AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2006, 07:36 AM
z3speed4me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Union, NJ
Posts: 458

6800gs Agp

ok...i scratched the 6800 ultra thing, bc the deal fell through, would it be worth it to upgrade from my normal 6800 to a 6800 gs agp? only evga and xfx make the card, IF its better and worth it, $230-250 and i could prob sell my card from 125-150 or so with the zalman on it...is it worth the money? and which company should i get: better overclock / better pipe unlock chance?
__________________
-Antec 900 case
-Asus p5w dh deluxe 2206 bios
-2x1 gb GSKILL 6400 @ with 4-4-4-12 760mhz
-Intel E6400 2.13 @ 3.044ghz 380fsb w/ zalman cnps9500-led L626A472
-EVGA 8800gtx
-2 WD caviar se16 250gb raid 0
-OCZ GameXStream 700
-Creative x-fi xtrememusic
-Samsung 226bw "S"
-all on Vista Ultimate...

my 2006 m roadster is still faster though

Last edited by z3speed4me; 4th January, 2006 at 08:28 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2006, 08:03 AM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Neither will unlock. both are 12 pipe cards and have no more to unlock.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2006, 08:08 AM
z3speed4me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Union, NJ
Posts: 458

soooo do you not think its even worth it? will it even be faster...like a reasonably noticable amount?

i read somewhere that some1 got an evga one, and unlocked 16 pipes, i dunno if they were lying or not though...im just wondeing if this small upgrade is worth the $$$

thing is that the agp version usess the old core, not the same as pci-e thats why i suspect there might be pipes to unlock on the agp version... though that means it wont be able to OC as well because of the old core.
__________________
-Antec 900 case
-Asus p5w dh deluxe 2206 bios
-2x1 gb GSKILL 6400 @ with 4-4-4-12 760mhz
-Intel E6400 2.13 @ 3.044ghz 380fsb w/ zalman cnps9500-led L626A472
-EVGA 8800gtx
-2 WD caviar se16 250gb raid 0
-OCZ GameXStream 700
-Creative x-fi xtrememusic
-Samsung 226bw "S"
-all on Vista Ultimate...

my 2006 m roadster is still faster though

Last edited by z3speed4me; 4th January, 2006 at 08:14 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2006, 08:26 AM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

I'm fairly sure that the GS is a different core which is how the higher clocks are achieved, the old NV40 would be unlikely to reach those core speeds. I could be wrong though, DSIO should know more about them.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2006, 08:28 AM
z3speed4me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Union, NJ
Posts: 458

yea ima pm me to read this thread and give me some feadback...
__________________
-Antec 900 case
-Asus p5w dh deluxe 2206 bios
-2x1 gb GSKILL 6400 @ with 4-4-4-12 760mhz
-Intel E6400 2.13 @ 3.044ghz 380fsb w/ zalman cnps9500-led L626A472
-EVGA 8800gtx
-2 WD caviar se16 250gb raid 0
-OCZ GameXStream 700
-Creative x-fi xtrememusic
-Samsung 226bw "S"
-all on Vista Ultimate...

my 2006 m roadster is still faster though
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2006, 09:22 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

No, it isnt worth it over a 6800NU, because it *is* a 6800NU.

The AGP 6800GS uses the 110nm NV41 core, which is the second generation 6800NU core, the one that specifically has only 12 pixel pipelines, and 5 vertex units.

The NV40 is the 6800GT / Ultra / old NU that can be unlocked.

The NV41 GS chips however are a bit faster than your average 6800 in clockspeed, are on the better PCBs that the GTs are on, and use GDDR3.

This isn't the end of the story however, because Nvidia sent out a royal decree that all AGP cards, have to perform worse than their PCI-E versions. So the 6800GS PCI-E is clocked at 425Mhz, while the AGP 6800LE is only clocked at 350Mhz.

Keep that in mind.

6800NU = 300Mhz (12 pipes, 5 vertex units) NV40 / NV41
6800GS AGP = 350Mhz (12 pipes, 5 vertex units) NV41
6800GS PCI-E = 425Mhz (12 pipes, 5 vertex units) NV41
6800GT = 350Mhz (16 pipes, 6 vertex units) NV40
6800U = 400Mhz (16 pipes, 6 vertex units) NV40
6800UE = 450Mhz (16 pipes, 6 vertex units) NV40

So, no it isnt worth it, unless you could make the swap, your card for the GS for under $30
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2006, 04:12 PM
z3speed4me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Union, NJ
Posts: 458

thank you that makes it much clearer for me...ima keep what i have now..thanks a LOT

and the pipes on the gs arent unlockable either right?

so prettymuch the only worthwhile upgrade in the 6800's would be from like mine to like an ultra correct, a gt wouldnt be worth it either huh?

