AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2005, 11:42 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Softmod your Audigy / 2 / Live! into Audigy 4 Pro

<EDIT> This is a THREE YEAR OLD DRIVER NOW, when originally posted this was very useful to many people, it no longer is, so please do not try it and post complaining that it doesn't work for you, it was posted in 2005, it is now 2008. Thank you <EDIT>

This is a softmod that basically turns your Audigy / Audigy 2 / Live! into an Audigy 4 Pro.

This means you get a whole bunch of new programs and applications, improved EAX performance and quality on Audigy 1 / 2 cards, and general audio quality gains.

I found this on TweakRUs a few days ago, and thought it was a really great mod to share. The guy that originally posted it is ][Ban_Midou][ so thanks alot Ban!

This is what he originally posted:

1) Uninstall EVERY original driver from your creative card, and DO NOT reboot.

2) Delete the next registry entries:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Creative Tech
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Creative Tech
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Cr eative TechHKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Contro l\Creative TechHKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Contro l\Creative Tech

Watch out the control set entry could be controlset003...

3) Delete the Creative folder from Program Files or Archivos de Programas if you have Windows XP in spanish tongue.gif

4) Reboot.

NOTE: if you just reformated you'd save all of the above, ok now to install.

Now we run the installer, the steps are easy to follow and here's the good thing: it will ask you what Model you have, select the appropiate one (it works with the NX too) and from there on it will run the first creative installer, here comes the change, as you know in the last one we omitted the "Windows Drivers" check box, in this case DO NOT omit it, because now the drivers are ready, you can decide if you want media source (if you want the complete softmod do not omit anything) and once you finish the first intallation it will ask you if you want to reboot... DO NOT reboot to continue with the rest of the softmod from the screen Voup PAX.

If you have a front panel, install creative entertainment center, so you can use your remote and panel.

This can take a while (around 20 minutes) and when you finish doing all this.... REBOOT biggrin.gif and ta-daaaaa!!!, your card is now modded to Audigy4 pro.

According to your Creative card you'll get one thing or another or all of 'em. But it seems that from the SB Live! you'll get the equalizer but you won't get the dolby CP and THX console (someone need to comfirm this). As for the Audigy 2 cards and on you'll get the new applications and a light audio gain.



This is a great trick, and I strongly recommend it to ANYONE with an Audigy / Audigy 2 or even those with a Live!.

The whole program is 302.5MB so it is a big file, but it does include the works, including all apps.

Click Here To Download the PAX Audigy 4 Pro Conversion Package from AOAFiles (302.5MB)

Tell me what you guys think!
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles

Last edited by dsio; 3rd June, 2008 at 07:58 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2005, 11:47 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Hey thanks for the heads up. I have an Audigy 2ZS, will the gains be significant or not?
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2005, 11:56 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

The Audigy 2 ZS is the best of all to mod. The gains will be noticeable, and you will get all of the latest apps and controls from the Audigy 4 Pro. It really was sweet for DVD and quality music playback, and the EAX sounds more realistic too.

The Audigy works well as well, the Live! is not quite as good, but that is due to the limitations of the EMU10K1 in the Live!

Tell me what you think of it.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2005, 12:57 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Don't mean to put a dampner on things, but isn't this technically software piracy? Making software that certain hardware users are licensed to use run on hardware who's users aren't?

I'm probably wrong though.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2005, 01:01 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

I dont really think so at all. The reason why Audigy / Audigy 2 owners do not have the Audigy 4 Pro software is simply because it does not run on the Audigy 2. You can freely download it, and try to install it on older hardware, and in some areas it works perfectly, in others it does not.

This tricks the machine into thinking it is a card that it isnt. In any case, installing the software is up to you, I did not do it, I just used the drivers, which improved quality for me.

You are using the same software suite that you would normally, just the Audigy 4 Pro version, which lets you use Audigy 4 Pro features, which are made available through the drivers on your card. There is really no comparison.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2005, 01:01 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

all the other software is free on their site for anyone to download I think, Id imagine the software itself is not licenced.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2005, 01:06 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I know it's free but like you said it won't run on certain hardware because it's licensed for use on specific hardware

I'm only thinking of AOA's ass
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2005, 01:19 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Trust me, it is not an issue.

I do look into things before I post them, and despite this being known about for a long time and hosted on numerous large and highly reputable driver sites including driverheaven, Computerbase and planetamd64, Creative have no problems with it.

Saying it doesnt run on certain hardware because it isnt licenced for that hardware is incorrect, as the reason it does not run is hardware incompatability, not an invalid licence.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2005, 05:44 PM
Daishi's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 109
Send a message via AIM to Daishi Send a message via MSN to Daishi

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
Trust me, it is not an issue.

