AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2005, 11:29 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

XG 80.40 TweaksRUs Drivers

Daishi and JRd1st from TweaksRUs.com have just released their Xtreme-G modified version of the Nvidia 80.40 Forceware drivers. These drivers give excellent performance in both games and benchmarks, and are definately keepers in my book.

It should be noted that there is a shadow bug in the BattleField 2 Demo when using these drivers, much like the older Forceware drivers. This bug IS NOT in the full version of BattleField 2. It is ONLY in the DEMO.

These drivers include support for the G72 and C51, like the standard version and have all the same features, only with enhanced image quality and performance.

Notes from AOAFiles.com:

This is the TweaksRUs.com Xtreme-G modified driver set for Nvidia graphics cards. These drivers are very nice, with performance in spades, great Aquamark performance gains, and good Image Quality. These drivers are the first to feature the TweaksRUs "Type 3" tweaks which further push performance levels up, while giving image quality that Xtreme-G users have become accustomed to. Highly Recommended drivers.

Well worth downloading. If you have an Nvidia graphics card, and have not tried a modded driver set yet, give it a go. No harm can be done to your equipment by using these.

Click Here To Download The 80.40 TweaksRUs.com Xtreme-G Modified Nvidia Drivers
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2005, 11:32 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Please follow the correct installation procedures when changing Nvidia drivers, as it will give you the best possible performance, and minimise bugs and problems.

Once again,

Before you install these drivers YOU MUST, do the uninstall properly to get the MOST benefit from them. This means downloading Driver Cleaner Pro, from drivercleaner.net.

Step 1: Go into add/remove programs, and UNINSTALL ALL Nvidia display drivers
Step 2: Reboot, into SAFE mode
Step 3: Run Driver Cleaner Pro, and clean ALL Nvidia, Nvidia stereo, and Nvidia WDM drivers.
Step 4: Reboot into windows normally, and install the XG77.62 Driver set
Step 5: Reboot into windows and enjoy your new drivers!


Get DriverCleaner Pro from www.drivercleaner.net

This will give you THE BEST performance and stability possible.

Also can some adminskis changeskis the skickyskis?
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2005, 12:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 60

Not sure about these, they havent been getting good feedback.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2005, 12:23 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

What are your system specs? I can give you a fair idea of how they will go if you can.

They are very good drivers and have had extremely good reviews on other sites. The fact is 2 people had issues out of 50 people that have the originals. These XG modded ones are the money Perfect for me.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2005, 12:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 60

Well i'll give them a go since I been having weird pauses and will try anything atm.
__________________
Athlon 64 3500+ Venice
Epox 9NDA3J
Geforce 6800GT XFX
1GB Corsair CMX3500C2
Audigy 2 OEM
Logitech z680 5.1
iiyama VM Pro 454
Antec Truepower 550w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2005, 12:41 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Mate an S939 Athlon 64, an AGP 6800GT, 1GB ram and an Audigy 2 is the same as me, you should be absolutely fine.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2005, 01:09 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Downloading these right now!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2005, 04:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 60

They seem alright, what exactly do the "new" tweaks effect ?
__________________
Athlon 64 3500+ Venice
Epox 9NDA3J
Geforce 6800GT XFX
1GB Corsair CMX3500C2
Audigy 2 OEM
Logitech z680 5.1
iiyama VM Pro 454
Antec Truepower 550w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2005, 05:40 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

They remove further support for old chipsets, mainly P3 / early P4 / early Socket 462 chipsets, and other outdated parts. Compatibility for these older parts slows down the driver set. That pretty much it from what I gather. There are some other tweaks as well, but you would have to as JRd1st. Hes the maker, im just the dealer lol.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2005, 06:49 PM
devilmyarse's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: England
Posts: 436

Hmm even since i installed these tweaked drivers i get flashing reticule on HL2 and any water splashes seem to flash on and off rapidly along with my reticule blinking.... hmmm

Think i'll go back to the standard nvidia ones...
__________________
System Specs: Antec 900
Enermax Liberty 500W
Asus P5Q-Deluxe
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 2.4Ghz
2x 2GB OCZ Hiper 1066mhz
ATi Radeon HD4870 512MB
Samsung Syncmaster 15"

Apple Macbook Pro
15'' Core 2 Duo 2.33Ghz
X1600 Mobility Radeon
Boot camp Mac os X/Vista

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2005, 07:04 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Downloading...
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2005, 09:33 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

So far so good! The image quality is better, more detail it seems. Also for some reason my 3D Mark scores keep going UP!When I first installed the card I got a miserable 9886 Marks in 3D'03 that has slowly crept up and now with these drivers its 12543! Similarly my 3D'01 score has gone from 15712 to 18596 and now to 21367! 3D'05 started at 3649 to 5020 and now its up to 5565!
I'm off to play some Half Life and CS:S and will report back!
So far so good!
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2005, 09:36 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Nvidia do seem to milk a lot of performance from their drivers. From the stock drivers that came with my card to the current releases I've seen a 25% increase in 3dMark Scores.
My only real complaint is that it does seem to mostly affect peak frame rates. Parts of 3dmark05 and 03 which drop below comfortable rates still do
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias F√ľnke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2005, 01:34 PM
Daishi's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 109
Send a message via AIM to Daishi Send a message via MSN to Daishi

