release. And Steam is why I won't purchase HL2 (at least until it hits the bargain bin!). So I guess we can expect HL3 sometime in 2009.......
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2005, 04:09 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

The fully fledged geforce 4 series was graded by speed at the ti4200, ti4400 and ti4600. later speed bumps brought along the ti4800 as well. the mx series allways was a budget gimmick and i'm glad they've kinda seperated them out now with different main names ie, geforce 6200, 6600 and 6800 for different core chip types, then used, gt / ultra etc for speed grading
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2005, 04:13 PM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

some MX4000 are 128mbDDR 128bit, these are probably the best gaming card you will find for $40, granted another 20 bucks will get you much more, but....

well, you may be able to get a 5200 for $40 now days so I may be full of $#!%
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2005, 04:51 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Maybe $50, and the GF4MZ is actually faster in some things than a 5200.
The GF2MX was a good card for it's day, a slightly stripped down GF2 with either SDR or 64bit memory, but today is long past it's day.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Athlon 64 4000+ 939 OEM - £105.69 Inc VAT skool h8r Online Deals, and Steals 21 22nd July, 2006 11:16 AM
oc'ing my 4000+ madcatmk3 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 21 9th January, 2006 01:42 AM
AMD 4000+ core up madcatmk3 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 12th December, 2005 10:35 PM
Hey Darkest 4000 dod ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 2 5th May, 2003 06:35 PM
4000 Members Staz Random Nonsense! 21 22nd February, 2003 03:13 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0