AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2005, 05:56 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Talking OMG! Just plain lame!

Right, i went to that computer shop this afternoon to see if i could get a 2600. The 'technical guy' there tried to convince/bull****** me that a 256mb Geforce 2 (i think it was 256mb) priced at £35 was better than a £40-£50 128mb 6200A! Now that, is just lame! He thought becase i was young, that i didn't know a thing about computers. He also tried convincing me to buy a £70 ATi that only supports DX 8.1 rather than the 6200A which supports DX9! Anyway, they prefer ATi cards above 256mb so no 6200A ATM. I think this guy thought that the more memory it has, the better it is! In part it is true but not when the GPU itself is quite honestly, lame. So it's ebuyer for the new card then!
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2005, 06:05 PM
y2butonz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 83

Ermm id say he may have been right if u explain what card he was mentioning....There wasnt even a GF2 128mb edition let alone a 256mb addition...Might not of even gone to 64mb i dunno ive had GF3's.

What card was it he described to u?

Id recommend a 9800pro which u can softmod to XT...Probaly about 50-60 including P&P if u have a good search...Will out move a 6200 anyday.

Make sure u use the 5.7's tho HUGE increase in the lower end cards.
__________________
System Specs:
Thermaltake Kandalf Silver + Aerocool Gatewatch, Ultra X-Connect 500w w/ Blue UV Window
EPoX 9NPA+ (Non-Ultra)
AMD64 Socket 939 3500 Winchester + Coolermaster Aquagate @ 2.8GHz
ATI Sapphire X850XT @ 600/600 + Arctic Cooling Rev.2 ATI 5
2x512MB Matched GeiL Ultra-X PC3200+
1x 120GB Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 9
1x 300GB Maxtor Maxline III 16MB Cache + Vantec Vortex
Audigy2 ZS Gamers Edition + Logitech Z-5500s
Logitech MX1000 + K/B Wireless Desktop
19" Digimate TFT x2 RR - 8ms

Last edited by y2butonz; 13th August, 2005 at 06:15 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2005, 06:10 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

256mb low end cards are all marketing. Basically the low end gpu means that they don't offer performance that detracts away from the mid/high end sector, but the numbers justify charging more for them even though they offer no extra performance

It may not seem like much when say a 9250 with 256mb of memory costs only £3-4 more, but that extra memory probably only costs them an extra £2 or so, and in the low end market like this there is so little profit per card and so many cards sold that every little extra pays off a lot for the manufacturer
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2005, 06:14 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Well, he didn't describe them to me, he showed me them. I think the GeForce 2 was a called Tornado (like PNY call their current ones Verto). Anyway, the Ati ones at £70 were a bit out of the price range. Plus i want an Nvidia card, i'm a bit of a fan of them. I love their 'the way it's mean to be played' logo as well. Plus, their cards are supported by more games. But, they have so many drivers available, the latest being the 80.xx ones.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2005, 06:17 PM
y2butonz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 83

Quote:
Originally Posted by skool h8r
Well, he didn't describe them to me, he showed me them. I think the GeForce 2 was a called Tornado (like PNY call their current ones Verto). Anyway, the Ati ones at £70 were a bit out of the price range. Plus i want an Nvidia card, i'm a bit of a fan of them. I love their 'the way it's mean to be played' logo as well. Plus, their cards are supported by more games. But, they have so many drivers available, the latest being the 80.xx ones.
GF dont seem to make very good budget cards tho...I know it may sound like a sin but go with ATI on this one. TBH im not at all impressed by my X850XT replacing it for a 7800GTX (x2?) soon but for the mean time ATI seem to b pumping out aload of good budget cards.
__________________
System Specs:
Thermaltake Kandalf Silver + Aerocool Gatewatch, Ultra X-Connect 500w w/ Blue UV Window
EPoX 9NPA+ (Non-Ultra)
AMD64 Socket 939 3500 Winchester + Coolermaster Aquagate @ 2.8GHz
ATI Sapphire X850XT @ 600/600 + Arctic Cooling Rev.2 ATI 5
2x512MB Matched GeiL Ultra-X PC3200+
1x 120GB Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 9
1x 300GB Maxtor Maxline III 16MB Cache + Vantec Vortex
Audigy2 ZS Gamers Edition + Logitech Z-5500s
Logitech MX1000 + K/B Wireless Desktop
19" Digimate TFT x2 RR - 8ms
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2005, 06:21 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

