AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #61 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 07:39 PM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

Go for it man. Don't feel bad, at least you got 12 pipes and 6vs. Now, unfortunately for you, when I own you in BF2 you can't blame it on low fps or lag.
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 07:42 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

is that all it will overclock?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 07:49 PM
Abdul's Avatar
xD ~HOO-RAAH
Snake Champion, Chopper Challenge Champion, Pacman Champion, Capture The Flag Champion, Mario Bros Pipe Panic Champion, Dirt Bike 2 Champion
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 375
Send a message via MSN to Abdul

This is real cool, it must overclock some more, it must!, COME ON! it must

Your killing me here
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 07:54 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Talking

This is what I got as far ! It'll not go above 325 !!
But I am happy as hell. Hope Dave will also join us and give me some advice !

I want to thank you all and I will go now and see what BF2 looks like !
Attached Thumbnails
I need your advice !-ura.jpg  
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 07:56 PM
devilmyarse's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: England
Posts: 436

You should get 370 core on that card easy. I have found that increasing the core first then the memory produces the best gains, i think monkeyman will back me up on that!

BTW in rivatuner under driver settings forceware customize...>system settings (first option, picture of a graphics card) it should show you what the rough maximum the card will overclock to.

BTW if you're unsatisfied with performance, sell it on ebay as brand new and buy a Leadtek 6800LE VERY high chance of unlocking every pipe on those cards :P
__________________
System Specs: Antec 900
Enermax Liberty 500W
Asus P5Q-Deluxe
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 2.4Ghz
2x 2GB OCZ Hiper 1066mhz
ATi Radeon HD4870 512MB
Samsung Syncmaster 15"

Apple Macbook Pro
15'' Core 2 Duo 2.33Ghz
X1600 Mobility Radeon
Boot camp Mac os X/Vista

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 08:18 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by devilmyarse
You should get 370 core on that card easy. I have found that increasing the core first then the memory produces the best gains, i think monkeyman will back me up on that!

BTW in rivatuner under driver settings forceware customize...>system settings (first option, picture of a graphics card) it should show you what the rough maximum the card will overclock to.

BTW if you're unsatisfied with performance, sell it on ebay as brand new and buy a Leadtek 6800LE VERY high chance of unlocking every pipe on those cards :P
I believe you but it'll not go higher. At 330 will say it can't do that. It may have soething with the temp sensor. I had 2 5900 xt one was with temp sensor and will not overclock high the other, the one I had for 2 years without temp sensor and overclocked as hell. What should I do?
Attached Thumbnails
I need your advice !-posible.jpg  
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 08:24 PM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

Put it at 12pp 5vs flash the bios to a 6800 vanilla and sell it on ebay and buy a leaktek 6800le or 6800.
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 09:01 PM
devilmyarse's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: England
Posts: 436

What he said. :P

Can't beat Leadtek 6800LE, i haven't met a single person yet that hasn't unlocked them fully and got a nice overclock too!
__________________
System Specs: Antec 900
Enermax Liberty 500W
Asus P5Q-Deluxe
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 2.4Ghz
2x 2GB OCZ Hiper 1066mhz
ATi Radeon HD4870 512MB
Samsung Syncmaster 15"

Apple Macbook Pro
15'' Core 2 Duo 2.33Ghz
X1600 Mobility Radeon
Boot camp Mac os X/Vista

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 09:20 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exile69
Put it at 12pp 5vs flash the bios to a 6800 vanilla and sell it on ebay and buy a leaktek 6800le or 6800.
Apart from the moral implications

You can't flash 6800's, the pipelines are hardware masked, you need to take to them with a soldering iron
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 09:30 PM
devilmyarse's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: England
Posts: 436

Ah yeah good point. Supto you mate, if that performance is good enough for you (most likely a definate improvement over that FX5900XT!) then don't sell it. Just reminding you the option is there to sell the card and try a leadtek to get a higher clock and higher chance of unlocking the full 16 pipes!
__________________
System Specs: Antec 900
Enermax Liberty 500W
Asus P5Q-Deluxe
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 2.4Ghz
2x 2GB OCZ Hiper 1066mhz
ATi Radeon HD4870 512MB
Samsung Syncmaster 15"

Apple Macbook Pro
15'' Core 2 Duo 2.33Ghz
X1600 Mobility Radeon
Boot camp Mac os X/Vista

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #71 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 10:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbard
Mind to post some benches? and also what system you got?
Sorry for the late reply my system specs are.....