I do look into things before I post them, and despite this being known about for a long time and hosted on numerous large and highly reputable driver sites including driverheaven, Computerbase and planetamd64, Creative have no problems with it.

Saying it doesnt run on certain hardware because it isnt licenced for that hardware is incorrect, as the reason it does not run is hardware incompatability, not an invalid licence.
*cough* and Tweaks R Us *cough* lmao. just messin with ya.
__________________
Tweaks R Us - Home of the Xtreme G Drivers

System Specs:
AMD Athlon 64 4000+
eVGA Nforce 4 SLI Mobo
1GB Corsair XMS Pc3200
2x WD Raptors in Raid 0
eVGA Geforce 7800 GT x2
Audigy 2 ZS
Logitech z-5500
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2005, 05:57 PM
y2butonz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 83

Wow brought a Audigy2ZS OEM cudnt even use the bundled software as it was OEM !!!I DIDNT HAVE ANY!!! This looks like the perfect thing.

*Doesnt argue and downloads asap*
__________________
System Specs:
Thermaltake Kandalf Silver + Aerocool Gatewatch, Ultra X-Connect 500w w/ Blue UV Window
EPoX 9NPA+ (Non-Ultra)
AMD64 Socket 939 3500 Winchester + Coolermaster Aquagate @ 2.8GHz
ATI Sapphire X850XT @ 600/600 + Arctic Cooling Rev.2 ATI 5
2x512MB Matched GeiL Ultra-X PC3200+
1x 120GB Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 9
1x 300GB Maxtor Maxline III 16MB Cache + Vantec Vortex
Audigy2 ZS Gamers Edition + Logitech Z-5500s
Logitech MX1000 + K/B Wireless Desktop
19" Digimate TFT x2 RR - 8ms
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2005, 08:53 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Glad to see that Creative is still rebadging the same old sound card time and time again.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2005, 09:01 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Actually, there's more at the hardware level in the line leveling, and i see way more caps on the board.

the newest, X-FI, actually has 10mb local memory, so of course, the processor is quite different, but the audigy4pro is still based on the same architechture. All they have done really is revised the layout of the board, and this has got them the bit extra signal performance There's more plugs on the external box...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2005, 09:43 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
All they have done really is revised the layout of the board, and this has got them the bit extra signal performance
How many soundcards have they released since the SB Live!? Although, didn't the AWE series also use the same EMU10K processor? I remember when they released the AWE64 - supposedly so much better in terms of the number of voices. Turned out all that Creative had done was to get the CPU in the machine to mix the other 32 channels over what the AWE32 could do.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2005, 09:48 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

I'm not too sure, as sound has never been a mojor concern for my pc unti lrecently, but i DO know that all the current soundblasters are just board revisions, for the most part. the processor betweeen the live and the audigy2 IS differnt, BTW, although, once again, based on the same tech.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2005, 11:49 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daishi
*cough* and Tweaks R Us *cough* lmao. just messin with ya.
I already said you at the top!
Quote:
I found this on TweakRUs a few days ago, and thought it was a really great mod to share.
Glory hog :P

Besides, those were "reputable" sites, while your category is more "infamous" or recently "geurilla terrorist organisation" if killpuppy has anything to do with it rofl.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2005, 02:54 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Loaded it up, works a charm. thanks!



took out my xbox controller when i installed it, but i just reinstalled the controller, and all was/is good.

__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2005, 04:18 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Did you notice the audio changes in EAX and stuff?

I Think this might be worth frontpaging, its been a pretty sweet free upgrade for me.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2005, 05:16 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

well, to me, there's just a new gui, and a ffew more plug-ins. like aedan said, they haven't really done much to get the audigy2 to the sudigy4, besides software, so actual capabilities aren't that differnet.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2005, 05:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 54

does this work with an Audigy LS or Audigy 2 value?
__________________
[s754 A64 3000+] [Radeon 9500 pro agp8x] [Soyo CK8 Dragon+] [512mb pc3200 2.0 3 3 8ram][Audigy LS] [Raidmax 868 Scorpio case] [40gb 2mb cache Maxtor, 120gb WD 8mb cache] [DVD, CD-RW]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2005, 06:22 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

It works on the Audigy 2 value for sure, and I think I have heard of it working on an LS. The LS is an odd card though so it may have troubles. Cant really say.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help from an Audigy 2 ZS wiz! TrevorS Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 9 11th February, 2005 12:29 AM
Audigy 2 ZS bradmax57 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 6 5th December, 2004 08:07 PM
Audigy 4??? cadaveca Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 9 10th November, 2004 08:11 PM
D3VA AND AUDIGY AND XP in smp ELLIOT EPoX MotherBoards 1 23rd August, 2002 08:31 PM
Creative Audigy The Spyder General Hardware Discussion 1 8th April, 2002 06:01 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0