Quote:
Originally Posted by devilmyarse
Hmm even since i installed these tweaked drivers i get flashing reticule on HL2 and any water splashes seem to flash on and off rapidly along with my reticule blinking.... hmmm

Think i'll go back to the standard nvidia ones...
Make sure you have used driver cleaner and such also much sure you have your image settings set to quality. If set to HQ or performance textures have been known to flash sometimes on nvidia drivers.
__________________
Tweaks R Us - Home of the Xtreme G Drivers

System Specs:
AMD Athlon 64 4000+
eVGA Nforce 4 SLI Mobo
1GB Corsair XMS Pc3200
2x WD Raptors in Raid 0
eVGA Geforce 7800 GT x2
Audigy 2 ZS
Logitech z-5500
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2005, 01:36 PM
Daishi's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 109
Send a message via AIM to Daishi Send a message via MSN to Daishi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazgoat
So far so good! The image quality is better, more detail it seems. Also for some reason my 3D Mark scores keep going UP!When I first installed the card I got a miserable 9886 Marks in 3D'03 that has slowly crept up and now with these drivers its 12543! Similarly my 3D'01 score has gone from 15712 to 18596 and now to 21367! 3D'05 started at 3649 to 5020 and now its up to 5565!
I'm off to play some Half Life and CS:S and will report back!
So far so good!
Thats awesome 12.5 is what your card should be doing bro. Your 3dmark01 score is still meh.. it could be better but you can probably blame that on your cpu. i get over 24k stock on 3dmark01 and im gettin over 13k stock on 3dmark03 with my evga 6800 Ultra.
__________________
Tweaks R Us - Home of the Xtreme G Drivers

System Specs:
AMD Athlon 64 4000+
eVGA Nforce 4 SLI Mobo
1GB Corsair XMS Pc3200
2x WD Raptors in Raid 0
eVGA Geforce 7800 GT x2
Audigy 2 ZS
Logitech z-5500
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2005, 01:45 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

I get the impression that the most recent Nvidia drivers are very dependent on a proper clean installation. The 77.62s were dogs for me until I did a clean install, then they just flew. After upgrading from the 77.62s (skipped the 77.72 and 77.70) to these, I found that there were issues until I did the full clean.

Please read what I posted above about driver cleaning properly, and also, patch your games always. Still there are people wondering why their far cry looks terrible. You MUST keep your games up to date.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2005, 06:51 PM
devilmyarse's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: England
Posts: 436

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daishi
Make sure you have used driver cleaner and such also much sure you have your image settings set to quality. If set to HQ or performance textures have been known to flash sometimes on nvidia drivers.
i used dc pro, in safe mode, and am using max settings on hl2 and it started doing it when i installed these drivers...
__________________
System Specs: Antec 900
Enermax Liberty 500W
Asus P5Q-Deluxe
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 2.4Ghz
2x 2GB OCZ Hiper 1066mhz
ATi Radeon HD4870 512MB
Samsung Syncmaster 15"

Apple Macbook Pro
15'' Core 2 Duo 2.33Ghz
X1600 Mobility Radeon
Boot camp Mac os X/Vista

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2005, 07:17 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Following Dsio and Daishi's instructions I'm seeing real improvement with the 80.40 tweek drivers.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2005, 09:38 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daishi
Thats awesome 12.5 is what your card should be doing bro. Your 3dmark01 score is still meh.. it could be better but you can probably blame that on your cpu. i get over 24k stock on 3dmark01 and im gettin over 13k stock on 3dmark03 with my evga 6800 Ultra.
I have a new Western Digital SATA drive coming at the end of the week. I'll do a new clean install and hopefully my scores should be better. BF2 plays fantastic now, no blotchy shadows or anything!
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2005, 10:43 PM
Daishi's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 109
Send a message via AIM to Daishi Send a message via MSN to Daishi

Quote:
Originally Posted by devilmyarse
i used dc pro, in safe mode, and am using max settings on hl2 and it started doing it when i installed these drivers...

Ive heard good things about the XG 80.40 HD and hl2 like awesome IQ and perf. Is that vcard of urs unlocked to 16 pipes or is it like that by default?
__________________
Tweaks R Us - Home of the Xtreme G Drivers

System Specs:
AMD Athlon 64 4000+
eVGA Nforce 4 SLI Mobo
1GB Corsair XMS Pc3200
2x WD Raptors in Raid 0
eVGA Geforce 7800 GT x2
Audigy 2 ZS
Logitech z-5500
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
162.18 TweaksRUs Xtreme-G modified drivers for WinXP/32bit danrok Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 26 16th August, 2007 04:41 PM
TweaksRus 97.92 Xtreme-G modified Nvidia drivers danrok OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 15 7th February, 2007 05:48 PM
Note on TweaksRUs Drivers Gizmo Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 29th January, 2007 03:54 AM
TweaksRus Xtreme-G WarCat 7.1 x64 modified drivers danrok Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 25th January, 2007 07:55 PM
TweaksRUs 83.20 XG Driver dsio Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 8 27th January, 2006 10:25 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0