AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2005, 01:16 PM
NarkotikBuzz's Avatar
Member
Breakout Champion
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: LIMBO
Posts: 793

New Video card on the way!!!

I just ordered my new video card. Leadtek 6800le, i cant wait till it gets here. I have been using a Radeon 9100, so it will be a big step up. Any particular procedures i should use to get rid of the ATI drivers and replace them with the new Nvidia drivers? Also, which Nvidia drivers should i use? Its been a while since i had an Nvidia card. I know i will need Rivatuner to hopefully unlock the other pipelines, do i need any particular software to overclock it? Any help is appreciated.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2005, 02:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 68

I think most people use Coolbits to overclock the card after using Rivatuner to unlock the extra pipes. That card comes stock with 8 pipes and 4 vertex shaders and you can possibly unclock to 16 pipes and 6 shaders. Most cannot fully unlock this card. Let me know how it goes. I'm thinking about taking a chance and getting one of these myself in hopes of atleast being able to unlock atleast 4 of the 8 extra pipes and 1 shader. Reviews on newegg show some people getting monster overclocks with this card. Good luck!
__________________
EPoX 8RDA3+ rev 3.1
AMD 3000+ Barton
Volcano 12+
2x512 Corsair TWINX 3200CL2
9800 SE softmod --> Pro
80GB Hitachi SATA x 2 RAID 0
120 GB WD Spec. Ed. w/8MB cahce
Antec True480W

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2005, 03:02 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

to remove your ati drivers, use the normal uninstall feature that came with your ATI drivers-restart in safe more-use dirver cleaner 3 and remove any ATI files-restart and install the latest XG modded nvidia drivers.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2005, 03:12 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

This is extremely important and must not be overlooked.

ATI drivers are corrosive to Nvidia cards, and vice versa.

Do not overclock it from stock, work to tune the card first by removing all the ATI drivers correctly with driver cleaner pro, and install the XG drivers to get the most out of it at stock.

Next step is the unlocking. We have a good guide stickied in the graphics card topic here, so follow that and you can't go wrong.

Lastly you overclock the thing.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2005, 04:48 PM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

Quote:
Originally Posted by KrayZeeZ
I think most people use Coolbits to overclock the card after using Rivatuner to unlock the extra pipes. That card comes stock with 8 pipes and 4 vertex shaders and you can possibly unclock to 16 pipes and 6 shaders. Most cannot fully unlock this card. Let me know how it goes. I'm thinking about taking a chance and getting one of these myself in hopes of atleast being able to unlock atleast 4 of the 8 extra pipes and 1 shader. Reviews on newegg show some people getting monster overclocks with this card. Good luck!
Actually, an incredibly high number of people have fully unlocked their Leadtek 6800LE's. Just talk to Devilmyarse. Follow dsio's instructions very carefully and you can't go wrong. The unlocking/overclocking guide can be found in the FAQ section.
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2005, 05:00 PM
NarkotikBuzz's Avatar
Member
Breakout Champion
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: LIMBO
Posts: 793

Thanks guys, i will follow all the instructions, and hopefully it will fully unlock. I hope it gets here soon, im excited. Now if i could just get my FSB to be 400, right now the farthest i can get it is 340(170x2) My rig is set at 170x13, and thats the only way i can get it to be stable, i have tried all kinds of different settings. I am happy with the performance, but it is frustrating. I do however have my memory set at 2.0-2-2-11 at 2.6v, so thats good. Thanks for all the tips....
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2005, 05:41 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

What power supply does this system have?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias F√ľnke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 01:22 AM
NarkotikBuzz's Avatar
Member
Breakout Champion
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: LIMBO
Posts: 793

generic 400w.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 04:04 AM
QSDT's Avatar
Member
Alien Clones Champion
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Queensland Australia ''Oh'' the beauitful sunny coast!
Posts: 788
Send a message via MSN to QSDT

What mother board?
__________________
Abit NF7, AMD XP(not mobile) 2000+ @ 2.315Ghz with L12 mod.
Abit AN7, AMD XP(not mobile)2500+ Barton@2.442Ghz
MSI 6600GT Core@618Mhz / Ram 1.21Ghz Pencil volt modded @ 1.66volts.
Monitor Dell 24'' 2407WFP ''WOW that's all I can say''

Why is Phonetic not spelt Phonetically, and why is the word Abbreviation so long?

My Ex gives 100% sound adivce, 99% sound, 1% adivce.

69% of all statistics are made up!

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 08:57 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

the generic 400W is probably adequate, but will limit you now, in overclocking and in the future.

I really want you to consider getting a decent high end power supply like an Enermax Noisetaker 430W~.

