AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th May, 2005, 03:08 PM
Kobaia's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Porto, Portugal
Posts: 99

asus GF3 deluxe vs. msi GF3 ti200

I have an asus GF3 deluxe on my kid's duron1.8@2225-Soltek NF2 and it reaches 230 core/520 mem.

Now a friend just gave me an MSI GF3 ti200 which I know reaches at least 220 core/500 mem.

Is there an advantage in the ti200 due to the chip being an updated version og the GF3?

Anyway, I'm impressed that the GF3 can still play all the games at acceptable fps at 800x600...
__________________
my rig: P4 2.4c@3GHz | Asus P4P800 | 1.5 Gb Kingston DDR400 | XFX 6800GS AGP 16p 6vp | audigy2 platinum | 2x seagate 80Gb raid 0 | Asus PM17TU 17" 3ms LCD <- I love it!

wife n' kids' rig: AXP2500+@2.1GHz | Soltek NF2 | 512Mb Geil DDR500 | 9700pro | SB live 5.1 | seagate barracuda 40Gb | Samtron 17" CRT
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th May, 2005, 03:21 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

gf3 deluxe? isnt that a ti500?

http://www.ipkonfig.com/Reviews/Vide...-V8200-Deluxe/
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th May, 2005, 03:58 PM
Kobaia's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Porto, Portugal
Posts: 99

no, it's the original geforce 3, before the ti's were launched
__________________
my rig: P4 2.4c@3GHz | Asus P4P800 | 1.5 Gb Kingston DDR400 | XFX 6800GS AGP 16p 6vp | audigy2 platinum | 2x seagate 80Gb raid 0 | Asus PM17TU 17" 3ms LCD <- I love it!

wife n' kids' rig: AXP2500+@2.1GHz | Soltek NF2 | 512Mb Geil DDR500 | 9700pro | SB live 5.1 | seagate barracuda 40Gb | Samtron 17" CRT
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th May, 2005, 04:38 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

you got a link for the card? I googled "asus gf3 deluxe" and it came up with a gf3ti200 deluxe and a gf3 ti500 deluxe but nowt else I could see, I'd hang on until Dsio is around on the forum he knows his stuff.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th May, 2005, 04:58 PM
Kobaia's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Porto, Portugal
Posts: 99

the asus card is this one

http://www.digit-life.com/articles/g...gpv8200deluxe/

and MSI card is this one

http://www.epigamer.com/article.php?a=53

although the brand is Creative it is built by MSI the pcb says MS-8851
__________________
my rig: P4 2.4c@3GHz | Asus P4P800 | 1.5 Gb Kingston DDR400 | XFX 6800GS AGP 16p 6vp | audigy2 platinum | 2x seagate 80Gb raid 0 | Asus PM17TU 17" 3ms LCD <- I love it!

wife n' kids' rig: AXP2500+@2.1GHz | Soltek NF2 | 512Mb Geil DDR500 | 9700pro | SB live 5.1 | seagate barracuda 40Gb | Samtron 17" CRT
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th May, 2005, 05:42 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

the v8200 deluxe is a ti500
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 6th May, 2005, 05:43 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,1759,950455,00.asp
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 6th May, 2005, 05:51 PM
Kobaia's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Porto, Portugal
Posts: 99

Man, did you check my links? These are exactly the cards I have. My v8200 deluxe is an older version than the one on your link. It has a GeForce3 chip. Neither ti500 nor ti200.
__________________
my rig: P4 2.4c@3GHz | Asus P4P800 | 1.5 Gb Kingston DDR400 | XFX 6800GS AGP 16p 6vp | audigy2 platinum | 2x seagate 80Gb raid 0 | Asus PM17TU 17" 3ms LCD <- I love it!

wife n' kids' rig: AXP2500+@2.1GHz | Soltek NF2 | 512Mb Geil DDR500 | 9700pro | SB live 5.1 | seagate barracuda 40Gb | Samtron 17" CRT
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 6th May, 2005, 05:56 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

i thought the v8200 was a v8200, didnt think there were different generations of the same model, as i said hang aroung for Dsio or Grahamgarside they should know i reckon.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 6th May, 2005, 06:04 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

all i can tell you is that to my knowledge the ti-200 is just a gf3 with lower clocks as standard.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 7th May, 2005, 12:09 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

The GF3 classic is no different to the TI200 or the TI500. They are all the exact same card, only with different clock speeds. The TI series was launched because the original card was priced out of the range of joe average, so they revised the manufacturing process, then picked the fast chips and made them TI500s, and took the slower chips and made them TI200s.

Now one thing that might be different is the cooling. For the most part, the GF3 TIs had really special looking coolers, that were actually quite effective. So, the TI might be able to overclock better because of the better cooling, but it is just as likely that it would do worse. Here are the clock speeds of the three chips, just for your benefit

TI200: 175Mhz core
GF3: 200Mhz core
TI500: 240Mhz core

memory speed varies depending on the manufacturer. As you can see, the GF3 is considerably faster than the TI200 at stock, but yea, the cooling on the TI200 could average it out a bit.

That said, I would stick to the GF3 all day long.


If you want the story behind the TI, what happened was ATI was releasing the 8500, which was meant to be the GF3 killer. And then Nvidia released the TI series of GF2 and 3, which they claimed to be much better. It was actually a trick. What happened was the TI series, despite being technically identical, shipped with the next generation of GF3 driver, which made them alot faster. The thing is, the new driver could be downloaded on an old GF3, and it would be even BETTER than the TI200, and close to the TI500. So it was really just a marketing trick. It worked though, as the 8500 flopped.

So yea, bottom line, the ASUS is much better. ASUS cards are better designed, so the TI cooling wouldnt give it an advantage, and ASUS is just a quality product for video cards. Much better than MSI.

Also, for both of these cards, I must recommend that you go to AOAFiles.com and download the Omega modified 44.03 drivers. They are the fastest drivers for GF3/4 generation cards by far.

Best of luck!
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 7th May, 2005, 09:50 AM
Kobaia's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Porto, Portugal
Posts: 99

Thank you very much with whipped cream and a cherry on top!
__________________
my rig: P4 2.4c@3GHz | Asus P4P800 | 1.5 Gb Kingston DDR400 | XFX 6800GS AGP 16p 6vp | audigy2 platinum | 2x seagate 80Gb raid 0 | Asus PM17TU 17" 3ms LCD <- I love it!

wife n' kids' rig: AXP2500+@2.1GHz | Soltek NF2 | 512Mb Geil DDR500 | 9700pro | SB live 5.1 | seagate barracuda 40Gb | Samtron 17" CRT
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS P5K Deluxe motherboard danrok Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 17th May, 2007 04:40 PM
Asus A8V Deluxe Can't Get It Running Dsherm112 64 Bit computing 10 21st August, 2006 03:21 PM
Asus K8N-SE Deluxe question add3r0l AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 4th April, 2006 12:44 AM
Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe Chipset Fan Razorfish AMD Motherboards & CPUs 8 9th October, 2005 06:18 PM
AMD 64 S939 + ASUS A8V Deluxe Freezerburn 64 Bit computing 8 20th January, 2005 01:50 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:57 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0