im jus seein WHAT if anything i can do to make myself faster since im stuck wit agp for the time being, would an x850 be worth if i could find a decent price?
__________________
-Antec 900 case
-Asus p5w dh deluxe 2206 bios
-2x1 gb GSKILL 6400 @ with 4-4-4-12 760mhz
-Intel E6400 2.13 @ 3.044ghz 380fsb w/ zalman cnps9500-led L626A472
-EVGA 8800gtx
-2 WD caviar se16 250gb raid 0
-OCZ GameXStream 700
-Creative x-fi xtrememusic
-Samsung 226bw "S"
-all on Vista Ultimate...

my 2006 m roadster is still faster though
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2006, 04:24 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

The X850 series may prove to be a little faster but their by no means as future proof as the 6 Series, this i mainly dude to the lack of support for SM3. If you can try an get a 6800 Ultra a 6800GT should be a nice step up due to it extra pipes and small clockspeed increase, there faily overclockable too... i Think if you plan on keeping AGP you have no other option other to go for a high end 6 Series card...

Last edited by Razorfish; 4th January, 2006 at 04:49 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2006, 04:35 PM
z3speed4me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Union, NJ
Posts: 458

soooo prettymuch keep wat i got until i feel like spendin to go pci-e, probably in the summer
__________________
-Antec 900 case
-Asus p5w dh deluxe 2206 bios
-2x1 gb GSKILL 6400 @ with 4-4-4-12 760mhz
-Intel E6400 2.13 @ 3.044ghz 380fsb w/ zalman cnps9500-led L626A472
-EVGA 8800gtx
-2 WD caviar se16 250gb raid 0
-OCZ GameXStream 700
-Creative x-fi xtrememusic
-Samsung 226bw "S"
-all on Vista Ultimate...

my 2006 m roadster is still faster though
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2006, 05:03 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

Not nessaceraly if you could get hold of a 6800GT/Ultra for a reasonable price it would be quite a nice future proofer, its a hard position really as your system is really quite respectable and should be good for a while yet, Just keep your eyes open for a nice high end 6 Series card...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2006, 05:27 PM
kellamne's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 624

Not much help to you i know - but I only paid £150 (After Tax and shipping) for my Asus/GT, and that seems like ages ago. (was a 2nds stock from overclockers uk - so was just the card in an oem box). So there are bargains out there.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2006, 06:01 PM
z3speed4me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Union, NJ
Posts: 458

ok ill look around for gt's or maybe even an ultra for a good price then...

i mean my card is already unlocked to 16/6 so id reeally jus be upgrading to 256 meg and MUCH higher clock speeds, the pipes and shaders i have already
__________________
-Antec 900 case
-Asus p5w dh deluxe 2206 bios
-2x1 gb GSKILL 6400 @ with 4-4-4-12 760mhz
-Intel E6400 2.13 @ 3.044ghz 380fsb w/ zalman cnps9500-led L626A472
-EVGA 8800gtx
-2 WD caviar se16 250gb raid 0
-OCZ GameXStream 700
-Creative x-fi xtrememusic
-Samsung 226bw "S"
-all on Vista Ultimate...

my 2006 m roadster is still faster though
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2006, 07:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2005
Posts: 144

http://www.compusa.com/products/prod...729&pfp=BROWSE
cheapest x850 pro i could fine, still working on the 6800gt or ultra, seems youre in a tough spot for an upgrade.
if you had pcie it'd be no problems, 6800gt pcie goes for close to 200$, but agp is completely different.
http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Sealed-ATI-R...QQcmdZViewItem
you can try for this 137$ at time of posting
http://cgi.ebay.com/ATI-Radeon-X850-...QQcmdZViewItem
or this 200$ at post time
http://cgi.ebay.com/XFX-256MB-6800GT...QQcmdZViewItem
or this 100$ at time of posting 4 days lef though
http://cgi.ebay.com/NVIDIA-GEFORCE-6...QQcmdZViewItem
157$ 21 hours left.
bottom line if you want an agp upgrade ebay is your best bet, and you might even get a steal!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2006, 11:10 PM
z3speed4me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Union, NJ
Posts: 458

well is an 850xt a leap forward from my 6800 and worth even paying for? i know its better, but how much...i know nvidia but i dont konw squat bout ati
__________________
-Antec 900 case
-Asus p5w dh deluxe 2206 bios
-2x1 gb GSKILL 6400 @ with 4-4-4-12 760mhz
-Intel E6400 2.13 @ 3.044ghz 380fsb w/ zalman cnps9500-led L626A472
-EVGA 8800gtx
-2 WD caviar se16 250gb raid 0
-OCZ GameXStream 700
-Creative x-fi xtrememusic
-Samsung 226bw "S"
-all on Vista Ultimate...