In your position you have hardware that is by no means inadequate, but definately is beyond the current generation of technology. There is no single part you can buy that will drop in and be a good investment in your machine right now, except a power supply.

A good PSU will last a long time, and perform brilliantly all through it. Its a long term investment that will impove your reliability, performance, and make upgrading easier in the future.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 09:59 AM
ajopz's Avatar
Member
Simon Champion, 3D Car Driver Champion, Taz's Dance Fever Champion, Arcanoid Champion, Simpsons Shooter Champion, Break in the Crowd Champion, Mad Shark Champion, Quad Champion, Super Flash Mario Bros. Champion
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,123

Would an Enermax noisetaker 370w be up to the job for a 6800?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 10:05 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

yea, it would, but I would get the 430 to make it future proof.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 10:13 AM
ajopz's Avatar
Member
Simon Champion, 3D Car Driver Champion, Taz's Dance Fever Champion, Arcanoid Champion, Simpsons Shooter Champion, Break in the Crowd Champion, Mad Shark Champion, Quad Champion, Super Flash Mario Bros. Champion
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,123

just checking, should be getting my card 2day leadtek 6800le.
got the xtreme-g drivers and driver cleaner and rivatuner(thanx 2 aoa files ). so um ready to go.
Just waiting on the damn delivery driver now. have to go to work at 2pm and i bet he dont turn up till this afternoon
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 10:44 AM
ajopz's Avatar
Member
Simon Champion, 3D Car Driver Champion, Taz's Dance Fever Champion, Arcanoid Champion, Simpsons Shooter Champion, Break in the Crowd Champion, Mad Shark Champion, Quad Champion, Super Flash Mario Bros. Champion
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,123

which drivers are better 77.76 which i downloaded or 80.40 which i only just noticed?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 10:46 AM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Id use 77.76xg
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 10:51 AM
ajopz's Avatar
Member
Simon Champion, 3D Car Driver Champion, Taz's Dance Fever Champion, Arcanoid Champion, Simpsons Shooter Champion, Break in the Crowd Champion, Mad Shark Champion, Quad Champion, Super Flash Mario Bros. Champion
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,123

BTW, Sorry to Hijack ur thread Narkotik, That was my last question
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 10:52 AM
ajopz's Avatar
Member
Simon Champion, 3D Car Driver Champion, Taz's Dance Fever Champion, Arcanoid Champion, Simpsons Shooter Champion, Break in the Crowd Champion, Mad Shark Champion, Quad Champion, Super Flash Mario Bros. Champion
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,123

Quote:
Originally Posted by MONKEYMAN
Id use 77.76xg
Yeah they were the one's i downloaded originally, so i'll stick with them for the time
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 11:55 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

80.40s perform a bit better (ranging from a bit to a fair bit) than the 77.76s for SOME people. About 10% of 6800 owners find the 80.40s to be miracle drivers. For most they arnt though.

They have gamma corruption, video quality corruption, lower image quality than the 77.76s (though not all that much worse). So there is a penalty to be paid even if they do turn out to be performance drivers for you.

77.76s are a safe bet, and the best in a long time. Fast, best image quality to date, and very stable.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 12:49 PM
ajopz's Avatar
Member
Simon Champion, 3D Car Driver Champion, Taz's Dance Fever Champion, Arcanoid Champion, Simpsons Shooter Champion, Break in the Crowd Champion, Mad Shark Champion, Quad Champion, Super Flash Mario Bros. Champion
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,123

cheers boys
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 17th September, 2005, 12:14 PM
NarkotikBuzz's Avatar
Member
Breakout Champion
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: LIMBO
Posts: 793

Well, my video card should be here this morning, i cant wait!...also, DSIO, i have the stats on my PSU. It is made by a company called "Xtreme"?
On its side it reads, "Xtreme switching power supply, model lp-6100d(400w max): +3.3@28.0a/ +5@30.0a/ +12@25.0a/ -5@0.3a/ -12@0.8a/ +5vsb@2.0a that is everything from the label on the side of the PSU. I cant really find anything online about it. It came in my case, which is an MMNY case, fairly inexpensive but solid. Are these numbers good? I know very little about power supplies so any info you can give would be appreciated. Thanks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheap video card with Video Out raphael2040 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 14 17th December, 2006 10:42 PM
New video card? Mark Alex Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 17 11th July, 2005 04:42 AM
ATI/Nvidia multi-video processing!!!!1 AGP card-1 PCI-e card (ATI ONLY) cadaveca Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 20th May, 2005 03:15 PM
Need a new video card. Which one? Gizmo Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 16 6th September, 2004 02:47 PM
Can't see with new video card SteveI CRASHED! 13 26th March, 2002 01:09 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:51 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0