AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd May, 2005, 08:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 21

Ati 9600 Se Agp 128

Anyone have and suggestions on OC'ing this card. It is at factory setting right now just want to up it. Also I have a Nvidia 5200 128 which would be better in my machine. Lanparty UT nf3 with Sempron 3100+ OCed to 2400 right now!

thanks

DKM
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd May, 2005, 09:43 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

the 9600 is better than a 64 bit 5200 by a massive margin, and is still considerably better than the 128 bit version of the 5200. as for overclocking, go for the step by step method. Start with the core, and move it up 5Mhz at a time, testing it with a GPU heavy program such as 3Dmark05. Keep moving it up, until it becomes unstable, then back it off one 5Mhz increment. For safety, maybe back it off 10Mhz just in case.

Do the same with the memory, only 10Mhz at a time. Always overclock the core first, then the RAM. Reason for this being in some cases the core will go higher, when the ram is lower, and the ram will go higher when the core is lower. If there is a trade off between ram and core speed, you want to have more core speed than memory speed.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd May, 2005, 11:30 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Get ATITool, best program for ATI card oc's.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd May, 2005, 01:32 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Yeah ATITool is a good app and has an image corruption detection app which is useful even if you don't own an ATI card
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias F√ľnke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23rd May, 2005, 06:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 21

Thank you very much guys. Any ideas on how high I could possibly go with this and how much of a change will I see in 1st player games?

DKM
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23rd May, 2005, 06:53 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

The SE is not a great performer or overclocker. The memory is crippled to 64bit, and speeds vary. Some come with 166mhz ram and can't go much higher. The core should go up 10-25%. On the bright side, it runs pretty cool. Also, if you can read the memory chips, you'll get a much better clue on it's overclockability.

Good luck
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23rd May, 2005, 06:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 21

Just dled ATItool it is saying something about being locked and need to dl these other drivers. I use Omega Drivers now. Are these ok?

2 add to this post just did the 3dmark2001 and my score went down 4000 points after increasing the Cor and Mem and they were stable?? I don't understand this at all Please help is there something else I need to increase along with this?

DKM
__________________

Last edited by DKMOC; 23rd May, 2005 at 07:58 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 23rd May, 2005, 11:18 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

download the latest catalyst 5.5 drivers from AOAFiles.com and try overclocking with those. Im guessing your omegas could be a bit out of date. To be honest im not brilliant with ATI equipment, but I get the impression its the new drivers you downloaded that are crippling your score more than the OC.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2005, 04:26 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

disio sounds about right.
What score are you getting with 3d01??
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2005, 12:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 21

Well I am getting something around 3700 before I was getting like 7900?

Dling them now!

DKM
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2005, 02:44 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I'd say both scores make sense depending on the underlying system. If it is a fairly new, overclocked AMD system, 8000 is very possible. If it is an old, sdram, 1ghz PC, 4000 makes equal sense. (I'll bet on 8000 myself. )
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2005, 09:04 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

8000 is still very skinny. With a Geforce 4 Ti 4600 i got around 14,000 3dmarks with an athlon 2400+, and 12,000 with a duron 1300Mhz. 8000 is quite bad for a 9600XT in anything.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 25th May, 2005, 02:52 PM
hoinar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Iasi, Romania
Posts: 945
Send a message via Skype™ to hoinar

Dsio...the man said he has an Ati 9600 Se Agp 128...so it's pretty understandable his 7000 - 8000 score, though I have this scores with my Radeon 9250 gamer edition from Asus..I expected a little more than 8000 from that system.
__________________
I'd cry...but I can't stop laughing.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 26th May, 2005, 02:13 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveI
The SE is not a great performer or overclocker. The memory is crippled to 64bit, ...
The memory running only 64bit will perform much worse than the 128bit 9600 and 9600XT. I have an oc'd 9600 getting 10K with my P4. Even with good AMD rig, I'd be amazed if his SE could come anywhere near 10K. (no offense)
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 26th May, 2005, 02:29 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

sorry, your right, I was thinking you said XT there.

Hopefully the drivers will solve the problem.

Interesting that even a TI4600 is over 50% faster than the 9600SE though.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 26th May, 2005, 03:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 21

Well is there anything I can do increase my setup? You know what I have everything is great in it besides the 9600 but that isn't that bad. I just don't understand the vcard thing I droped the ATItool to default and brougth the score back to 7600! So I guess its the vcard right? Please let me know of anything to get this thing back up to around 10000 with what I got!

Thanks DKM
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9600 overclock DjJohnny1989 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 56 8th March, 2006 08:50 PM
Radeon 9600 SE help ~* InSoM *~ CRASHED! 8 6th February, 2005 09:53 PM
AIWs >>> 9600 or 9600 XT serlv Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 12th August, 2004 02:50 AM
Flashing a 9600 to 9600 pro HotshotUK OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 4 21st July, 2004 11:30 PM
9600 np overclock cadaveca Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 2nd April, 2004 03:48 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0