AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2005, 12:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 117

Help me overclock my x850

Yeah, I want to overclock my x850 xt pe, but I'm a noob and I don't want to fry it since it took me 4 months to raise the money to get it. I can run pretty much everything at full settings with a 60+ frame rate at stock, but I decided I want to get everything I can out of this card. Also, what applications are good for overclocking Video Cards? I have PowerStrip, but I'm afraid/don't know how to use it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2005, 12:49 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

atitool..has an auto-overclocker...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2005, 01:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 117

Thanks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2005, 01:02 AM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

You can get ATITool 1.24 from the files section. Make sure you get the newest drivers from ATI, the 5.8's. If you have any problems with those just switch back to the 5.7's from the files section. When installing new drivers make sure you first remove any and all display drivers from the control panel. Then download Driver Cleaner Pro from here. Boot into safe mode (tap F8 to enter the boot menu) and run driver cleaner pro and remove all display drivers, nVidia included if you had any. Boot into Windows and install the new drivers. This should give you the best speed/performance and prevent any driver conflicts. Enjoy!
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2005, 01:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 117

Thanks again! My card is now at 577 core speed 620 memory.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2005, 01:45 AM
z3speed4me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Union, NJ
Posts: 458

bench's???
__________________
-Antec 900 case
-Asus p5w dh deluxe 2206 bios
-2x1 gb GSKILL 6400 @ with 4-4-4-12 760mhz
-Intel E6400 2.13 @ 3.044ghz 380fsb w/ zalman cnps9500-led L626A472
-EVGA 8800gtx
-2 WD caviar se16 250gb raid 0
-OCZ GameXStream 700
-Creative x-fi xtrememusic
-Samsung 226bw "S"
-all on Vista Ultimate...

my 2006 m roadster is still faster though
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2005, 01:52 AM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Rage 3D is also a great tool, it can run along side ATI's and IMO has excellent tweaking features...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2005, 02:14 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoney22
Thanks again! My card is now at 577 core speed 620 memory.
Sounds like an x850xt, and not an xtpe...but whateva. not too shabby...about 6100 in 3dmark05?


When you feel comfortable with it, you can alter the timings on the ram as well, and get a few more mhz....the x850 is really starving for bandwidth....and not neccesarily low-latency bandwidth either...



__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2005, 02:39 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exile69
You can get ATITool 1.24 from the files section. Make sure you get the newest drivers from ATI, the 5.8's. If you have any problems with those just switch back to the 5.7's from the files section. When installing new drivers make sure you first remove any and all display drivers from the control panel. Then download Driver Cleaner Pro from here. Boot into safe mode (tap F8 to enter the boot menu) and run driver cleaner pro and remove all display drivers, nVidia included if you had any. Boot into Windows and install the new drivers. This should give you the best speed/performance and prevent any driver conflicts. Enjoy!
5.9 is the newest driver. Its in the file section I think.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2005, 02:56 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

There is actually a TweaksRUs Xtreme-G modified Catalyst 5.9 driver now if you want to give it a go. WarAnakin on the TRU team does them.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2005, 04:11 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
There is actually a TweaksRUs Xtreme-G modified Catalyst 5.9 driver now if you want to give it a go. WarAnakin on the TRU team does them.
Oh nice. Thanks for the info dsio.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2005, 10:11 AM
hoinar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Iasi, Romania
Posts: 945
Send a message via Skype™ to hoinar

Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
There is actually a TweaksRUs Xtreme-G modified Catalyst 5.9 driver now if you want to give it a go. WarAnakin on the TRU team does them.
And I can find them...where...Mr. Files Editor?
__________________
I'd cry...but I can't stop laughing.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2005, 10:28 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

http://files.aoaforums.com/code.php?file=2252

In Drivers -> video cards -> ATI. I know its confusing
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2005, 11:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 117

I'm partial to omega drivers.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2005, 12:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 117

3DMark 05 score was 6003 before restarting, and 5917 after, strangely.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2005, 12:29 AM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rondog
5.9 is the newest driver. Its in the file section I think.
Thanks for the info. I'll give it a try tonight. Where was the big thread screaming about new ATI drivers?
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2005, 12:40 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoney22
3DMark 05 score was 6003 before restarting, and 5917 after, strangely.
That's normal to get such fluctuations upon different starts...I get about a 75 point spread. Best to take teh average of three runs, anyway..never base scores on just one run on a boot.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2005, 02:55 AM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

Just loaded up the 5.9 XG's, after cleaning the old ones of course, and everything is very smooth. Using MONKEYMAN's reccomended settings (See below). Seems to have stopped the hitching a bit more.

RESOLUTION 1280X960@75HZ
TERRAIN MEDIUM
EFFECTS HIGH
GEOMETRY HIGH
TEXTURE MEDIUM
LIGHTING HIGH
DYNAMIC SHADOWS MEDIUM
DYNAMIC LIGHT HIGH
ANTI-ALIASING 2X
TEXTURE FILTERING MEDIUM
VIEW DISTANCE 100%
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
56MB x850 XT!! WonderBread Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 22nd March, 2006 11:27 PM
Xtacy X850 XT PE Lifetime Warranty BobyJo Online Deals, and Steals 2 12th July, 2005 02:27 AM
X850 Problems Pitch CRASHED! 60 7th April, 2005 08:14 PM
X850 AGP...with no railto chip! cadaveca Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 29th March, 2005 11:23 PM
Ati X850 cadaveca Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 32 19th January, 2005 06:27 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:06 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0