AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2002, 12:26 AM
efiman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 92
Send a message via Yahoo to efiman

Help with XP and a radeon 32ddr

hey does any one know how to turn off XP's auto video card identafacation because it says my radeon 32ddr is a 7200 and the graphix are terable soory about the spelling
__________________
Who is general failure and why is he trying to read my hard drive?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2002, 12:28 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

That sounds more like the drivers saying that than XP.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2002, 12:32 AM
efiman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 92
Send a message via Yahoo to efiman

well what happens is i first delete the card in system then i restart the computer and it automaticly says its a 7200 and with that driver my computer laggs big time
__________________
Who is general failure and why is he trying to read my hard drive?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2002, 12:44 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Try updating or reinstalling your Drivers for your card.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2002, 01:18 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by Daniel ~
Try updating or reinstalling your Drivers for your card.
Try another set of drivers. XP can be a real PITA when trying to use a driver it's not "friendly" with. That card could run as a 7200, couldn't it? Was it hacked in any way to make the drivers think it would be (like enabling hyper z?) ??
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2002, 02:01 AM
efiman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 92
Send a message via Yahoo to efiman

no no hacking its box stock does any one know what kinda fps i should be gettin with it cuz now im gettin 30 in half life and i know that sucks
__________________
Who is general failure and why is he trying to read my hard drive?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2002, 02:19 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I use an old Radeon LE, hacked to retail. XP installed the 7200 drivers for it. It worked fine for me, but I went ahead and updated to the beta drivers anyway. I saw a 25% performance boost as a result.

Go to our file download area, and update to the newest drivers.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2002, 02:35 AM
efiman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 92
Send a message via Yahoo to efiman

ill try that thanks steve
__________________
Who is general failure and why is he trying to read my hard drive?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2002, 12:07 AM
efiman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 92
Send a message via Yahoo to efiman

im still getting terrable resulats but im getting a new mobo and chip tomorro and i see how it works with that setup thanks
__________________
Who is general failure and why is he trying to read my hard drive?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 20th February, 2002, 03:10 PM
efiman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 92
Send a message via Yahoo to efiman

results

ok i got the new setup its a asus cubx e and a p3 800 eb and my results with the card are 27513dmarks and its still recognising it as a 7200 wich i belive is slowing its preformance any help would be greeat

thanks mike
__________________
Who is general failure and why is he trying to read my hard drive?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 20th February, 2002, 03:52 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Re: results

Quote:
Originally posted by efiman
ok i got the new setup its a asus cubx e and a p3 800 eb and my results with the card are 27513dmarks and its still recognising it as a 7200 wich i belive is slowing its preformance any help would be greeat
thanks mike
2753 seems about right. If I remember correctly, when I had mine running at retail specs (165hmz) I scored in that range. Cranking up to 180mhz got me barely to 3000, then using the newer beta drivers got me to 3500 (?), I think.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 20th February, 2002, 10:18 PM
efiman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 92
Send a message via Yahoo to efiman

ok then i guess im about right the thing is that when i oc my card i get some pretty weird things happening i think i need a better cooler
__________________
Who is general failure and why is he trying to read my hard drive?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 21st February, 2002, 11:43 PM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

If you are getting artifacts after OC'ing the vid card, you have gone too far with the OC'ing. Back off till the artifacts go away, then see what this looks like.

All Radeon Drivers work with all Radeon vid cards, so because your radeon is identified as a Radeon 7200, is normal. You installed the newer drivers and the card will show this as long as you do not phisically remove the drivers from the registry.

Since you are running XP, I think any driver will show this, because there was no driver for XP that is old enough to show the card as a DDR 32 etc.

If you will have XP go to Windows Update, there is a certified driver in the MS site. I believe is 3016, the newer driver on the site rage3d.com is 3025's they are the best as of now.

Smoothvision is activated in these drivers, or AA as they used to call it.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2002, 10:56 PM
efiman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 92
Send a message via Yahoo to efiman

the thing is, is that all i have to do is oc like 5mhz then these appear then i drop to stock and rebot and it just as bad this is only in games not under normal windows settings presently i am having no problems tho
__________________
Who is general failure and why is he trying to read my hard drive?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2002, 11:58 PM
demonX's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Posts: 229

If i rember right, the radeon 32 meg is the 7200, and the 64 meg is the 7500?
And as others have said your scores sound about right, I hade the radeon 7500 and tried overclocking it a little bit, 10mhz over normal speed and it worked for a bit then totally died on me
So im hoping ati will take it back and ram it, In the meantime i bought a geforce3 ti200, fast card but I do miss ATI graphic quality.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2002, 12:51 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

If you think XP is IDing the card wrong, force the "standard VGA" driver on it in the device manager, and then reboot. when it comes up in VGA you should be able to steer it to the new driver.
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2002, 03:00 PM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

We have both the DDR32 and the DDR64 VIVO and the DDR64Vivo installs as the 7200 series. Not the 7500, The DDR32 installs as the 7000 series. Both are retail versions.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 24th February, 2002, 07:40 PM
efiman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 92
Send a message via Yahoo to efiman

hey surlyjoe how would i go about forcing the standard vga driver upon this card im new to xp
__________________
Who is general failure and why is he trying to read my hard drive?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radeon all in wonder GrahamGarside OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 4 27th September, 2004 04:54 PM
radeon help ati_king Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 9th November, 2003 07:39 PM
New RADEON out and about. MiGGinZ General Hardware Discussion 5 5th October, 2003 07:28 PM
Radeon Jelen Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 4th September, 2002 03:06 PM
GF3 vs Radeon? gloc Random Nonsense! 3 18th March, 2002 03:13 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:46 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0