AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th May, 2005, 04:54 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

If I got a 6800GT

If I got a 6800GT for my system (in sig) how much would it bottleneck it?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th May, 2005, 05:25 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

considerably.

but it depends on what you use it for.

When I got my 6800GT, i was using a 2400+ @ 2.3Ghz (Tbred B). I scored 16,000 in 3dmark2001, 11,000 in 3dmark03, and 5,800 in 3dmark05.

after the athlon64, im 30,000 in 3dmark2001, 14,000 in 03, and 6,400 in 05.

Doom3 showed little difference, but source is incredibly CPU dependent, and almost doubled in speed. HL2, CSS and all source based games go insane with an A64.

But yea, the athlon XPs can bottleneck it badly, but it is still quite usable depending on the game.

Im not saying CSS was unplayable btw. Im saying it was 1152x864 full effects, 4X AA, 16X AF, 70fps. Which is good lol, but after the A64, it was 100fps constantly. It never drops at all.

Everything will easily be twice as fast as it is now for you, but it just wont reach its full potential.

a 6800GT is insanely fast, even when cpu bottlenecked. ITs just that once its unleashed, its even better!
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th May, 2005, 05:31 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

It's better to be cpu bottlenecked than GPU usually, when people say the cpu is the bottleneck, they are usually talking about when games reach 100+ fps, in most games that cpu will handle over 50fps, a 2.3ghz AthlonXP is still a potent chip

Any one who is cpu limitted isn't using pretty enough settings
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th May, 2005, 06:11 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

im confused, if i get the 6800GT i will be cpu limited or gpu limited?

and would i be better off with a 6600GT?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th May, 2005, 06:23 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

cpu limited. and no, get the 6800GT.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th May, 2005, 06:33 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

so, its really that much more worth it, from all the reviews and forums i've checked out in the past few days shows that the 6600gt is just as good as "most" 6800gt's.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 7th May, 2005, 09:12 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

yes and no. For low resolution, low quality yes. But the 6800GT has so much more power in the high res, anti aliasing department. Also newer games are going to really benefit from the 16 pipes. the 6800GT is always better. But its a matter of degrees.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 7th May, 2005, 11:45 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

A matter of degrees? And your wallet thickness
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 7th May, 2005, 03:07 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

A 6800GT is a good 50% faster than a 6600GT in almost anything, start increasing the resolution and using FSAA and it's closer to double the speed
You would be cpu limitted if you only ran at 1280x1024 with no FSAA or anything, but turning on all the eyecandy to make the GPU the limitting factor will mean that the cpu makes little differance.

Usually with games the minimum cpu reomendation is a lot more accurate than minimal gpu
The only game I know that can tax my cpu is UT2004 with the physics setting on maximum, bring it down the normal and even on max visual settings it runs at vsync'd levels almost all the time
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 7th May, 2005, 05:36 PM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

DITT0 with what they say.

That was my reason to get a 6800GT, and worry about the CPU later.

And game wise, for the most part all I play is DC and then BF2 when it comes out, had NO problem with D00M 3 at high settings either, but I play with setting 1024x768, AA4x, AF8x.
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 7th May, 2005, 06:06 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

sweet, Gaiward Golden Sample 6800GT here i come..................when i get the money
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2005, 12:40 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

The gainward is quite bad actually. They have poorly designed and made HSFs on them and commonly fail and overheat. The ones to go for are ASUS MSI Ablatron XFX and BFG. Gainward used to be good, but its gone downhill like mad.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2005, 07:17 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

awww well, at least i'll save a little bit of $$

what about Leadtek?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2005, 11:02 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Leadtek has nice cooling, but not really any better than the stock nvidia cooling. Its a big block of copper and weighs alot, and hangs off a part of the card which doesnt have any structural support which worries me. Ive got a Leadtek unit right here for a build, seeing as the MSI is on backorder, and its a very nice card, well made, nice package, nice bundle, and it overclocks very well. It runs 2C hotter than my Albatron, even though the Albatron is running with an overvolt of 0.1V, and a stock cooler that has been lapped.

It was a lot more money than the Albatron and the MSI though, and I couldnt justify the extra money for a card that is no different to the Albatron or MSI. If you want to pay a little extra for a card and feel the difference in quality, buy ASUS. If you want to save yourself some money and get a card just as good go Albatron, MSI, XFX, BFG, or even eVGA, which is very good value and quality.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2005, 03:16 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I would go for a leadtek because they are the cheapest and then replace it's cooler with either a Zalman VF700-CU or Arctic cooling NV Silencer 5 using the money saved over another brand.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2005, 08:14 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

this is what im going to get...........http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814125143
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2005, 09:02 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Shame they went for a fan on the back instead of a larger cooler with the GT model, the NU model has a decent passive cooler thats apparently works well enough with good case airflow

I'd probably still want to replace the cooler on that though.

Any particular reason why you chose that card over a $50 cheaper XFX or Leadtek?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2005, 09:05 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

i have a gigabyte board that is extremely reliable and so i figured if the mobo is reliable the vid card would be about the same, and all the nVidia reference heatsinks look SO boring to me
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2005, 09:07 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I think all the top name cards are reliable enough

As for the stock cooler, all the more reason to change it to an NV5 or VF700
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2005, 09:22 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

so, if i got an evga 6800gt and put an nv5 on it, i would be good to go?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6800GT 1.4V Vmod mikalcarbine257 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 29 15th October, 2005 09:20 PM
6800gt problem bhdeath11 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 5 18th September, 2005 08:39 PM
msi 6800gt temp too hot? the_cleaner_uk 64 Bit computing 6 8th August, 2005 08:22 PM
6800GT and Mandrake dsio OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 7 24th April, 2005 12:12 PM
temp for the xfx 6800gt?? sasrob Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 10 25th February, 2005 05:17 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:03 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0