AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 08:59 AM
saquib's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Dhaka
Posts: 209
Send a message via MSN to saquib

460 watts enuff for 7800GTX SLI ?

The retail box recomends usin at least 500 watts psu for 7800GTX in SLI. I use an Enermax 480 watts PSU. Can i go for SLI?

Im using 2 hard drives, 1 floppu, 1 dvd rom, 1 cd writer, sb live audigy 2 zs, and 6 extra cooling fans with 2 neon interior lights. cpu is winchester 3500+ on MSI K8N SLI Neo 4 Platinum (NF4 SLI Chipset) on 4x256MB Kingston PC3200 DDR400 RAMs.

I really dont want to chnage my PSU. Need some suggestions!


Attached Images
 
__________________

Last edited by saquib; 16th September, 2005 at 03:45 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 09:07 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

got noone for ya. should be OK stock...but don't expect too much.


Here's the thing tho...if your PSU is not enough to handle the load, as it slowly dies from the strain, chances are it's gonna take other parts out with it when it blows.

Don't buy top-end parts, and skimp on a PSU. That's like running a top-fuel dragster on vegetable oil...guaranteed to give off smoke.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 12:18 PM
saquib's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Dhaka
Posts: 209
Send a message via MSN to saquib

this site: http://www.extreme.outervision.com/index.jsp shows dat i need arnd 450 watts for dat. 2 7800GTXs take 225 watts, Winchester takes 67 watts, audigy takes 7 watts, 4 ddr rams take 40 watts, 2 7200rpm hdd take 30 watts and the extra fans+lights take arnd 25 watts at most, the dvd rom takes arnd 25 watts and cdwriter arnd 20 watts, 1 floppy is s'posed to take arnd 5 watts... according to dis psu requirements stays below 500. so shud i be ok wid 480watts?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 01:00 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Those are overall wattages, your 480w PSU may have a high combined wattage but it may not have the required power on say the 12v rail(for example), it SHOULD run an sli setup ok, however you run the risk of it either not running or although the chances are slim you could end up nuking the lot.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 01:05 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

A 480W Enermax is more than enough really. The GTXs arnt as power heavy as the top 6800s un SLI, so there shouldnt be an issue.

By 500W, they are talking about a 500W generic or cheap PSU. A 480W Enermax will easily outperform an el'cheapo 600+W unit.

Trust me, you have the ability to go SLI without too heavily straining that PSU.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 01:26 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

It's the 12V rail that does it, and Enermax units have good 12V rails

Which model enermax is it?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 03:12 PM
saquib's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Dhaka
Posts: 209
Send a message via MSN to saquib

Exclamation

i am sorry, its a 460watt PSU. But i still think it should be enuff. and it did tok me a lot of money than many other 500 watts, dats y i really dont feel like changing it. Just dat 2 7800GTXs take 225 watts, and since i use Winchester core, my 3500+ takes arnd 68 watts. The power consumption is not that high. I dont really tend to buy a NEW PSU for extra 40watts and pay all the money, cuz this one wud just be sitting idle.
My model is:

Enermax : EG465P-VE(FMA) => 460W

Specs are as follows: (from net)
OUTPUT for H/D or CD-ROM : 5 Heads
OUTPUT for H/D SATA : 2 Heads
OUTPUT for VGA (Extra) : 1 Head
OUTPUT for Floppy : 2 Heads

(output spec attached!!)

Support intel Prescott P4 and AMD Athlon 64/64 FX Processor
ATX12V V1.2 compatible
Ring core provides effective shielding to prevent EMI leakage to appliance attached to the same AC source, i.e. wall plug
Flexible plastic mesh tube for better cable routing
Thermal control low noise power supply
SATA Power connectors provided
Ball bearing fans (92mm & 80mm)
92mm fan : speed controlled by thermal sensor
80mm fan : speed manual adjustable(A) & output rpm signal for monitoring(FM) through BIOS or software.
Temp feedback circuit on 9cm for to avoid overheating under improper rpm setting.
Attached Thumbnails
480 watts enuff for 7800GTX SLI ?-enermax465p-ve-fma-24pinz.jpg  
__________________

Last edited by saquib; 16th September, 2005 at 03:30 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 04:50 PM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

Enermax is quality stuff..
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 04:51 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

135w per GTX, i think, under load, overclocked.

Listen..yes it may work, no it may not kill anything...but listen...all those guys with CRAZY overclocks...850w or higher PSU's.

Power is very important if you plan to overclock.

Enermax makes good PSU's...i'm using a 535w one myself. but what worries me is that you only have 280w on the 12v line..that's a bit steep for overclocked GTX'es
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 06:19 PM
saquib's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Dhaka
Posts: 209
Send a message via MSN to saquib

Talking

err... well ill be a nice guy and wont overclock my gpu ( i swear) ... i hope then i wont have to worry abt risks. u see another 535watts enermax PSU + another 7800GTX wud really be too much for my wallet.. den i might just wait for PS3 and use the less amnt of bucks. if i get anothet 7800GTX, i dont think dere wud be anytthing for quite sometime dat wud make jerky performance. besides i aint any kind of serious overclocker anyway, just a bit of driver tweaks and slight cpu overclocks.. dats all i go for. so i guess i can rely on my Enermax 'eh? Thanx for all the support!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 06:32 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

if you have one GTX, and only 1gb of ram, you are not doing yourself a favor by getting a second card..you'll still have the same issues.

A more than worthy upgrade may be another gig of ram...i'm running 4x512mb OCZ gold..and i tell you..1600x1200 was not playable in BF2...used to get hesitation, etc, even @ 1024x768 with the details maxed it would be choppy for the first round or so... but with 2gb....

it's amazing.

Buy some ram.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 06:39 PM
saquib's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Dhaka
Posts: 209
Send a message via MSN to saquib

Exclamation

yeah... for some personal advantages, lets just say i can get 4 512MBs.. at least i wont pay for dat from my pocket. and ofcourse, without 2GB ram BF2 sux.. even wid 1 GTX i can get better perf wid 2GB RAM. my plan of gettin the 2nd 7800GTX is arnd dec/jan. just making sure my budget holds everythin... if it exceeds too much, i might just switch to PS3. dats y i need to kno if the current Enermax wud do or not dats all!

well, back to the main question ive been askin here: can i depend on this PSU for 7800GTX in SLI? No overclocking will be performed! Just need to know that. See specs show i need 235 watts for two 7800GTXs. If i have 280watts on the 12v rail, isnt it really ok?
__________________

Last edited by saquib; 17th September, 2005 at 05:28 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tagan PSU 1100 watts! MrSeanKon Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 6 20th December, 2006 01:42 AM
How many watts am i using? NarkotikBuzz AMD Motherboards & CPUs 23 30th August, 2006 01:32 PM
How many watts and what card to get. Staz Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 17th June, 2006 06:36 PM
Watts to BTU/h dimmreaper Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 4 31st August, 2002 08:06 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:35 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0