AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2005, 03:56 PM
Skiracing108's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 498
Send a message via AIM to Skiracing108

6800

can this reach and go past 6800gt levels???
__________________
amd3000+venice oc'ed from 1.8 to 2.18ghz
1 gig dual channel patriot unbufferered
evga nforce4 sli edition mobo
evga 7800gtx CORE 498mhz MEM 1.29ghz
Maxtor 250gig hardrive
soundblaster-audigy 2z's
Klipsch pro media 5:1 surround sound
Thermaltake 500w psu
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2005, 04:03 PM
Skiracing108's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 498
Send a message via AIM to Skiracing108

or would i be better off getting a 6800gt for a little more $
__________________
amd3000+venice oc'ed from 1.8 to 2.18ghz
1 gig dual channel patriot unbufferered
evga nforce4 sli edition mobo
evga 7800gtx CORE 498mhz MEM 1.29ghz
Maxtor 250gig hardrive
soundblaster-audigy 2z's
Klipsch pro media 5:1 surround sound
Thermaltake 500w psu
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2005, 04:06 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

theres a chance it will, but from my experience I wish I'd just plumped up a bit more cash for a GT

A 6800 is still a strong performer, so if your budgets limitted you won't be dissapointed, but a GT is a fair bit better and the extra memory will give it a longer life span
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2005, 04:07 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

but if you are going from a 6600GT you won't see much improvement if the pipelines don't unlock so I'd say go for either a 6800GT or stick with what you have
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2005, 04:08 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Its worth the extra dosh. And also dont be confused by some of the cheaper GTs, as they are just crap.

There is a 128MB 6800GT ASUS, that is rubbish and to be avoided. The other one is the 6800GTo chip. A GTo, is a 12 pipe card, NOT a 16 pipe card. It has 900Mhz GDDR3, over a 256bit bus, and a 350Mhz core, so is much like a hotted up 6800NU, but is NOT a GT.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2005, 04:12 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Yeah asus have one called a GT with only 128mb of ram and there are differing reports of it having 12 or 16 pipelines, though I do think a lot of people ho only got a 12pipe version unlocked them no problem, but it's not a real GT
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2005, 04:21 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

There are a few companies "slipping up" with ATI cards too. ATI X800XTs that are really X800XLs. Its amazing how close the "t" is to the "l" though lol, easy typo
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2005, 07:49 PM
Skiracing108's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 498
Send a message via AIM to Skiracing108

i think ill go for albatron!!!
__________________
amd3000+venice oc'ed from 1.8 to 2.18ghz
1 gig dual channel patriot unbufferered
evga nforce4 sli edition mobo
evga 7800gtx CORE 498mhz MEM 1.29ghz
Maxtor 250gig hardrive
soundblaster-audigy 2z's
Klipsch pro media 5:1 surround sound
Thermaltake 500w psu
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2005, 08:20 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

One of my mates has bought an asus 6800gt, would you mind explaining why it is not a real 6800gt? just curious
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2005, 08:24 PM
Skiracing108's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 498
Send a message via AIM to Skiracing108

128MB 6800GT ASUS with 12 or 16 pipelines reported
__________________
amd3000+venice oc'ed from 1.8 to 2.18ghz
1 gig dual channel patriot unbufferered
evga nforce4 sli edition mobo
evga 7800gtx CORE 498mhz MEM 1.29ghz
Maxtor 250gig hardrive
soundblaster-audigy 2z's
Klipsch pro media 5:1 surround sound
Thermaltake 500w psu
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2005, 08:27 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

its got sixteen pipelines and seems to overclock reasonably well, has it got a different non reference design?
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2005, 11:49 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

The asus card with 128mb of ram only has 700mhz DDR1, GT spec is 256mb 1ghz DDR3, so it only has the memory spec of the 6800NU and some peoples cards only have the 12pipes of the NU though I do think they have a high success rate unlocking.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6800 Gs = Gt Samuknow Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 11 31st January, 2007 12:36 AM
bfg 6800 gs oc wward Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 18th December, 2006 01:18 PM
6800 64 bit chrisbard Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 7 5th August, 2006 12:06 PM
Cleaning a 6800 Necorum Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 11 8th July, 2006 01:44 AM
6800 57 C chrisbard Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 30 4th November, 2005 09:10 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0