AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2005, 08:22 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Well, it works for me, but as I didn't have the original drivers and software installed (I've just installed the card)I've got nothing to compare it to, except the onboard Realtek AC850!?

<slight hijack> Witht the 3.5mm Digital Audio out on the card, how can I get that to connect to my amplifier and get suround sound using the Digital Coax connector? I dont have 5.1 or 7.1 input on my amp just Optical and Coax Dolby Digtial, then 2 sets of stereo inputs for CD and an Aux.</end hijack>
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 16th August, 2005, 01:58 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

All you need is a 3.5mm mono plug, terminated at a standard RCA mono plug at the other end. digital is nothing other than good quality mono cables. Glad to hear it worked for you Laz
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 16th August, 2005, 08:20 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
All you need is a 3.5mm mono plug, terminated at a standard RCA mono plug at the other end. digital is nothing other than good quality mono cables. Glad to hear it worked for you Laz
Oh, so I still won't get surround sound using the Digital Out?
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 16th August, 2005, 09:31 PM
Chernobyl's Avatar
Projector Wizard
 
Join Date: November 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 594

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazgoat
Oh, so I still won't get surround sound using the Digital Out?
You will only get 5.1 sound with DVD playback using AC3 pass through from the digital out, this bugs me too!

I was using Soundstorm (all sound is 5.1 AC3 encoded) on my Athlon XP before I got my Athlon 64 and it is a royal step backwards going to Analogue as my hifi turns off all DSP functions for Analogue.

As I was now using the onboard ALC850 sound, I decided to plug in my old Audigy and use these drivers.
They are a major improvement in sound quality over the ALC850 and allow me to use Advanced HD in games.

Excellent post, thanks
__________________
2.9m DIY home made LCD PC projector !
Venice 3000+ (1.8GHz) @ 2.7GHz, 1.4V
Stock air cooler
X1800XT clocked to PE
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 17th August, 2005, 12:13 AM
QSDT's Avatar
Member
Alien Clones Champion
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Queensland Australia ''Oh'' the beauitful sunny coast!
Posts: 788
Send a message via MSN to QSDT

Do you know if it works with the external Audigy USB cards?
__________________
Abit NF7, AMD XP(not mobile) 2000+ @ 2.315Ghz with L12 mod.
Abit AN7, AMD XP(not mobile)2500+ Barton@2.442Ghz
MSI 6600GT Core@618Mhz / Ram 1.21Ghz Pencil volt modded @ 1.66volts.
Monitor Dell 24'' 2407WFP ''WOW that's all I can say''

Why is Phonetic not spelt Phonetically, and why is the word Abbreviation so long?

My Ex gives 100% sound adivce, 99% sound, 1% adivce.

69% of all statistics are made up!

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 17th August, 2005, 04:02 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

I have been that it does, with the NX, but not with the Extigy.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 21st August, 2005, 07:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Posts: 40

I keep gettign amessage while extracting, File is corrupt>
__________________
Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe
(2) EVGA GE Force 7800GTOC 256 PCI-X
2 gigs (4x512) Corsair TwinX PC3200Pro DDR 400
Dual Channel
AMD 4800 64 Venice Processor
(4) Sata Seagate 160 gig Drives (raid array)
(1) Maxtor External 120 gig USB 2.0
SoundBlaster X-fi Platinum
Bose Desktop companions with Sub Woofer
Koolance PC3 Case (all hardware water/gylcol cooled)
Temps: Unloaded 93 (F) Loaded 101 (F)
Samsung Cd-R/RW 52x24x52
Memorex DVD-R/RW 8X
WinXP SP2
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 21st August, 2005, 11:45 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Hey, how can I get this package to install to a drive other than C? I have two HDD's, C (which seems to have died?) so I'm using the other one, D. Any ideas?
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 24th August, 2005, 11:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 26

disconnect power cable and IDE from C:...move jumpers to correct priority.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 22nd October, 2005, 04:04 PM
Chaz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: England
Posts: 208

Agh - goddamnit. So irritating. These dont work for me, windows just boots after the install is done, and there's no sound at all, and wheneven I try and run one of the utilities, for example the EAX console, the error message tells me I do not have the hardware the software requires.

I've tried 4 times now, and the same thing happens. I've tried uninstalling with drivercleaner, add/remove programs, the uninstall function of the pax drivers, and another creative driver uninstaller.

ARGH!!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2005, 07:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2005
Posts: 3

In Norway the price difference between the Audigy 2 Value and the Audigy 4 is 100 kr = 10 $.
Maybe I should buy the audigy 4 insted of the Audigy 2 value (and then softmod it to audigy 4).
It must be something different between the cards?
__________________

Last edited by torkelom; 11th November, 2005 at 09:09 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2005, 07:16 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

actual board layout and surface componentents for line-noise leveling.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2005, 07:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2005
Posts: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
actual board layout and surface componentents for line-noise leveling.

The chipsets and performances are the same?
__________________

Last edited by torkelom; 10th November, 2005 at 07:30 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2005, 07:56 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Almost. The audible difference with the drivers is there tho. THose cards that don't get the difference get the new interface and eax support, from what i understand.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 11th November, 2005, 11:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2005
Posts: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
Almost. The audible difference with the drivers is there tho. THose cards that don't get the difference get the new interface and eax support, from what i understand.
So you recommend to buy the Audigy 2 value card instead of the Audigy 4?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2005, 09:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Posts: 47

Just tried this and HOLY CRAP! It sounds 1000x better.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2005, 05:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Posts: 47

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaz
Agh - goddamnit. So irritating. These dont work for me, windows just boots after the install is done, and there's no sound at all, and wheneven I try and run one of the utilities, for example the EAX console, the error message tells me I do not have the hardware the software requires.

I've tried 4 times now, and the same thing happens. I've tried uninstalling with drivercleaner, add/remove programs, the uninstall function of the pax drivers, and another creative driver uninstaller.

ARGH!!!
Agh, I'm having the exact same problem now that I reinstalled windows. Anyone able to help?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 4th December, 2005, 09:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2005
Posts: 1

Guess there is no replys now huh hehe. I'm downloading this aswell for my Audigy 1 and give it a go.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2005, 11:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Posts: 51

for current discussion on this particular mod, here be the source!
__________________

Last edited by Daniel ~; 28th December, 2005 at 08:15 AM. Reason: For a continued discussion of this please post here, rather than re-direct to another forums.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2006, 08:04 PM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

I just got a SB Live! Should I go ahead and mod it?
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help from an Audigy 2 ZS wiz! TrevorS Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 9 11th February, 2005 12:29 AM
Audigy 2 ZS bradmax57 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 6 5th December, 2004 08:07 PM
Audigy 4??? cadaveca Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 9 10th November, 2004 08:11 PM
D3VA AND AUDIGY AND XP in smp ELLIOT EPoX MotherBoards 1 23rd August, 2002 08:31 PM
Creative Audigy The Spyder General Hardware Discussion 1 8th April, 2002 06:01 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0