AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2005, 02:51 AM
saquib's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Dhaka
Posts: 209
Send a message via MSN to saquib

Exclamation Too High Temp while Playin NFSMW

Im using 7800GTX, AMD64 WInchester 3500+, 1GB Kingston 3200 C3, witha 3% Dynamic CPU Overclock. The problem is, my card goes really hot when I check the temp coompared to my CPU. Card goes to around 73 degrees!! ALthough there are no ingame problems or anything, but why is this happening? Is this normal? And, im runnung on 1280x1024 - with eveything on highest settings.
Attached Thumbnails
Too High Temp while Playin NFSMW-temp_7800gtx.jpg  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2005, 03:54 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Its ok mate.

There are literally hundreds of people that worry about their GPU temperature these days, but let me assure you, it is completely normal. For your card on heavy load, 73 is very reasonable.

CPUs are far more temperature sensitive, mainly because of their massive on chip caches, while GPUs do not have these constraints and are designed to run hot, even with good cooling. So, yea, don't compare your CPU to your GPU, as there is no comparison. If it becomes unstable, get worried, and if it heads into 80+ temps, be worried, but its ok the way it is.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2005, 02:28 PM
saquib's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Dhaka
Posts: 209
Send a message via MSN to saquib

aah... thanx a lot man. graphics cards are like the heart of beauty, even a scratch makes us worried.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2005, 05:27 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

my 2 cards run @ 80c all the time while loaded...more than normal, mate.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2005, 06:44 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

My 6800GT has been into the very high 80s for extended periods, and even with a massive OC on it. In Australia during a heatwave, 50C in a computer room is not unheard of yet they dont seam to have problems.

So much importance is put into temperature since the overclocking underground has turned into the next cool marketing machine.

There is something very important that EPoX Tech said to a guy a few months back, when some guy was complaining that his 9NPA with an glued on southbridge sink was rejected by the RMA dept.

He said that motherboards, and all computer components are designed to work as they arrive, out of the box. No piece of hardware should ever need anything more than its stock equipment to operate within specifications.

Hardware vendors arnt stupid, and make sure their hardware operates well outside the recommended limits. Thats why we have overclocking.

The fact that every computer magazine pimps aluminium cases, with 10 fans, 5 blowers, and radiator mounts, and then says "increases overclocking and stability" doesnt mean its true.

If your hardware is not stable within stock parameters, its junk. RMA it. I have had this happen only twice, once with a Jetaway motherboard that had MOSFETs that melted, and again with an early model prescott that was designed by a drunken smurf.

When temps go up on hardware and failures occur, there is rarely one problem as well.


When something fails, you look down the list.

Is it my Athlon 64 CPU that cant handle 60C?
Is it my 7800GTX that cant handle 80C?
Is it my ASUS NF4 mobo that cant take 80C on the northbridge?

Or.....

Is it the El cheapo, ..... 500W branded, ..... 200W barely stable, ..... full of loose wiring, ..... sparks flying out of the fans, ..... capacitors crackling, ..... fallen off the back of a truck at a weigh-in station at a bombay airport, ..... $1 No reserve starting bid on ebay, ..... money order only, ..... "Super-Turbo-Tronic Ultra PSU 5000+" that is powering your computer?

I seriously think that the majority of temperature blamed deaths are due to in part, or in whole by the cheap crap power supplied that people buy, so they can save $60 and buy the 7800GTX instead of the 7800GT.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2005, 08:56 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

That's true so many people build pc's without the main heart of the system in mind, the PSU. A good solid PSU can save money and also increase the life of your components so it pays to buy a good power supply.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2005, 10:16 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

Quote:
Originally Posted by saquib
aah... thanx a lot man. graphics cards are like the heart of beauty, even a scratch makes us worried.
The cpu of the computer is the brain while the GPU is the balls.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2005, 10:20 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

and if anyone does ever really get worried about thier sytems temp you can find soultions so it's not a problem anyway. Of course they don't come cheap.
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=371263
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2005, 02:08 AM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Good point guys. I believe many people miss the importance of a dependable PSU. Its always worth the extra money.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2005, 02:13 AM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