Asus A7N8X Deluxe Motherboard
Athlon XP2600
1GB Ram PC3200 (Dane-Elec)
Leadtek Geforce 6 6800LE 128MB (AGP)
2 WD Caviar 120GB Drives
SoundBlaster Audigy
Liteon 52x CD-RW
Pioneer 4x DVD-RW
Attached Thumbnails
I need your advice !-overclock.jpg   I need your advice !-3dmark05.jpg   I need your advice !-rivatuner.jpg  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #72 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 11:30 PM
Chaz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: England
Posts: 208

Just thought I'd add my statistics, I've got a Leadtek 6800, overclocked to 400/800 (I know that's a really bad OC on the memory, I've no idea why it wont budge any further), I used rivatuner to unlock the extra vertex shader, and that was all nice and dandy, but when I unlocked the extra 4 pixel pipelines, I got graphical corruption on things like water, and on the pixel shader test on 3DMark03. So I had to lock them again.

I get something like 11,200 3DMark03's, with a Barton 2500+ at 2.3GHz.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #73 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2005, 05:24 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Thumbs up

Hey Chaz, you actually got what I got. My proc is at 2200 Mhz but the same (Barton2500) Why would I get only 9000 points in 2003 while you have 11000 ? I think is the extra 75 Mhz you have there in your GPU ! Why will my not go further? How can I get rid of the temp sensor?

I will not sale this card because it's absolutely a great improvement from 5900 and I really haven't paid but the transport !

Thanks morgan for putting the benches ! I will do tonight a 2005 and see what I got adn of course I will post it.
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #74 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2005, 09:12 AM
hoinar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Iasi, Romania
Posts: 945
Send a message via Skype™ to hoinar

Spunds like a nice card Chris...But I see you have some Nvidia CD drivers with your Ati 6800
Now you have no reason to not try a higher OC!
__________________
I'd cry...but I can't stop laughing.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #75 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2005, 09:18 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Talking

LOL I thought someone will notice that !!! I got ATI drivers with my card But that's an easy one when you are a member of AOA and Dsio uploads good stuff there !
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #76 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2005, 09:48 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbard
LOL I thought someone will notice that !!! I got ATI drivers with my card But that's an easy one when you are a member of AOA and Dsio uploads good stuff there !
I would take the driver disk back and throw it in their faces. How dare they question your sexuality when you are purchasing a card off them.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #77 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2005, 10:03 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Exactly! This I have done and they said is their fault and appologise. But what the heck the shame still there. OK it's time for me to see how cd-s are flying out of the balcony!
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #78 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2005, 10:12 AM
hoinar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Iasi, Romania
Posts: 945
Send a message via Skype™ to hoinar

Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I would take the driver disk back and throw it in their faces. How dare they question your sexuality when you are purchasing a card off them.
So...you must only be a girl to buy a 6800?
__________________
I'd cry...but I can't stop laughing.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #79 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2005, 10:15 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Talking

You got it wrong, ATI owners, most of them are girls !
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #80 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2005, 10:15 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Question

Anyway what do you guys think about this 325 Mhz core speed? Can be the maximum? Is there a way to raise the core clock more?
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!


Last edited by chrisbard; 19th August, 2005 at 10:22 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM advice please sylvershark General Hardware Discussion 27 16th June, 2006 01:28 AM
Advice Please QSDT AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 2nd December, 2005 01:09 AM
Need some advice. Please :) Pitch CRASHED! 20 17th April, 2005 05:58 PM
a little advice piccoLEW Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 7th January, 2005 04:47 PM
Need Wi-Fi advice rainman14624 General Hardware Discussion 6 18th August, 2004 03:25 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0