AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #41 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 03:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by MONKEYMAN
Some brands of card also have greater chances of unlocking it seems, there is a site that lists a success rate for each brand based on data from their site users, its one of the tech support sites I think, ill try and find it.

This might be the site you mean http://www.devhardware.com/forums/t29823/s.html

You cant go wrong with leadtek though, very solid cards and even if you dont get a full unlock they seems to overclock very well especially on the memory.
I just got a leadtek 6800le and managed to unlock all pipelines and vertex shaders running with no problems
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 04:00 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Mind to post some benches? and also what system you got?
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 05:51 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

OK I finally got the card. Tried to fit into my Antec AMG 100 but one of the HDD was in the molex path so I had to take them out (very easy in Antec) and move one down. After that the card fit just fine between the 2 HDD's. If I didn't replace my caps I would have had a lot of trouble. I let the cap under the vcard long legs and I bent it right now otherwise the 6800 would have had a hard time pluging into the AGP in a normal way!

Here are some pics with what I got. Now the card is in, no overclock whatsoever, the proc is not overclocked and the card also not overclocked. With default settings and no driver reinstall I have a pretty low score on 3dmark 03 but my hopes are high. I am waiting for your advice. Soooooo, what next?
Attached Thumbnails
I need your advice !-new-2.jpg   I need your advice !-installed.jpg   I need your advice !-3dmark03.jpg  
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 05:55 PM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

Get the 77.76XG's from the files section. Then I guess start unlocking pipes and vertex's and tell us what happens. Cool card!
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 05:59 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

OK I have them installed before ! I am downloading Rivatuner right now !
Attached Thumbnails
I need your advice !-77.76xg.jpg  
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 06:03 PM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

Keep us posted and good luck!!
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 06:06 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Question

Can't find rivatuner there, I am downloading from somewhere else.
OK is here, so v 2.0 Riva tuner will do it?
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 06:25 PM
devilmyarse's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: England
Posts: 436

Yeh unlock one quad then test thoroughly. If you get any artifacts disable that quad and enable the next quad. If you get any artifacts on that quad then you have 2 defective quads and will have a 8pipeline card, however if only 1 extra quad works you will have a significant performance increase.

Vertex pipes are nice to have but significant performance boosters right now.
__________________
System Specs: Antec 900
Enermax Liberty 500W
Asus P5Q-Deluxe
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 2.4Ghz
2x 2GB OCZ Hiper 1066mhz
ATi Radeon HD4870 512MB
Samsung Syncmaster 15"

Apple Macbook Pro
15'' Core 2 Duo 2.33Ghz
X1600 Mobility Radeon
Boot camp Mac os X/Vista

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 06:25 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

As long as it's the latest release candidate

http://downloads.guru3d.com/download...d49e3dcfc0e6aa
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 06:25 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

OK this is what I see now, a little different from what Monkeyman shows in his excelent review of how to unlock a 6800LE !
Attached Thumbnails
I need your advice !-rivat.jpg  
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #51 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 06:26 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrahamGarside
As long as it's the latest release candidate

http://downloads.guru3d.com/download...d49e3dcfc0e6aa
Yes what a coincidence, I downloaded exactly from there !

Thanks Graham
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 06:27 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Well all you have to do is enable the disabled units, some will say one at a time but sod it I'd just enable them all and keep my fingers toes and eyes crossed

If enabling them all doesn't work thats when you test one at a time though.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 06:28 PM
devilmyarse's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: England
Posts: 436

Quote:
Originally Posted by morgan2468
I just got a leadtek 6800le and managed to unlock all pipelines and vertex shaders running with no problems
So that's another one of those brilliant Leadtek cards that fully unlocked!
__________________
System Specs: Antec 900
Enermax Liberty 500W
Asus P5Q-Deluxe
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 2.4Ghz
2x 2GB OCZ Hiper 1066mhz
ATi Radeon HD4870 512MB
Samsung Syncmaster 15"

Apple Macbook Pro
15'' Core 2 Duo 2.33Ghz
X1600 Mobility Radeon
Boot camp Mac os X/Vista

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 06:30 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Talking

OK a stupid question I just check a quad and is still disabled, How do I enable it?
And what is that "unlock professional capabilities"? Do I have to restart windows or something? Where are you Monkeyman?
Attached Thumbnails
I need your advice !-checked.jpg  
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!


Last edited by chrisbard; 18th August, 2005 at 06:36 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 06:37 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Thats just quadro functions, makes no differance in games

And yeah it won't sho up as enabled unitl you restart windows
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 06:51 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrahamGarside
Most games are pixel shader limitted at present, and even when a situation is vertex limitted, it's not usually to the point of affecting playability like when you are fillrate limitted
Without any problem or artifacts I enabled 1 quad and run 3dmark2003 The score is up to :

Unbelievable, I am going after the second quad! I hope is not damaged either!!! Guys hang in there with me !
Attached Thumbnails
I need your advice !-hurae.jpg  
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 06:56 PM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

Good luck! I have faith!
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 07:24 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Talking

OK the situation is not excelent! The second quad is damaged and gives artifacts upon enabling. But the vertex units are ok and in good health. Without overclocking the card just by using rivatuner thanks to AOA ppl I went from an embarasing 6400 points in 3dmark2003 to this:
Attached Thumbnails
I need your advice !-some.jpg   I need your advice !-done.jpg  
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 07:25 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Talking

Now do you guys think that I should overclock a little?
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 07:38 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

This is what I got for raising the core and the memory from stock to:
Attached Thumbnails
I need your advice !-overclock.jpg  
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM advice please sylvershark General Hardware Discussion 27 16th June, 2006 01:28 AM
Advice Please QSDT AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 2nd December, 2005 01:09 AM
Need some advice. Please :) Pitch CRASHED! 20 17th April, 2005 05:58 PM
a little advice piccoLEW Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 7th January, 2005 04:47 PM
Need Wi-Fi advice rainman14624 General Hardware Discussion 6 18th August, 2004 03:25 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:43 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0