I need openGL support though. I know ATi have it but Nvidia's is much better. Enemy Territory relies completely on OpenGL and i like to try and play it. CS:CZ also relies partially on it and that's the main game i play at the moment. I think i'll stay with Nvidia as my new card choice.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2005, 06:24 PM
y2butonz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 83

Yeah just giving advice...OpenGL is found on both ATI and GF there isnt a judgable difference in their performance.

Perhaps spend the extra on a 6600vanilla then?
__________________
System Specs:
Thermaltake Kandalf Silver + Aerocool Gatewatch, Ultra X-Connect 500w w/ Blue UV Window
EPoX 9NPA+ (Non-Ultra)
AMD64 Socket 939 3500 Winchester + Coolermaster Aquagate @ 2.8GHz
ATI Sapphire X850XT @ 600/600 + Arctic Cooling Rev.2 ATI 5
2x512MB Matched GeiL Ultra-X PC3200+
1x 120GB Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 9
1x 300GB Maxtor Maxline III 16MB Cache + Vantec Vortex
Audigy2 ZS Gamers Edition + Logitech Z-5500s
Logitech MX1000 + K/B Wireless Desktop
19" Digimate TFT x2 RR - 8ms
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2005, 06:26 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Quote:
Originally Posted by y2butonz
GF dont seem to make very good budget cards tho...I know it may sound like a sin but go with ATI on this one. TBH im not at all impressed by my X850XT replacing it for a 7800GTX (x2?) soon but for the mean time ATI seem to b pumping out aload of good budget cards.
Actually it's ATI who have a poor showing in the budget sector, they have nothing on par with the 6200, they've only just released a competitor for the 6600GT with the X800GT which doesn't have an AGP variety
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2005, 06:31 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Yeah, i've just been looking at ebuyer's ATi range, just bad. The 9550SE costs about as much as a 6200A! Even i know that SE are some of the worst letters you could get on the end of a graphics card 'number'
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2005, 06:34 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

that they are
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2005, 06:58 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

I just need to Sort out my AGP port.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2005, 07:48 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by y2butonz
Yeah just giving advice...OpenGL is found on both ATI and GF there isnt a judgable difference in their performance.

Perhaps spend the extra on a 6600vanilla then?

I believe he was after a 6200TC in the first place, which is what iw would recommend at the budget pricing.

__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2005, 09:00 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

The 6200TC is pci-e only though, he's gonna have to go for a 6200A which are only around a tenner more than a TC and perform better as well
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2005, 09:08 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

I have an AGP port solution now! I just did another repair install to find out the AGP file window wanted. It's VIAAGP1.SYS. I've been told to download the Via 4 in 1 drivers to replace the AGP. The first google result i looked at, the guy had the exact same graphics card as me (3dfx voodoo3)! That's just a real turn up for the books! Thanks all for trying to help me though. It wasn't bios settings, windows or even th card, it was bloomin drivers for the port itself!

And yes, it's been a 6200A all along.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audiograbber and lame encoder Logan OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 2 16th November, 2004 02:55 PM
Lame Duck Congress SteveI Random Nonsense! 1 16th November, 2004 05:36 AM
need help on lame subject graftonater Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 28th March, 2004 11:54 PM
This is just plain fun.... Southern Man Random Nonsense! 4 31st May, 2003 02:32 AM
Any BM's that make a lame rig look good? cloasters Benchmarking 10 23rd May, 2003 08:33 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0