my 2006 m roadster is still faster though
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2006, 02:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2005
Posts: 144

the x850xt is faster than the 6800ultra in most games except doom 3 and related games (quake 4 runs on the same engine for example)
the pe is th fastes agp video card hands down

heres a few references. 6800 ultra
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm05=1589805

x850xt
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm05=970656

note both are runnin 2.4GHZ athlon 64's
and note the LARGE gap

x850xtpe
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm05=953312

and actually the 6800ultra seems to be running on a 4000 whereas the others are on 3800s (thus the ultra has a cpu boost advantage in the tests)
x850xt stomps it and the pe pulls even further away
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2006, 02:36 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Put a mild OC on a 6800GT and it matches an X850XT in 3Dmark while offering SM3.0, and beating ATI massively in anything OpenGL.

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm05=982794

X850 is old. No amount of brute force can change that. Then, you will think you have a fast X850XT, and some smart arse with a 6800GT and a mild overclock, old drivers, and a bunch of programs running in the background equals your 3dMark score
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2006, 06:41 PM
z3speed4me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Union, NJ
Posts: 458

haha...well since my mark 05 is like 4000ish...ima try to find a gt/ultra on ebay and OC it decently, prob throw my zalman on it too

so once i get that ill prob use the 77.76's or 81.89's since they performed best for my card...

ill keep you guys posted if i find anything on ebay or something that im lookin at
__________________
-Antec 900 case
-Asus p5w dh deluxe 2206 bios
-2x1 gb GSKILL 6400 @ with 4-4-4-12 760mhz
-Intel E6400 2.13 @ 3.044ghz 380fsb w/ zalman cnps9500-led L626A472
-EVGA 8800gtx
-2 WD caviar se16 250gb raid 0
-OCZ GameXStream 700
-Creative x-fi xtrememusic
-Samsung 226bw "S"
-all on Vista Ultimate...

my 2006 m roadster is still faster though
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2006, 06:57 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Mate, before you get too far into a new GPU, you need to ask yourself, is this the smartest investment I can make in my computer at this point?

Recently I had a solid $1000 to spend on computer hardware, and was temped to go the PCI-E Mobo and 7800GTX route, however my hard disk situation needed to be addresses.

Intsead I bought 3 Maxtor 10 series 300GB 16MB cache disks, and saved the rest of the money for that PCI-E swap when the Geforce 8 series comes out.

I would have enjoyed the GPU more in the short term, but it was a bad investment.

Now, look at your setup.

Despite what Weldzilla may think, a 3Ghz Pentium 4, is not a gaming CPU.

It is not a current P4, as it has no PCI-E and DDR2.

DDR RAM on a CPU that is demanding as hell of memory bandwidth doesn't help, and the chip itself is not a winner in the gaming field. Intel advocates state "It encodes video sooo much better than Athlon 64s". When was the last time you encoded a video, and praised intel for shaving 40 seconds off the total time.

This may not be extremely palletable at first, but consider a sell the old, buy the new, Athlon 64 PCI-E conversion. Your card in an Athlon 64 would perform much better.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2006, 07:01 PM
z3speed4me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Union, NJ
Posts: 458

yea you are correct...i probably will jus save up money and drop like 1500 in the summer on a crazy rig...def goin amd next time and obviously pci-e, wait for the 8000's to come out, and if they arent yet, buy a 7800 from evga so i got 3 extra months to wait for the 8000's and do the step you...yea now you mention it i might as well take this 200-250 and jus stash it in my bank account..

only thing is as i look, i dont see any socket 939 boards that have ddr2 its all ddr

ive seen the light, and i thank you haha
__________________
-Antec 900 case
-Asus p5w dh deluxe 2206 bios
-2x1 gb GSKILL 6400 @ with 4-4-4-12 760mhz
-Intel E6400 2.13 @ 3.044ghz 380fsb w/ zalman cnps9500-led L626A472
-EVGA 8800gtx
-2 WD caviar se16 250gb raid 0
-OCZ GameXStream 700
-Creative x-fi xtrememusic
-Samsung 226bw "S"
-all on Vista Ultimate...

my 2006 m roadster is still faster though

Last edited by z3speed4me; 5th January, 2006 at 07:11 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2006, 09:17 PM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

He was talking about no DDR2 for the Pentium 4..D.DR2 doesn't exsist for Athlon 64's....
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
my BFG 6800GS Mattman5465 Hardware Hacking 2 16th February, 2007 03:15 PM
HD on 6800GS AGP WonderBread Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 28th January, 2007 01:37 AM
6800gs.... stanzlavos Hardware Hacking 2 4th November, 2006 08:56 PM
6800gs Agp WonderBread Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 52 29th January, 2006 07:31 AM
6800GS in SLI Super Nade Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 9 20th January, 2006 06:07 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:40 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0