Quote:
Originally Posted by madcatmk3
The cpu of the computer is the brain while the GPU is the balls.
...while the PSU is the heart, pumping the juices of life to all components onboard.
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2005, 08:44 PM
z3speed4me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Union, NJ
Posts: 458

ya know...i was runnin real hot too...and since i dropped my OC a lil bit on my card, i dont get the debug error anymore, i really do think there was something weird going on with that game and my gpu temps...
__________________
-Antec 900 case
-Asus p5w dh deluxe 2206 bios
-2x1 gb GSKILL 6400 @ with 4-4-4-12 760mhz
-Intel E6400 2.13 @ 3.044ghz 380fsb w/ zalman cnps9500-led L626A472
-EVGA 8800gtx
-2 WD caviar se16 250gb raid 0
-OCZ GameXStream 700
-Creative x-fi xtrememusic
-Samsung 226bw "S"
-all on Vista Ultimate...

my 2006 m roadster is still faster though
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 30th December, 2005, 07:13 AM
sasrob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: BRISTOL UK
Posts: 445

Unhappy

wow you are really running with these tornado i did buy 3 of them in the past got them going and it was like i was next to a jet starting up.

i can run NFSMW with full graphics no problam with a 6800 ultra. i now have a xfx 7800gtx was working cool. only a day old and just started it up this morning and nothing but a black screen so i look around the graphics card everything looks fine so i have moved the dvi to slot 2 it was in dvi1 with the black screen what shell i do now its working ok now ? i am thinking of sending it back but its the waiting that i really hate.
__________________


sabertooth 990FX
amd FX8350 @4.2ghz
16GB 1600mhz hyperX ram
AMD HD7970 3GB asus DCPC graphics
hyperX 120GB SSD
WD 320GB hard drive
1TB,500GB working over usb3
corsair HX850 psu
aerocool cyclone black case
window 8.1
asus monitor 24" 1920x1200 res.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 30th December, 2005, 07:20 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Try it in another computer to isolate the problem. If it is still not working, RMA it.

I have absolutely no problems with RMAing a part if it does not perform within specs at stock, or if it fails for no particular reason. As long as you know you did nothing to it, its the manufacturer's fault, and they deserve to pay for that mistake.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 31st December, 2005, 12:50 AM
sasrob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: BRISTOL UK
Posts: 445

Talking

i am running on my 2 day old 7800gtx card to and when i run NFSMW my card gos up to 70c but if i stop the game give it 5 min then it drops to 48c plus i have played this game for hours on a 6800ultra and that was running hot at 78c-81c

but i must add NFSMW looks very cool with full graphics plus res set to 1280-1024 (max my TFT can do) could not run at this res with the 6800ultra had to drop to 1024-768

i think the dvi cable was not pushed in lol it working fine now
__________________


sabertooth 990FX
amd FX8350 @4.2ghz
16GB 1600mhz hyperX ram
AMD HD7970 3GB asus DCPC graphics
hyperX 120GB SSD
WD 320GB hard drive
1TB,500GB working over usb3
corsair HX850 psu
aerocool cyclone black case
window 8.1
asus monitor 24" 1920x1200 res.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High CPU Temp with 8NPA SLI WVUBean EPoX MotherBoards 13 14th April, 2006 01:24 PM
EP-8RDA3I -- too high CPU temp -=Wraith=- EPoX MotherBoards 3 22nd February, 2005 07:31 AM
High CPU Temp Lou Intel Motherboards & CPUs 16 11th August, 2004 04:18 AM
My CPU temp is about 55c on load seems high?? Mad old tory Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 7 2nd June, 2003 03:37 PM
case temp too high! need help! bubu Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 10 25th February, 2002 11:12 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0